We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of the ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“out of the ordinary”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here with husband and daughter for husbands company's conference. The entire hotel is under a glass atrium so it feels like you're outside when you aren't. I wasn't sure if I liked it at first (I love being outside and it had a "fake" feel) but I got used to it and think most people would love the idea. The hotel is impeccably kept, and the atrium has lush foliage along the walkways with piped in noises you would hear on a summer's night. Some reviewers complained about the service, but besides 2 issues (mentioned below), the service was outstanding--received prompt service when requesting anything regarding our room, service in most hotel restaurants was outstanding (steakhouse, Hickory I think is the name, had the best service and food) and friendly workers around the pool area were always looking to make sure everyone was happy. We stayed in the Everglades section of the hotel facing into the atrium on the 5th floor (highly recommend this area/floor level for scenic view and lower noise level--hotel has an echo effect throughout the atrium--with the Key West area probably being the loudest). Our room was an executive suite so it was very spacious with separate bedroom and living room areas. We used the gym which was a good size and clean with helpful staff.

A few down sides: upon checking in we were told our room was not ready--they do not guarantee the 3pm check in time so we had to wait over 1 1/2 hours for our room. The day before checking out we found out that my husband had to stay later than expected at a meeting on check out day so I asked for a later check out time (about an hour or two). The front desk person was very unhelpful and stated they were very busy the next day and didn't think he could allow us to do so. I reminded him about our late check in time but he was unphased. (My husband went to the front desk the next day and basically TOLD them we would check out late and a different front end person was fine with it). The restaurant in the Key West area did not have great service. We went there twice (lunch and dinner) and both times got the same waitress who was very friendly but was very slow in intitially coming to our table and hardly checked on us throughout our meal--we had to wave her over for everything we needed. Also, as other reviews have stated, this is not an inexpensive hotel, expect to pay on the high end for meals (I noticed that most restaurant patrons were conference attendees and hardly any families--most with kids probably go off site for meals for this reason). A few minutes away on International Drive is a bunch of chain food restaurants and a food store for stocking the room with snacks.

I think the hotel is a tourist attraction in and of itself, with alligator/fish feedings, a great kids water park type pool, free Disney Park shuttles, and events going on thoughout the hotel. I enjoyed experiencing a hotel different from the norm.

Room Tip: Facing into the atrium gave a nice view from the balcony. If you don't want noise, either get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmarie27_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    1,394
    585
    317
    249
See reviews for
1,520
649
80
1,691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

How can a hotel, that has build an inside castle, set up a ship for a restaurant, and has both alive fish and alligators inside the hotel be boring? Because they are there. Artificial interiors turn me off, and the Gaylords inner courtyard is precisely that. But rooms are large and clean. The staff American friendly. So for a conference a fine place to stay. But The Gaylord is situated all by itself, and you can only access it by car. Not a place for vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reumert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Rain or shine outside, below 0 or over 100 degrees, the weather at the Palms is always perfect! Every effort is made to keep their guests satisfied, and there are lots of things to do to keep guests of all ages busy, & tummies full. Just 3 min away from Disney World a great place to stay while visiting orlando. Even when full, the resort never seems to be crowded. Smiling faces abound. Only negative - be prepared to spend some $..Great resturants, fantastic sports bar, even a gator pit! Will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose inside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertKestenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Everything was as it should be when we arrived. Staff were responsive to issues that occurred during the stay and addressed them immediately. Room was clean and well appointed. Restaurant service was excellent and the food was tasty. Convention center was set up well, meals were ready on time, food was very acceptable considering it was served over a time period in buffet style.
Pool areas were nice, although I do wish that the adults pool rules had been better enforced. Children under 18 should not be admitted, even if their parents are at that pool. They were distracting and loud.

Room Tip: The atrium rooms were nice...having a balcony door to open and "outside" chairs was pleasa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raddoc70448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked two rooms this weekend. We needed one handicap accessible room that was close to our other room. They got it right with no troubles (maybe the Marriott World Hotel should take a lesson from them!). Rooms are very nice. We spent the day at the newly redesigned pool area. There's a huge water play are with waterslides! My 7 year old and husband had a blast. We rented a cabana so that my parents were out of the sun. It was great! Very comfortable furniture and the manager checked on us almost hourly. They even brought my dad coffee (they had to get this from inside). Service was great. We went to Relache spa which was just o.k. I liked the express massage but am very sore today (maybe a little too tough on my back?). The express facial was the worst facial I've ever gotten. It consisted of a series of products being put on my face. I can do that myself! The express pedicure was excellent. We had dinner at the Old Hickory. The menu has changed a little. My favorite appetizer, the warmed pear with goat cheese, has changed and I won't get that again. The steaks were cooked perfectly and the food was incredible. Folks, this hotel isn't cheap but you get what you pay for. The grounds are stunning, service is impeccable, and food is good quality. I probably wouldn't do the spa again but highly recommend the Old Hickory.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling4Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast US
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just to be air - I am not a big Gaylord fan - always find them kind of kitschy. (BTW- The whole “Key West” area in Orlando – from the “Southernmost” marker to the comical sailboat to the plastic marlin – made me look for the only thing that was missing….slot machines).

The Good: Very, very nice people and staff – very professional; the atrium and new outdoor pool area was 5-Stars for families with kids; rooms were fine – the King Room had a walk-in shower which was nicer than a tub; the location was excellent (next to I-4); and all the dining options were ok (beware, without a car you are completely a captive customer).

The Bad: Lord I know every business has to make money – duh. But the daily $15 “Resort Fee” (which really is just another term for internet access) is just absurd, and the $15 Daily Parking fee is just so beyond ridiculous that I can’t believe the Gaylord people have stooped to this to raise some extra revenue. THERE IS NOTHING WITHIN A MILE OF THIS PLACE….WHO THE HELL ELSE WOULD PARK HERE FOR YOU TO CHARGE $15 A DAY? Just tack another $25 on the cost of a room – people will still come here. Kudos to the previous comments about the Atrium at night….if there are people out there – you are going to hear them. Finally, the pools were nice, but there are no real lifeguards or supervisors on duty (except for watching the water slide)….and, if you like huge people in little bathing suits with tramp stamps and other body art – have at it.

If you’re there for a convention – probably it’s pretty good. If you’re actually there for a nice vacation, there are many better options.

Room Tip: I would definitely get a room that fronts the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I and my husband have stayed twice at the Gaylord Palms, and enjoy it everytime! The atrium with Florida themed flora and fauna, complete with a schooner ship at one end serving drinks and Key West themed food and drink make staying here an absolute treat! During the Christmas season, they have their convention center transformed into an ice sculpture palace with holiday events, and is truly a festive, fun time to be there and bring the family. The only thing I would caution the traveler about is to get all (and I mean ALL) your food reserved in advance....yes, even breakfast and lunch! I recommend the Villa de Flora buffet! This rule applies if you are planning to go to Disney also. (The gate to Disney is just about 1/4 mile down the road from the hotel) The resort fee you'll be charged daily does provide shuttle service to all the Disney theme parks. If you want a posh experiencce that is half the price of staying at the Disney hotels and have full access to Disney proximity then this is definlitely the place. Valet parking is $20/day and self parking is $13/day....be sure to have plenty of ones to tip bell staff, they don't allow you to take the clothes trolley and bring your own luggage (so pack light if you want to avoid this). Spend the extra money, and get an atrium room, its not much more, and it is so worth it!

Room Tip: Get an atrium room...well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.7 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.4 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 338 in Orlando
4,271 reviews
3.7 km away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 338 in Orlando
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
4.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
1.9 km away
Wyndham Grand Orlando Resort Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 West Osceola Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando and Sea World, the 1,416-room Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort in Kissimmee, Florida features 4.5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Water Park, featuring a double FlowRider and drop slide in addition to a multi-level treehouse water playground; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing