We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good experience!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We arrived to Rainbow Bend resort and briefly placed our luggage in our room and spent the entire day at their beach, which was not bad! Upon returning to our room, we noticed that the room was really musty and had a moldy smell to it. The sheets felt damp from the moisture in the air. Upon further inspection, I found stains on my sheets. The bathroom was filthy and had a plethora of mold and rust everywhere. I don't mind staying somewhere a little rustic, which Rainbow Bend was, but there's no excuse for being dirty. We promptly checked out and moved to the Hampton Inn in Key Largo which I highly recommend! We were supposed to stay 4 nights, and were charged for 2 nights stay. At almost $200 a night, I expected at least a tidy, well-kept room.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom units are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    224
    50
    40
    96
See reviews for
235
364
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I had my wedding here in January and the place was the best, I would have never picked a better place. We had aboyt 30 people attend our wedding and everuone loved the atmosphere and how keyse it was just what we were looking for!!!! Me and my family stayed here about a week and loved every min of it. The manger was very nice about what we could do on the beach, the dock hands where very good to us in every way!!!! The breakfast was great and the boats where just a bonus. Yoy cant beat the gas prices!!! The rooms where veru nice and not to pricey. If anuone is looking for a nice keyse place to have a wedding this would be the place!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redneckmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelop
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is not a resort that offers poolside bar and extremely nice rooms but for a family traveling with pets and needing extra sleeping space- and a true beach vacation- it's perfect. We booked last minute so we had to change rooms during our stay and the staff was ready to help move from one unit to the other. We started in "C" an two bedroom 11/2 bath unit upstairs. THe view was perfect along with a balcony. ONe night we used the grill for steaks ( we bought charcoal and food from nearby Publix) The unit had pots and pans to cook veggies and pasta. The kitchen is basic but has everything you need. The hotel supplied the soap, cups, mugs, plates coffee maker, etc... THey gave us clean white new looking towels every day. THey were wonderful with the dog too. The office has a little store for beer, sodas ice etc.. The 2 tv;s are small but work and hey- are you there to watch tv or be on the beach, pool and water?? We used the pool and hot tub but with a family of 4 (Including big kids) we opted to rent a big boat from Tropical Boat rentals for the day ($200) and fished, snorkled/dive in both the Atlantic and Gulf instead of using the 12 and 15 ft little boats. For children they also have free use of paddle boats and small kayaks- my teenage boys had a blast. This is a very casual and low key resort but we loved it. We had the free breakfast (7:30-9:30_ all 3 the mornings) The earlier you arrive - the better the service. 7:30 we had a hot breakfast immediately served. THe 9 am times took longer but who is in a hurry when you are on vacation? One morning, they gave us the kids breakfast to go so they could sleep in. THe kids heated it up in the microwave. The third morning, two of the staff didn't show but they did a great job we just served our own coffee :) The choices for free breakfast are pancakes, cereal and fruit, french toast, or two eggs and bacon and homefries. If that doesn't suit you, you can order off the menu and pay. The restaurant for dinner is expensive but very good and it is always busy. One night they had a wait which is why I would not book a room by the office (B) We heard guests talking outside our door and in the morning, people making their plans for the day- right outside our bedroom window. We had no problems with smell or cleanliness and the whicker furniture in both unit C and B looked newly covered. We will come back and have already recommended it to friends. It's "old Keys" style rental and a very casual feel. If you are looking for a "hotel" experience- look else where. if you are looking for a family, casual place with full working kitchenette to keep your drinks cold, make lunches, leave a pet in the room unattended, chill by the beach or pool, watch the water and relax- this a perfect spot.

Room Tip: Look at the site map- choose a room away from the office and kitchen- like upstairs room C balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We chose this place because it offered free boats. The wind howled at 30 mph + for two days and we didn't get to see a boat, much less use one. (No discount for not getting to use a boat). The rooms were musty, smelled of previous smokers' use and had water collecting under the paint from the A/C condensate. The cable TV and internet worked well but the furniture had to be rejects from Value City or some other cheap discounter (maybe Goodwill as another reviewer pointed out). I am by no means crippled, but would sink so low in the couch, someone would have to help pull me up. A beanbag would have worked better. The breakfast was okay if you are not in a hurry but one couple sitting near us waited much longer than we did without getting served.

This place is past due being leveled and a decent place erected. Surprised it has survived as long as it has.

Don't waste your money here. Go ahead and spend the extra money on Hampton or Hilton and pay for your own boat.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Old, nasty & musty. Used worn out furniture. This is where the freaks meet to find out how to build old shabby shacks in their backyards to keep the children they kidnap in. The free boats are pieces of crap. Out of 5 days, ate the free breakfast once...the second day we walked out after waiting over 30 minutes......they were not busy, just incompetent. Nothing good to say. The worst place ever. The people that give this place good reviews are on crack, homeless or the owners...I think they are the owners. I know there are crazy people in the world, but there is no way you can make me believe anybody would stay here more than once.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2008chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I agree with fisherman467! The bed was comfortable that was the only good thing! The couch...OMG Goodwill would have thrown it out! SERIOUSLY we wouldn't sit on it w/o a blanket covering it. The breakfast was fine. For the price of this 1 bed room w/kitchenette was quite high considering the quality of the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamMeltingGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My friend and I stayed for two nights in early January, 2012. We really enjoyed all the features of this resort. Our greatest pleasure was the fishing. The expert staff was able to tell us where the fish were biting and we caught many fish. It was fun to cook our catch later on the outdoor grill while enjoying the beautiful view of the surrounding water. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Room which was more than adequate for our needs. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. We had a substantial breakfast both mornings at the restaurant. We are excited about returning soon with friends for more fishing, relaxing, and memories.

Room Tip: Talk to the office staff. They are very helpful and will describe the location and contents of a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
15.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
6.7 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
15.7 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
6.9 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
783 reviews
16.3 km away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Property: Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-5626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort Marathon, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing