We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are in need of an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Plantation Resort
Ranked #94 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rooms are in need of an upgrade”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012 with my GF and 1 yr old daughter. The website pictures make it look a lot better than it is. Considering we used my aunt's Vacation Exchange, I was expecting better. I'll break down my review in sections.

Resort Grounds - From the outside when you enter, the resort looks great. Plenty of trees and there's a pond in the middle of the resort with many different birds species. The pool area is nice as well, with a gazebo covered jacuzzi and little tiki bar at the back. Did not use the Tennis/Basketball Court, Gameroom or Internet Cafe (used a PC in the lobby).

Front Desk/Service - Front desk service was okay if we needed something, but daily room cleaning was not included with our stay. This was highly disappointing, and one of the reasons I would not come back here. Also, our Washer/Dryer broke down and they were unable to fix it. Not a big deal as we were on vacay, but another thing to note.

Rooms - Our 1 Bedroom Villa was fully equipped, but very dated and in need of an update. This is the other reason I would not recommend this place. Appliances, flooring, walls, furniture all definitely need upgrading. I originally had Westgate Lakes booked but changed over here because of the full kitchen feature. If I knew how it looked here I wouldn't have switched.

Location - In relation to Disney and the other main attractions, the resort was a little out of the way. They do offer shuttle service to the main attractions, and there are plenty of restaurants/shopping close by. It's across the street from Osceola Mall, but it's a run down place with mainly discount shops.

With all the other options available in Orlando, I definitely would not recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear cb78,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful landscape and scenery here at the resort. We do have many amenities for the guests to use such as the internet cafe, tennis court, basketball court, game room, and pool area, as you mentioned which most of our guests love to take advantage of.

In regards to the housekeeping, we apologize that it was not up to your standards. Our owners and exchangers do receive a mid-week tidy which is included in their HOA fees. We offer daily housekeeping as well with an additional fee if needed. We apologize that the washer and dryer did not work. We do also offer a free on-site laundry room for guests to use if need be.

In regards to your room’s appliances and furniture, we apologize for them not being up to your standards and that you found them outdated. These issues will be addressed.

Our location is a reasonably central area. It's in the middle of the attractions, the airport, as well as shopping areas and restaurants all within 30-45 minutes of our resort. We do offer our complimentary shuttle to the theme parks and our front desk staff is more than happy to arrange transportation should our guests need to travel anywhere that our shuttle does not. We apologize again and we hope you will consider our resort should you be traveling our way in the future.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    305
    163
    135
    257
See reviews for
554
198
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We checked in (mom, dad, boys 4 and 7), only to find, that there were no bedsheets or beds for the kids - the receptionist was rude and had an attitude, and suggested, that if we didn't like the accomondations, we could just move.
As there was no wifi in the room as promised, the room looked old and scraped together from bits here and there, and there was no room for the kids, we took her up on her word and left.
The stay lasted 2 hours.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koraltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear koraltop,

We sincerely apologize on behalf of our front desk for the rudeness you experienced during your stay. This is not something that was brought to our attention. It is definitely not normal procedure either at our resort. It will be addressed promptly with our managers in the front desk as well as with housekeeping. We do ask that our guests please inform us of any issues or concerns that they have while they are here at the resort in order to rectify the problem as soon as possible.

In regards to having room for your children, we do offer 2 bedrooms as well which you may find more spacious. The master bedroom has one king-sized bed while the guest room has two full sized beds. It also includes the sofa bed in the living room and the full-sized kitchen. Again we sincerely apologize and hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place was terrible. The pictures looked good and the reviews not bad, but the pictures was of the one bedrooms that were upgraded. The Two bedrooms are not. It was like a shack. The couch was so gross we had to cover it with a blanket. The carpet was so dirty i could not let my 1 year old play on it. Dirty towels in the bathroom and pee behind the toilet. The washer didn't work. And the beds and pillows looked like they came from a $30 motel. Not to mention one of the outlets had metal sticking out of it. They tried to cover it with a piece of tape. And my son almost got electrocuted.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Diane G.,

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here at the resort. We are sorry that our housekeeping and furniture were not up to standard. These issues were not brought to our attention. We will see that the proper departments are promptly informed. We do ask our guests please inform us of any issues and concerns they may have regarding their accommodations while they stay with us in order for us to resolve the problem as quickly as possible. We sincerely apologize as well for the inconvenience of the washer and dryer not working. We do have a laundry facility on site that is free of charge to our guests as well.

Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay. We hope that you have nothing but wonderful experiences in the future wherever you decide to stay. We do hope that you will consider us again in the future should you be traveling to our area again.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatka, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

When we arrived our room "was not ready" Many other people arrived after we did, several were told the same thing while others, all hispanic, went straight to their rooms. The front desk staff was rude, While I was talking to one, she immediately turned to a man who had just entered the office. He was hispanic. When we finally got our suite, it was hot. The maintanence man told us the air conditioner was working, it would just take a while to cool off because the room had not been occupied. Supposedly they had just finished cleaning it. Why did they not have the air on. It must have been occupied the night before. It never cooled off, though I went to the office three times complaining. Finally at 10pm I told them we were leaving and I would speak to the manager the next day. Before I could get back to the suite, the front dest called to say they had a suite available. The air was working in that suite, it was all ready cool. The next day when I asked to speak to the manager, I was told she was busy. I tried again throughout our stay, but was never able to talk to her. No apology was offered. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Harriet W,

We here at the resort apologize for the inconvenience you experienced throughout your stay. We do our best to make sure that all of our units are available for our guests to check in by 4pm. However, before our guest are given keys, the rooms must be inspected for cleanliness, and to ensure that each room has all supplies needed for guests throughouth the stay. This issue was not brought to our atttention and we sincerely apologize again.

We also apologize on behalf of the front desk staff for the rudeness as well as for management not being able to see you. This is not our usual conduct and it will be addressed promptly. We do hope you will consider staying with us in the future and give us a second chance, as you are a valued guest.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We (me, husband, 4-year old daughter) stayed in a two bedroom for 5 days. We had read the reviews post reservation and were on guard with the negative reviews. Yes, there are cochroaches - on the floor, bathroom and kitchen counters. Maybe 10 adult bugs in total of 5 days that we saw and squashed. Many tiny tiny critters all over counters. We put all food, perishables and dry goods in the fridge for that concern. Our villa was cleaned everyday, bed made, garbage taken out. Towels were restocked on day 3. Coverlet to bed was stained but we remove these regardless of hotel as I doubt they are washed b/w users. We brought our own towels just in case. Some pillows were worth going in the garbage. But again, we packed our own due to reviews. I did not notice a smell or mold and I am sensitive to that with migraines. So that was a positive!!! Lots of dishes. Dryer worked, never tried washer.
My sisters family 1 bedroom villa had poor bed sheets - not worth rags she said.
Yes, it is dated, but who cares. As long as I have a clean place to rest my head this is ok. And because of the caution of the reviews prior to going, I may have been more likely to look for the negative. We never tried the TV, brought our own DVD player.
My recommendation, if going to Disney World, stay at one of the resorts so you can go back and forth on the tram at all hours instead of driving (20-30 minutes), paying for parking ($12-20), being at the park all day and at the mercy of long food lines (one hour). Our vehicle rental (free with airmiles) insurance was $250, fuel was $120, time to drive, parking $15 per day average, food at parks average $50 per day for lunch, supper $100 (total: approx. $1000). I bet you can upgrade to a resort theme hotel with that $ for better bang for buck and better experience. Next time, we will stay at a Disney resort so we have the freedom of the tram to go back and forth to our hotel, eat healthy without one hour line ups, nap, and go back to the wee hours of the night (Disney Magic Kingdom until 1am). Keep in mind we were there for school break so Disney may have been much busier than other times!
On check in and check out several people were complaining, size of rooms (likely one bedroom villas) and cleanliness? Our two bedroom was more than big enough but we were worried if we needed to switch we could at least downsize if needed and available. Although from the sounds of the front desk, there was nothing else available for others who were wanting to switch.
Oh, and we were on the top floor (two floor villa) and on arrival at night the people below complained about us being noisy as they were sleeping. We have a four year old and she was running around after being in airports and airplanes for 14 hours so that may have caused some feet thumping noises for them. I did not notice any noise from the next villa or below so might be a caution for those on first floor???
We were so busy with Disney, SeaWorld, Aquatica, Legoland we never used the pools, which I think are likely the selling point to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Jenn S,

We offer our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. In FL, we are home to many species of insects due to our climate; however we do have a pest control company that maintains our units. We do advise our guests to please inform us of any situations or issues they have in their rooms in order for us to rectify the problem as soon as possible.

We again apologize for our linens not being up to standard. This issue will be addressed toward the proper department. We do hope if you decide to stay with us again in the future that you have a chance to experience our 2 lagoon style pools. We also have a tiki bar which provides great lunch and snacks such as chicken fingers, cheeseburgers, and drinks among other items. We hope you have happy travels in the future wherever you decide to stay.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I just got back from a short weekend and this place is exactly as the other viewers wrote. PIctures do not lie. Only difference was that my apt. was clean, just super older furniture, the tv, dvd player in the living room did not work at all. It was great to have a full washer and dryer but that room smelled like a dirty dog. The tiles in the bathroom looked cruddy, the towels are so skimpy and the tub creaked when u step in and out. I didnt tour the grounds, just saw the lovely peakcocks. U need a card to get through the gate which seemed like good security but after 9 pm or so, the gate arm was always up. Anyways, if u are not picky, just want a place to put your bags down, then go ahead stay here.

Room Tip: dont know if that is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Miss Miami,

It seems that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us in regards to the cleanliness of the laundry room and tiling in the unit. We sincerely apologize and wish to inform you that this is not our normal appearance. We will address this issue with the proper department promptly. We do advise our guests to please advise us on any problems they may have in their unit right away while they are staying with us in order to get the problem rectified as soon as possible. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our washer and dryer as most guests love taking advantage of that amenity. We are also happy that you enjoyed the site of our beautiful peacocks who reside within our majestic oaks. We do hope you decide to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes in your future travels.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I truly feel so sorry for those people who have invested with this roach palace. I had two nights here through hotwire, and will remember again why to never go under 3 stars. Not sure that I would even give this place two stars. The place is falling apart. Staff are limited, and stressed (likely from being yelled at by angry renters) there was stains on the sheets, the washer dryer thingy took forver to use. The grounds are falling apart, there were bugs in the washroom, mostly hardly anything worked. It's truly sad, because I can see that twenty years ago, it would have been a great property. The little tiki bar is cute by the pool, and I think that the people who are working there, are trying with what they have. :(

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquenames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Guest Relations Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Uniquenames,

From the looks of your review, it seems that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced. These issues were not brought to our attention. We do advise our guests to please inform us of any issues they may experience while they are staying with us in order to solve the problem as fast as possible.

In regards to our combo washer and dryer, we apologize that you did not find it up to standard. They are really for small loads of laundry however we do provide a complimentary laundry room for guests to use as well for larger loads.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our tiki bar. Our guests always look forward to relaxing by the pool with a snack or drink. We do hope that you will give our resort a second chance in the future if you should be traveling our way again. We wish you happy travels wherever you may go.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
3.1 km away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 152 in Kissimmee
584 reviews
7.7 km away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
14.2 km away
Park Inn By Radisson Resort and Conference Center Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Legacy Vacation Resorts
Legacy Vacation Resorts
#13 of 62 in Kissimmee
1,168 reviews
4.4 km away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#23 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,344 reviews
21.0 km away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#25 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plantation Resort

Property: Oak Plantation Resort
Address: 4090 Enchanted Oaks Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34741-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded hammock of majestic oak trees, Oak Plantation is quiet and comfortable, yet close to everything-a distinct advantage among resorts in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure® Orlando and SeaWorld® are just minutes away. There's so much to see and do in beautiful Central Florida, no matter how many vacations you've spent here you can keep coming back - and never be disappointed. At our Orlando Kissimmee resort, you're right in the middle of all the excitement.Oak Plantation Resort offers children's activities, a playground, a video-game room, a fitness center, and picnic areas furnished with barbecue grills and tables.A Wednesday night "dive-in" movie by the pool with complimentary popcorn is available to all guests. The hotel also provides daily pool activities.The resort provides complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios®, and SeaWorld® theme parks. Power up with a full breakfast buffet everyday from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. for only $7.95 (Adults) and $5.50 (Children ages 4-9). Free Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Plantation Hotel Kissimmee
Oak Plantation Kissimmee Florida
Oak Plantation Villas Resort
Oak Plantation Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing