We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Overall good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Kissimmee
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overall good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was at the Gaylord for a company meeting and thought it was a nice hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were clean.

The food left something to be desired - I didn't find the food very good but there is a decent amount of variety.

Everything you could possibly want is underneath their roof. Which is good, because there is nothing within walking distance to the hotel. They have a nice coffee house, gift shops, stores to purchase personal items, a few different bars and restaurants, and tons of stuff for the kids. I was there when they were building a new swimming area, so there was a lot of construction right by the lap pool.

Overall it was a good stay. I would recommend this for families looking for somewhere to stay that is close to Disney, or for Corporate events. Not much else to do around there.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the inner part of the resort. If you are getting a suite, the views are not spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    1,301
    540
    295
    226
See reviews for
1,387
615
76
1,547
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Attended a 5 day 4 night stay April 2012 in the Emeral Bay rooms of the hotel which is recommended for business accommodations and they have a traditional feel and look. The resort is has everything you need beneath the beautiful skyview roof atrium. You must check out the website and all information is true to the actual facility. The hotel staff were very pleasant and the resort is so clean everywhere you go. The spa is a treat, the rain forest like atrium is an illusion of being outdoors although you are still inside and the outdoor lap pool and and two spa tubs are refreshing when you crave naturual sunlight. You just have to experience the Gaylord for yourself. The room rate is worth it. For a family vacation I recommend the Sunset Guest rooms which are more modern in feel and look.

Room Tip: Exterior Pool view is a great view and some preferred rooms with a balcony for the atrium view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just spent the last 4 days here for a conference. I will summarize the good and the bad with additional comments.

Room on 6th floor in St. Augustine area. Newly remodeled, very clean, very comfortable bed and furniture. Balcony was a plus, with 2 chairs. Modern and fresh. In room amenities include lots of towels, coffee, 2 waters per day, wired and wireless Internet, shampoo/conditioner/lotion, and hair dryer. Ask for a room in this remodeled area, as everything is spotless.

Several gift shops with snacks and beverages. Newly opened sports bar called Wreckers with good food and service. The Sunset Sam's ship restaurant was average; very pricey compared to quality of the food. Drinks and service were good. Old Hickory steak house was fantastic. Great service and food. Nice evening ambiance. The Mediterranean restaurant in the middle was the hub for breakfast with a decent buffet. Again, good service. I ordered room service twice (Reuben w/fries, then breakfast) and both times it was hot and good.

The conference facilities were outstanding. There are no bellboys attempting to help with luggage, which was odd. I could have asked but decided to just handle by three bags as best as possible. People dragging bags all over the large property was again strange.

The resort is expensive, but with that you get the benefits of mostly well-mannered people and respectful behaviors from kids and adults alike. The grounds are immaculate and the lush gardens and waterfalls are amazing. Having the balcony doors open at night was lovely to hear the water and smell the flowers.

Door slamming was a problem.

Not a lot of lunch options, unless you order room service or head to the sports bar. I did discover the coffee cafe had sandwiches and fruit; may I suggest advertising this around the resort to help people find a bite to eat.

Used the business center twice. Very convenient, but also expensive for printing and Internet usage. Plenty of cabs and towncars ready to take you anywhere. We went to Celebration and dined at Antonio's. It was very good but be sure to make reservations.

All in all a lovely stay but at a cost.

Room Tip: Higher floors, ask for atrium balcony, and a remodeled room. St. Augustine is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel is very nice! We went here for Spring Break 2012. It was a great location for Universal Studios and the Astros training camp in Kissimmee. They have a free shuttle bus to all Disney theme parks, but not Universal or Island Of Adventure. We loved the South Beach pool, even though we would have loved to enjoy the new kids pool, but not quite finished with it yet. This hotel was gorgeous inside and out. The rooms were very roomy, comfortable beds, and quiet at night. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I have spent the last four days at the Gaylord in Kissimmee, Fl for a USPS conference - our room was 6321. Our first problem was we were quoted a group rate of $269 night and charged $300+ a night but finally on the third go around got it adjusted. The $269 is a pretty steep rate considering nearby hotels are charging $129 (Hilton) per night. As my husband had a display booth, it would easiest for us to stay on site and we figured it would be a more adult experience.

The rooms are so noisy! We could hear the couple next door doing the "nasty". We got a good laugh the first time but it got old in the middle of the night - when we both were awakened. The door slamming never stopped!!!!!! When I mentioned it to staff, there comment was people complain of that all the time - really! fix it! Please put some mechanism on the doors to ease the doors closed. The children running up and down the halls, screaming off of the balconies, hitting the walls and yelling at all hours of the days and nights. I know they are on vacation but I do not want to hear their noise. I am here for work. Consider grouping rooms by adults only sections or floors.

Room rates - here's the interesting part. We got the special group rate and then a friend of ours just drove up with no reservation and got a room for two nights at the rate of $207 per night. I guess the only thing "special" about our group rate is they saw us coming!!!!

Do not plan on drinking anything here the beer was $7 each and the wine was $8 per small glass of house red or white. My husband and his friend drink Yuengling and the Key West were out of it from Sunday night until Tuesday - they "had trouble getting it from their supplier". Really??? I would be getting a new restuarant supply person. You should never be out of an item when it appears on your menu. If you are going to charge me a fortune - have what I want. On a good point the Shrimp salad was excellent but you might want to add a fish sandwich and some lunch choices that are seafood but not fried.

I am pretty sleep deprived and ready to go home. I hope the Gaylord reads these comments and takes them to heart - the grounds are beautiful but soundproofing is sorely required. Just. Ome walk around - spend the night somewhere else!

Room Tip: drive by and look at the grounds they are amzing but don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Nice big hotel. However, rooms need major renovations to get up-to-date. even if the hotel is close to major attractions, nothing could be done by a walking distance. taxies or hotel cars are pretty expensive (i guess this is due to the touristic city!). Food is just ok, nothing wow.
I visited another Gaylord, once you have seen one and got impressed, the second looks a bit the same!
Some alligators are inside the hotel! kind of cool, but in the same time, is it the place for this animal to be?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Spent the weekend at the Gaylord. Treated us great! Hotel is gorgeous and everything is clean and convenient. Great new Sports Restaurant and pool area. Kids had a blast with Puss 'n Boots scavenger hunt. Always a fun place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.6 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
4.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
1.3 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
6.7 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 333 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.8 km away
Wyndham Grand Orlando Resort Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 W. Osceola Pkwy., Kissimmee, FL 34746-4414
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee > Gaylord Palms Resort and Convention Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Sea World and Universal Orlando, the 1,406-room Gaylord Palms Resort is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort features 4.5 Acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Family Fun Water Park, featuring a multi-level water playground and four water slides; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing