We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Lake Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silver Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed here several time it is so enjoyable and relaxing. You can walk to and from your room to the pool unlike some other resorts.The pool area is nice, big and open and not crowded, The pool is heated which is a bonus. Parking is not a problem either.

Only thing is that they dont have WiFi in the rooms. They have a business room which is free.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dawn27reed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    416
    135
    70
    62
See reviews for
751
257
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Booked a 1 bedroom condo/room in building 900. Upon entering the building we were at bit apprehsive about how the room would be. It looked rather dated with narrow hall way and sorta dark. The entry door actually opened to a foryer shared with another room. We opened our room door and was pleasently surprised at the layout of the room, and the accomodations. The furniture was better than adequate, the kitchen was well equipped, the bath was large and had the washer/dryer unit hid away in a closet-like room. It was veary clean and (considering it was Florida, not a bug to be found... wife looked closely). The ground has 3 pools (1 adult pool just outside of building 900) and a large pool area with a snake/bar area at the main pool location. Also a great fitness room and a just so-so arcade for kids (older video game machines and a couple of fun pin ball machines... remember those?).
Security was not an issues as there are only 2 ways to get in and they are monitored 24/7 with gate guards. The resort was about 3-4 miles from Disney and/or Universal Studio theme parks and easy to get to. They offered discount vouchers to local golf courses and tours... We didn't take those so I cannot comment on them, but we saw many folks in the main lobby waiting for the buses. Many stores, resturants close by and grocery stores as well.
For the money, this was a great stay and we will be going back again next year. Don't expect a Ritz-Carlton atmosphere, but if you're looking for a clean, safe and much better than "adequate" accomdation, it's a place to consider.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gunney8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stay in one of the king "hotel" units in Feburary. We've stayed in time shares before but the 9000 building was the first time we encountered the two unit in one system.We shared an enterance way with the main unit that had a condo style set up..maybe one or two bedrooms.
Which wasn't a problem at all but it was impossible to close the enterance door without a loud bang (Im sorry if the people next to us were bothered by this..I really tried to be quiet even if you werent)
Anyway...the sows ear thing...the unit was builder grade...nothing special at all...the bathroom fan was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think.One towel bar that was to hold towels for the whole week.(4 bath 4hand 4face cloths)Cheap shower head the ones you have to move around just to get a good soaking.One very small vanity with no room on the counter.The plastic vertical blinds wouldnt darken the room and kept falling off the track,Im sure they would have come to fix them but we didnt call.The enterance to the room had an electicial box in full view..(tacky)..could have at least painted to blend in with the wall...dark green carpet that was worn with traffic..and those gawd awful mirrored closet doors that let you have a real good look at the beauty you are first thing in the morning, right beside the bed..And The oldest tv I have seen in a long time....
Now the Silk purse thing...The towels in the bathroom were thick and wonderful, they have Bath and Body Works toileties..always a plus! The king bed and duvet..well it was top of the line Loved it....Enjoyed the screened in balcony.
The pools and activity areas the very well kept.The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking them every morning.The staff very friendly.Restaurant was abit expensive but we didnt use it.
Nicely located to everything but it was alittle hard to find...thank goodness for GPS.Meet a gentleman in the elevator that drove around for 2 hours looking for the place.He was alittle cranky....
Our unit had a bar fridge,mirco wave,dishes for two and a coffee maker..it was all we need.The little store in lobby had groceries and sundries.
Would we stay again...yes!!
So for what we paid it was great....

Room Tip: Some buildings don't have elevators so check first you need help.They also rent the units for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Check in - We requested a newer unit & we were told none available. We did check in early at 2.

Unit - The unit was in the 1800 building no flat screen tvs, old formica counters, small bedroom,screened in porch with 2 cheap lonely chairs & no table. We did face the pool which was nice & we could hear the entertainment. This was a 1 bedroom on the 4th floor.

Pool - The pool area is nice the hot tub very large the food at the cabana is tasty & priced right.

Our toilet was clogged 2 days in a row what a pain.

I complained about not having a patio table that is what started the poor customer service. They were very nasty & uncaring of our wants & needs.

Timeshare talk - Our salesman was very nice but we were told it would take 90 minutes it started going closer to 2 hours. We did not buy our salesman was also very surprised that the unit did not have a patio table, & he also told us that we would never have been given a newer unit because we came in under the sales program. That is a lie we were told when we booked the package.

I did not like the customer service & the lies told by both sides at Silver lake management & the timeshare people who do not work together.

It is possible that we were spoiled last year we stayed at Star Island Resort & it was fantastic

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank softballstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliot, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Security Concern: Silver Lake Points Resort has modified the function of the privacy button on the interior of some locksets. This button, when depressed by the guest when inside the room, is designed to prevent entry by housekeeping and service personnel with master card keys. As a result of the resort’s modification, the button can be depressed but the card reader does not prevent entry. Guests can check the lockset by trying to open the door with their card key from the outside with the privacy button depressed. If the lock opens, a master key will open the door and the room is not secure.

We were looking forward to our recent stay at the Silver Lake Points Resort. We have stayed several weeks in the past and always had an excellent experience. This stay was problematic, mostly because of the security concern covered above.

The resort has manned security gates. Check-in was smooth and friendly. We arrived around noon hoping to check-in early. We were able to pre-register and received instructions to return at 4 PM to pickup our card keys. We were directed to the tour desk to receive a vehicle pass where we were offered ticket discounts or $80 to tour. We declined.

We returned at 4 PM and quickly received our keys. We had exchanged into a one bedroom and were assigned to a “G” unit in Building 900. The unit was clean and fresh. This unit abuts a studio with a common lobby such that the pair could be used as a two bedroom. Our unit had seating and dishes for 6. The kitchen was a little small. Storage was limited and the stove drawer was used to store pots and pans. The bottom drawers in the refrigerator did not work well because the center draw slide had been removed because the refrigerator door cannot be opened sufficiently. The unit had a digital wall mounted TV in both the living room and the bedroom but only a couple of broadcast channels had digital signals. The bed was king size but a little soft. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower, jetted tub and stacked washer/dryer. There was a nice screened porch overlooking a wildlife area.

The resort has a back gate that is less than a ½ mile from Disney’s Animal Kingdom and the West end of the Osceola Parkway. It was only about 10 minutes to reach the Epcot and Hollywood Studios area of Disney. It is only about ½ mile to route 192 where restaurants abound. Food shopping is a couple of miles West on 192 where there is a Super Target on the left and a Publix at the Orange Lake Resort entrance on the right. Stay away from 192 in the mid morning and use the Osceola Parkway to get to I-4 and Sea World and Universal. Be prepared for I-4 to be slow depending on the time of year.

The resort offers a number of scheduled activities including movies in their theater each night at 5 and 7. The theater has good sound quality but be prepared to pay for your popcorn and for the movie to start late. There are crafts for the kids and ice cream treat sold poolside most days at 2 PM. There are three pools including one main pool with scheduled live entertainment. The water temperature was a bit cool upon entry but comfortable for swimming. Pool towels are available from the activities department without signing. There is food and beverage service at the main pool. There is no longer free WiFi near the lobby but the resort has two or three computer stations and three hard-wired connections for laptops that are free to guests based on availability. The laptop service was not working for more than a day during my stay even after being told it was just fixed but not checked. Guest may purchase an activity card which includes WiFi and discounts on other purchases at the resort. Guests who do not have laundry facilities in their unit can use facilities in a common area at no additional charge. There was a poolside meet & greet scheduled each week weather permitting that includes chips and salsa.

Problems:
1. The aerator for the kitchen sink faucet sprayed water horizontally and the spout itself was very difficult to turn. Maintenance arrived quickly and we left for a walk. We returned to find the faucet being replaced. Things did not go well as the team now totaled 3. After 2 hours we left to purchase lunch because the kitchen was not available. The good news was we had a new faucet when we returned but it appears major maintenance is being done on the guest’s time.
2. We received a phone call from a friend who had tried to call us. She was told that we had checked-out. We contacted the front desk to correct the error and asked that housekeeping be notified so we were not disturbed. Needless to say, housekeeping knocked at the door first thing the next morning.
3. Regarding the security issue mentioned above, I learned that there had been a problem with guests, especially in lock-off units, locking themselves out of the adjacent unit guests because the common lobby door or unit door was closed with the privacy button engaged. The answer was to disable the function of the privacy button. This was a big issue for me but not the resort. I continue to work the problem. Be advised that my lock was fixed only after extended effort but it did not take long to fix!
4. The back gate was closed without notice reportedly because of insufficient staffing. There is a card reader at the back gate but it doesn’t work.
5. One afternoon I was not able to get a clean pool towel. I was told to check back in a hour. When I returned, there were no towels available.

Something has changed at this resort. Reduced staffing was given as an excuse for a number of issues listed above. I tried to meet with the Resort Manager and later found I met with the Director of Owner & Guest Relations. This may, in part, explain why I was not successful in getting a change in the lockset policy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eliotmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here for 9 days in March 2012, nice large resort. Many amenities. Drawbacks were in building 700 all balconies face the woods. Also costs $26.75 for week for internet if you bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyYoung49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This trip my son and I booked a 1 bdrm unit and they put us in a 2 bdrm suite ground floor condo unit. It was a handicapped equip unit. Only thing different was the counters were lower, and wider doorways and one bathroom was full wheelchair accessible directly into shower. We had two full baths and king beds in each room with flat scrn tvs. Flat scrn tv in spacious living room/dining. Kitchen was large with mose utensils you need for your stay and cooking meals. Laundry was a stackable unit in kitchen closet. Pool was warm and large. A smaller pool was across from our building but we always went to the larger pool which also had a hot tub, and bar. Internet wifi for our room was a extra $25 for the week. Great condo for families going to disney or whatever your doing. Our trip was strictly golf and some pool time. Will stay again and actually came back 3 months later with my brother and his family in dec 2011 for a week which will review as well. pics to follow. Any questions ask.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdntraveller1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
10.0 km away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
6.4 km away
Summer Bay Orlando By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
9.7 km away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lake Resort

Property: Silver Lake Resort
Address: 7751 Black Lake Rd, Hwy. 192 and Sherbeth Rd., Kissimmee, FL 34747-1760
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lake Resort, Orlando's Best-Kept Secret. Our Luxurious Resort is located 2 miles from Walt Disney Animal Kingdom Theme Park; seven miles from Walt Disney World Resort and just minutes away from other Central Florida's premier attractions. Whether you love your easy access for travel to the local attractions or a nice quiet vacation stay, either way we can accommodate the vacation you desire. *Resort Amenities:23,000 sq. Ft. Clubhouse.9,000 Sq. Heated swimming pool. Zero entry pool between 1000 building and 900 building. Satellite pool adjacent to main pool. Newly renovated cabana serving food and drinks. Large outdoor whirlpool spa, children's pool, outdoor BBQ grills. Gift and convenience shop.Golf simulator, arcade room, enclosed children's play area.Movie theatre, video rentals.Fitness center with sauna, tennis court/basketball court.Business center .Shuffleboard court. *All Villas/Suites Feature:Air conditioning/heat.Television with cable hook-up including HBO.Ceiling fans.DVD players.Fully equipped kitchens.Washer/dryers.Screen patios.Jacuzzi and separate shower area.Built-in hair dryer.King, queen, full and/or sofa sleeper. *Now Completed:316 designer furnished villas now completed32 one bedroom villas84 two bedroom villas104 two bedrooms split villas 72 three bedroom villas Awards:RCI Gold Crown Resort since 1993.Charter member of RCI Points Resorts.Member of American Resort Development Association (ARDA).Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Silver Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Lake Hotel Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Florida
Silver Lake Resort Orlando
Silver Lake Kissimmee
Silver Lake Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing