We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful awful awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I typically don't find anything wrong with Holiday Inn but this one (I feel) needs some updating and good scrubbing! I've been at Holiday Inns that were rated 2 to 2.5 stars that were in A LOT better shape and a lot cleaner than this one.

I booked the room on Priceline and nowhere was I informed about a $5 + Tax resort fee per night until after I had checked in!

I have to say, their ice machine also needs some maintenance. Got some ice to keep milk cool and while it looked find in its frozen form, by the time it melted there were HUGE black flecks in it! Thankfully I didn't put ice in any of my drinks. All I can say is EWWW!!!!

As an update, it's now 11:30pm at night...and the front desk just messed up and assigned my room to another guest! They had a key card and everything! Luckily, my security bolt was done but seriously??? Their excuse was that they had a big group to deal with. So what???

Another update (it's currently the morning after). I woke up with my room invoice slipped under the door with a complimentary breakfast voucher to apologize for the inconvenience. It was so much more than an inconvenience! Maybe for the other guest but it was a complete breach of privacy and security for me! Especially traveling alone and being female! Talked to the assistant manager and am got the resort fees and one night comped. BTW, she had no clue that this had happened at all! Still not happy since it should've never happened in the first place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankieL110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear FrankieL110,

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We apologize for the error the front desk staff made and also are very sorry you were not happy with your stay with us. We are glad you were able to speak with a Manager and they were able to compensate you for the problems you encountered. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed two nights at this hotel last week. What a disappointment! I only stay at Holiday Inns because I have priority points and this hotel, by far, was the worst. I'm not usually a complainer but here is my laundry list:
- Problems opening room door, cards didn't work. Turns out door looked like at some point it was jimmied open
- Quite impressive when you walk in the main lobby and entire downstairs but upper floors are gross. Carpets are stained and/or bleached in spots. Walls looked like they had grease on the wallpaper. There were towels laying on a hall table for the two days I was there.
- Supposedly white towels were hard and grey.
- Chairs on terrace looked like they were never cleaned. Could not sit on them. Yuck!
- Shower had mold on walls and ceiling.
- The tissue box was dusty and had paint stains on it.
- Complimentary shampoo bottle was half empty.
- Bathroom in conference area - toilet had rust stains and there was toilet paper all over the floor.
- Pile of wet towels sat on a table in the pool area.
- Tablecloths in restaurant looked like it was a ripped sheet. All ragged on the bottom and needed to be ironed.
- and beware -- they charge you resort fees! What's that all about????
- No pens and pencils in room.
- Shuttle to Disney was absolutely gross and dirty. Be sure not to lay your head on the headrest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevDirector, Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It appears that we failed to live up to our normal high standards during your visit. Our Associates take pride in providing our guests with comfortable, clean, well stocked rooms and public areas. I can assure you that this review will be shared with our team and will be used as a training tool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We traveled here for Spring Break for a week. We recieved an upgrade to a Kid Suite (Queen and set of bunk beds) because I am a platinum priority club member. Thank you hotel and these rooms were great!

OK - things we loved. Really nice pool area. Great if you have little kids because there is a wading pool about 1.5 feet deep. The larger pool was cool because the sun doesn't hit it for very long this time of the year. Could have been warmer, but oh well. Kudos to the hotel for promptly fixing a light that needed repair, actually 2 lights.

There is an A&W and Pizza Hit Express inside the hotel. We only used the restaurant for breakfast and not lunch or dinner, but it is a nice feature if you just want to hang by the pool. The location is fantastic, especially if you are doing Disney. We didn't this trip, but there is a shuttle service too. (Sorry, we didn't use this either this time.)
Tons of excellent restaurants in the immediate area!!! This is a big bonus! Walgreens and Publix also very close by. Staff was also excellent and very friendly. Let's face it - this makes or breaks your stay! (Loved Stephen at Front Desk!) Loved having the fridge in our room. Needed it anyway for medicine and we got one included with our kid suite.

Things just OK - Parking is fair. The lady that writes about 2 football fields is exagerating. It's not that far. The walk does us all good. Parking lot does fill up late at night, but it's Orlando. You'll get that anywhere! It's really not that bad. We were on the front side of the hotel (Route 192 Side) We didn't have a balcony we could sit outside on where everyone else does. Didn't really matter to us, but if you want one...don't pick that front side. You do not hear noise from the main road either as long as you keep your sliding door closed! No problems there!

Overall, fantastic stay! Would definitely choose this property again. There's alot of options on Orlando/Kissimmee area, but rest assured with this one! It'll make you happy!

Room Tip: Balconies are not available on the very front of the hotel. Three other sides have them. Request a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevDirector, Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We are very fortunate to offer more than 100 kids suites at the hotel as they are very popular with our guests travelling with children. For safety reasons, none of the kids suites come equipped with accessible balconies. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location and will tell Stephen at the front desk that you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This place has small bathrooms. I spoke to 2 other guest and they thought the same thing. Poor design. Hotel overall was ok. Having a food court is a plus after travel to the parks. I wouldn't stay again. To many other choices to put up with a the small bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianGNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevDirector, Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your candid review. Our staff take pride in providing our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel features two distinct towers. The bathrooms in the guest rooms in the front tower are smaller than the bathrooms in the rooms in the back tower. If your travels should bring you back to the Kissimmee / Orlando area in the future, please give us another shot and be sure to request a room in the back tower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The price is worth the stay. Although this place is not pricey, get your loyalty card and enjoy more discounts. The parking is free for guests and the beds are comfy and very clean. I love the fact that every floor has it's own vending machine and ice freezer. Everywhere I go in the US, I check in at Holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ecatarina_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brad_boland, Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your positive review from your stay in 2012. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We, at the Holiday Inn MainGate East have made many improvements to our hotel to enhance our guest experience since your visit. We hope that you will join us again in the future when your travel plans bring you back to the Magic Kingdom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

been back to the Holiday Inn again and had another great stay.. Staff were very obliging and friendly. Room nice and clean. Lots of spring break kids but they did not bother us at all . In fact they were really well behaved. Been to this hotel for the last 20 years so that says it all. Look forward to returning in October. To anyone not been before I can recomend this hotel and it is very central for all attractions.
Well done to all the staff who know us by our surname not carole..Cannot see why anyone would have cause to complain!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolecleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brad_boland, Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for your positive review from your stay in 2012. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We, at the Holiday Inn MainGate East have made many improvements to our hotel to enhance our guest experience since your visit. We hope that you will join us again in the future when your travel plans bring you back to the Magic Kingdom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend in mid-March. We flew in around 10:30AM to Orlando and contacted the hotel to ensure we could check in at 4:00pm (the check-in time). They told us a room would be ready. At 2:00pm we called again to see if by chance a room was ready early. They said no, and that at 4pm we could check in (understandable). When we arrived at 4:20pm we checked in and the front desk told us, "Let me make sure a room is ready". They got on the radio with the maid and said the room was being cleaned and would be ready when we got upstairs. Well, we went upstairs and the maid had just started cleaning the room and didn't finish until 4:50. She spoke no English, didn't apologize or introduce herself and was on her cell phone while cleaning the bathroom for 5 minutes. In the meantime we stood in the hall just wanting to shower. When we got in the room the floor hadn't been vacuumed and there were mold spores all over the shower curtain. In addition, there were baby ants walking all over the TV area, and there was melted candy on the balcony porch that had ants crawling all over-- not to mention the balcony door was screwed shut (what!?). On our fourth day we saw a palmetto (which we thought was a cockroach) in our room so the front desk switched us to another room. The new room was cleaner, but the balcony door was also screwed shut. The hallways are dirty in this hotel and we saw stepped-on crushed crackers in the hallway that were there for five days without being vacuumed.. and this hotel wonders why it has an ant problem. To finish the list: A/C unit is incredibly loud, bathrooms are extremely tiny, and the parking lot situation is HORRIBLE. We had to park more than two football fields away at 8:30pm because every spot in the hotel was full. There were moving trucks and 18-wheelers parked over 7 spots sideways while the drivers napped and the hotel did nothing about it.. we more than once had to park in a "no parking" zone in hopes that our rental wouldn't be towed because there were literally no spots available. Bad experience, we definitely will NOT be going back here.

Room Tip: If you want to go onto the balcony, bring a screwdriver, because it seems every room's balcony d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BPWNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear BPWNJ,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Main Gate East. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
0.7 km away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
7.8 km away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#30 of 154 in Kissimmee
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 154 in Kissimmee
301 reviews
0.5 km away
Celebration Suites
Celebration Suites
#18 of 154 in Kissimmee
3,856 reviews
7.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area

Address: 5711 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34746-4746 (Formerly Holiday Inn Main Gate East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: $111 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area 3*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devote your time to fun activities at Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area, located in Kissimmee, Florida, off U.S. Highway 192 East (also known as the Irlo Bronson Memorial Highway). We are an official Walt Disney Good Neighbor full-service hotel! Enjoy our newly renovated rooms, kid suites, meeting facilities, pool, kids theater, and business and fitness centers! Reminisce with M-I-C-K-E-Y M-O-U-S-E at the world-famous Walt Disney World resort in nearby Orlando. See the characters come alive at the Magic Kingdom. Travel to futuristic times at Epcot center. Witness pure movie magic at Disney s Hollywood Studios. Visit Osceola Heritage Park, a 120-acre multipurpose complex that offers exciting sports and entertainment shows. Catch a concert or event at the Silver Spurs Arena, or a baseball game at the Osceola County Stadium. Shop at the Loop, a large outdoor strip mall housing major department stores and smaller retail stores, casual restaurants, and a movie theater. Rev your engine and head to Old Town, a vibrant, family-friendly shopping, dining, and entertainment destination. Enjoy live entertainment each night and don t miss the Classic Car Cruises. Rejuvenate with a tasty hot breakfast at our Trattoria Cafe. Eat hearty from our Best-4-Breakfast menu. Enjoy a leisurely, peaceful vacation or comfortable working environment at our hotel, where Kids Stay Free and Kids Eat Free. Relax, it s Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area. There is a Daily Service Fee of $15 which guests pay upon check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Main Gate East Hotel Kissimmee
Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area Kissimmee, Florida
Orlando Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Kissimmee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing