We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort but poor location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice resort but poor location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Resort is quite ok, but the terrible location in relation to all but the Walt Disney World, do not come without a car or be prepared to pay a taxi a lot. Resort has no transportation to theme parks or the airport as it is for me a great disadvantage compared to other resorts in Orlando who offer their guests shuttle transportation. The rooms are ok (except my room was located right next to the lake so every morning a variety of ducks and birds woke me up at 6 or 7am), as well as other facilities that the resort offers...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarajevo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    415
    135
    70
    62
See reviews for
749
257
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I love Silver Lake Resort!! Great location, clean, huge pool! This was our 4th visit to the resort and I will definitley go back!

There is small movie theater that seats around 100 people, they have movies for children at 5PM and families at 7PM. Every day they have an ice cream social ($3.00) Every Friday they have hot dogs/chips for $1.00!!

The staff is wonderful, (Especially Front Desk: Nina and Alex ) always ready to help with any kind of problem!

The one bedrooms are spacious with a full kitchen, washer/dryer too!! The two bedrooms are big with two bathrooms.

Great location, plenty of parking spaces. You won't go wrong staying at Silver Lake!!

Room Tip: If you're not satisfied with your room, the front desk is very helpful in finding you another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petcat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quad Cities, IA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Silver Lake Resort from Feb. 25th-29th, 2012 and had a great time! We used our points from RCI to book a one bedroom unit and got building three. We are in our 30s and this was our fourth or fifth timeshare experience and it has yet again surpassed our expectations!

***ROOM***

We were in building three and on the third floor. As some people have pointed out, there are NO ELEVATORS, so if that is an issue for you, you might want to make a point to get a first floor room. But I don't have any complaints about our room. It was a one bedroom unit with a king sized bed. The unit was huge! We had a full kitchen with utencils, large dining room table, sitting area with couch and chair, and then a living room area with an LCD tv and another couch. My wife and I left our two kids at home this time, but we could have easily housed the whole family.

The bedroom and master bathroom were joined and both also had plenty of space. The master bath had a whirlpool tub and a very nice shower. We also had another smaller bathroom that connected to the living area.

**RESORT**

The resort did have some planned activities, but we didn't really use them. As you can probably tell from the photos, the pool area is very nice! This is probably one of the larger pools I have seen. There were plenty of chairs and we never felt crowded. The pool bar had good hours and served drinks and food. Plus the resort has a small gift shop/snack bar inside the main building.

We used the exercise room a couple of times and they had typical treadmills and other exercise equipment.

**AREA**

If you are doing to Disney, you can't really ask to be much closer unless you are actually staying at Disney. We did Universal and it probably took about 20 minutes to get there. But there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby the resort. Super Target is less than 5 minutes and more restaurants than I can name.

**TIMESHARE**

When we checked in we were asked if we wanted to attend a "welcome breakfast" to hear more about the resort. They weren't pushy by any means, and we politely said no. But they said it only took 90 minutes and said they are very strict about not going over that time. I've attended a couple timeshare pitches before and know they always quote a short time. But I DID believe them here. Had I planned for it, I might have taken them up on there offer. They had a few different things to choose from for compensation - most of them being Disney or Universal tickets and savings of $75-$200 depending on what type of ticket.

All in all, I had high expectations for the resort and it lived up to them. The only negatives I can think of is that they do charge you for Internet in your room. Why your neighborhood Budget Inn can give free WiFi but these places charge, I'll never know. But you can buy a pass for room WiFi. Otherwise they do have a business center that is basically two desktop computers and a printer. Otherwise, the only other negative is probably the lack of elevators, but it wasn't too big of deal for me.

Feel free to contact me about specific questions and I'll be glad to answer them!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckelley03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We bought a 2 bedroom last july.Beautiful resort. Gorgeous rooms. We were told we could stay there for a week by not using any points and "buying" our week for a $250.00 fee plus other small incidentals directly to the resort, not through RCI. That is a complete lie. The points that came with the purchase is not even close to the amount needed to stay there. Now we pay a yearly maintenace fee for a place we can't go to. We really felt lied to and wish we would have purchased somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stay thru RCI in oct.This is our 8th trip to florida and we have stayed in many different resort. This resort by far is the closest to the parks using the back road takes you 2 min to animals kingdom parking lot no kidding.a lot of choices for family dining around the resort . The room was a 1 bedroom but sleep 6 huge 2 pull out queens size and a king bed in bedroom 2 bathrooms not spectacular but clean and well serviced had washer dryer in unit and normal size kitchen. The pool area was great our girls 13-14 loved to come back each night for a swim and hot tub. they had kareokee at the pool side bar but none of us are big singers but had fun listening to the songs anyway.Have an onsite store fully stocked even had fresh baking wach day although we went to grocery store down the street for most things.Was clean and well maintained we would stay here again so convient

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddogcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed there with fiends in February 2012 for 1 week through RCI. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly. The location was centrally located for the Disney attractions. Our unit was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath luxury suite (unit 134). The unit was comfortable though dated (old TVs). The pools at the resort were excellent. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that our 3rd floor unit did not have an elevator and I had tons of luggage. I suggest staying there and requesting a ground level unit. Not sure if the other buildings had elevators.

Room Tip: If you don't enjoy stairs then request a lower floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joe_b_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have just returned from three weeks at the resort. Our one bed apartment was comfortable and spacious with a full kitchen, large washer and dryer and a jacuzzi bath that proved to be excellent for our aged aches and pains! The staff were friendly and efficient, any problems were dealt with speedily. The whole resort was kept very clean and the pool areas were never crowded and the water warm. The apartment was cleaned weekly and all paper towels, coffee, soaps etc. replenished whether we had used them all or not. WiFi cost $26.50 a week but proved very useful to find local amenities. Very close to Disney World and the GPS we brought from the UK proved invaluable. We are members of RCI but were subjected to no sales hassle. There appeared to be a good programme of activities for children.
One tip, if you travelled with Virgin, you can check in your luggage and get your boarding cards in Downtown Disney, West Side, next to the Cirque du Soleil building on your last morning.
Didn't want to come home, especially to temperatures of -10C!

Room Tip: Only drawback in Bldg. 900 was that odd numbered rooms get no sun and are rather gloomy as a result...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
10.0 km away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
6.4 km away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
9.7 km away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#3 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd, Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing