We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The place in itself is quite nice. However, It is full of (Very unfriendly) down and out drifters living there. The desk is not 24 hours (but the man that works there is lovely) and the place is filthy. The maid service didn't come once the whole time i was there even though I requested it.
Unless you are traveling solo, I recommend staying in a hotel as they are the same price as the hostels in this area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    15
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
5
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Palm lakefront is a great place to stay. It's just in front of a lake (as the name says) that's lovely!
People are really friendly, especially Aaron, the owner. He always has good tricks and tips about the city and even about EVERYTHING you can ask him for! He helped us to buy a car, and now we can travel thanks to him!
Thank you so much for all that you've done!
We definitely recommend this hostel for anyone who is traveling around Orlando!

The French Cousins!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thec0usins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Okay firstly I only stayed here because I needed somewhere cheap to stay to visit the theme parks! I only paid $10 a night which is excellent considering what the resorts charge!! The manager was nice, I've read differently, and helpful to my requests- such as checking in at 130am.

He also organised a cheap shuttle for a few of us to go to Universal Studios for around $10 return, which saved me much hassle with buses and so forth- as the hostel is quite far from the theme parks....you really need a car to get around.

The actual hostel is very basic, and the bathroom was quite small and unclean. The kitchen was big enough but digusting and didn't look like it has been cleaned properly. The whole place seemed rundown and shabby. Though if you just need somewhere to basically sleep and eat to go to the theme parks and are on a tight budget, it's a good place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Awful hostel. Seemed to be only one man working there, very unfriendly. Grunted when I went to shake his hand. Rubbish everywhere, saw trollies full of rubbish in one room. Swimming pool was closed due to 'hazardous chemicals'. Everything very run down, location not good. The toilets also overflowed and the communal area smelt very bad. I travelled with my twin sister and we did not feel safe there at all. We didn't even spend one night there, we paid and then left to go and stay at another hostel. Would not recommend one bit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerianderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

When I came here, there was thunderstorms and I was carrying about 3 stone in weight on a backpacker excursion. I had a pleasant welcome and some of the unique characters I met while staying there was great. However, I do have a number of gripes which involve the kitchen area mainly due to a lack of cleaning, but, that may have been due to a few untidy guests.

Even though the beds and hostel was a good clean stay, I felt as though there wasn't alot to do and getting to attractions without a vehical was a challenge in itself. Worth a visit but not a prolonged stay in my book.

Unique Qualities: STAFF FRIENDLY,

NICE VIEW OF THE LAKE OUT BACK.

RIGHT IN MIDDLE OF KISSIMEE - DIFFICULT TO GET ANYWHERE THOUGH.

NO LOCKOUTS AND NO CURFUE EXCEPT FOR CHECK IN

Address: {--}

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, AR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Palm Lakefront has a lot to offer the hosteler as it's right in the center of the Kissimmee / Hwy 192, near I-4 and all the Orlando tourist offerings. Jerry and crew do a great job keeping the place up and making sure everything is in working condition. The Kitchen area is nice and the common area has plenty of room for several using wifi laptops. There is a charming lake right out back, and in contrast, busy hwy 192 out front. The dorm bed was $19 plus tax, which made it just over $21. You will meet many people from all over the place here, especially the Jamaicans women who work around the area. Put a little cylypso music on if you have some.

On the down side, the place is crowed... very much so. 8 beds to a small motel room is not exactly "spacious".. lol. Waiting for the bathroom could be frustrating. Considering that almost all the nearby hotels are really cheap (we're talking from $25-40) it's definitely cheaper for groups of 2 or more to get a motel room and enjoy the space. Don't worry about finding one, they are ALL over the place. Also, the place could be tough to find. Look for the numbers on the buildings to know when you're getting close, or just look for the Super 8 motel and know it the next building east. With so many around, watch your possession carefully.. if you know what I mean. I don't remember seeing any lockers.

Overall, it's a nice place, albeit crowded, especially when there are soooo many other hotels around. If you're there for the tourist offerings, like Disney, it's also very conveniently located.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAHnOsceola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2008

This hostel is great fun. The dorm room I stayed had a mural of Vincent Van Go and was very nicely done. The bunkbed was huge and the bathroom was clean. The common kitchen had everything you can ask for like top burners, oven, microwave, 4 door cooler for your food storage and fully stocked cooking ware. This hostel has a pool, a barbecue area and a gym. I didnt see the lake until I was about checking out and noticed that they had a lake. Close to all the theme parks. The local bus is cheap at $1.75 each direction and Disney only takes 20 minutes. Large supermarket and 7-11 store is just across from the hostel. I stayed 4 nights and this wasnt enough to see everything. Highly recommended if you are on a shoestring budget. Kudos to the staff and I will tell all my friends that I meet along my 1 year venture around the world.

  • Liked — Cheap, clean and location.
  • Disliked — No breakfast but wireless if free.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme
2.1 km away
Sevilla Inn
Sevilla Inn
#72 of 152 in Kissimmee
161 reviews
4.6 km away
Rodeway Inn Maingate
Rodeway Inn Maingate
#48 of 152 in Kissimmee
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Studio 6 Orlando - Kissimmee
Studio 6 Orlando - Kissimmee
#67 of 152 in Kissimmee
91 reviews
2.2 km away
Travelodge Suites East Gate Orange
18.1 km away
Hostels Homes Orlando
Hostels Homes Orlando
#8 of 13 in Davenport
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel

Property: Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel
Address: 4840 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5334
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palm Lakefront Resort and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Lakefront Hotel Kissimmee
Palm Lakefront Resort And Hostel Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing