We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Colleen and John are Terrific!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Lake Worth B&B and Inns
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Colleen and John are Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We just got back yesterday from five days at the Sabal Palm B&B Inn and it was a wonderful vacation for both of us. We showed up at 3 pm exhausted and all I wanted was a sleepcation. John warmly greeted us and gave us a tour of the B&B . We stayed in the Degas room on the second floor in the back house and the first thing we did was unpack and then have a cup of tea for me and a glass of wine for my husband from the guest refrigerator. It was the first of the tasty morsels that Colleen bakes every day and leaves out for the guests at 3 pm. Then we were back upstairs for a nap. We left for dinner in Lake Worth and came back to a crisply made bed, already turned down, with chocolates waiting. Breakfast the next morning was a wonderful vegetable frittata cooked by John, with Colleen's croissants, and fresh fruit along with coffee, tea and orange juice.

Everyday, the breakfasts were a real treat and the afternoon baked items were delicious. This was our first time to stay at a B&B in the U.S. and we felt more like house guests of John and Colleen's than anything. They are a great couple who truly enjoy hosting their guests. They are thoughtful in every way. One morning as we were leaving for my husband to play a round of golf, Colleen asked us where he was playing. She asked us to wait just a moment and returned with a coupon for a free round of golf at that course. Another wonderful aspect of our stay was the housekeeper who freshen our room every afternoon with taut sheets and fresh towels (after our daily naps).

Our expectations were exceeded on every level. The Sabal Palm is a quiet, relaxing getaway with the best hosts possible!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
83
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

John & Colleen are likeable, knowledgeable & super efficient innkeepers. As others have commented, Sabal Palm is in a quiet location, with plenty of parking. It is on the Mainland,only a few hundred yards from the bridge over to the barrier island/ocean. The accomodations are attractive & comfortable, & the breakfasts excellent. My wife & I very much enjoyed our stay......Additional note: When driving on nearby A1A, stick to the quite low, posted speed limits. Speed is monitored from hidden locations & you risk an expensive ticket & other undesirable consequences if you don't keep an eye on your speedometer!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramps55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Lake Worth is one of the best kept secrets on Florida's busy Atlantic coast and this beautiful and luxurious B&B is the best place to stay while in Lake Worth. The rooms are gorgeous and equiped with the highest quality sheets and towels. The landscaping around the inn is breathtaking. The copious and delicious food served at breafast and snack time is an added bonus and the inn keepers are the consumate professionals offering both privacy and comraderie as desired.

Room Tip: The cottage is cute and wonderfully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This B&B is conveniently located yet in a quiet area of Lake Worth. Rooms are well appointed and clean. The room I stayed in was a bit heavy on the pink furnishings and potpourri, but this is to be expected in B&Bs, I think. The common areas were pleasant for sitting and reading, and for sipping coffee or having tea. A refrigerator was available for guest use and had complimentary water and sodas. Breakfast was usually a baked egg dish and quite adequate. I must rave about the fresh madeleines that Colleen baked one day--just amazing! A bit pricey for a long stay, perhaps, but it was just right for my short visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms require climbing stairs--no elevators. Visit their website for room info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayyEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabalpalmhouse, Owner at Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is always important to get feedback on what we can do better. We apologize if there was potpourri in your room as we never put any in our rooms because we personally do not like it and most of our guests prefer a frangrance-free room. We are guessing you stayed in our Degas Room as that room does have pink pillow shams. We have been slowly changing the color scheme in that room to more yellows and greens. The painter Edgar Degas is mostly known for his ballet and bathers paintings so this room does lean toward the more feminine side versus our Salvador Dali Room which is more modern. We are very happy to hear you loved our baked goods and liked our peaceful location walking distance to both the beach and downtown Lake Worth. We love serving our guests a hot breakfast every morning and normally alternate between a sweet dish one morning and an egg dish the next morning and do accomodate those with dietary restrictions. We give discounts to guests who stay more than seven nights, active military, and AAA members. We also run specials. Thank you and we wish you a very happy and healthy holiday season, Colleen and John, Innkeepers and Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Thank you John and Colleen for making our stay exceed expectations! The house is beautiful and we felt like home! The room was beautiful and cozy! We needed time to relax and just enjoy time together and we came back so relaxed and happy! You will definitely enjoy your stay there! Colleen makes fresh cookies everyday and there's a Tea station 24/7! We missed breakfast both days because we wanted to sleep in, but I'm sure it would have been delicious! next time :)

Don't forget to buy a mug! there's so cute and nice!

Thank you so much for everything! Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Any room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMazzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

As soon as we arrived and were greeted by John our host we knew we had chosen the right place to stay in Lake Worth. It felt like home away from home. Our room was immaculate as was the rest of the property. The courtyard was beautiful and very relaxing. The location was great. You could walk to nearby restaurants and the beach was just over the bridge. Beach towels and chairs were provided. What more could you ask for? What made this place so great was our host John who made us feel very welcomed and knows everything you would want to know about Lake Worth. It was like visiting and talking with a good friend. You can tell John and his wife Colleen take great pride in the property. Each day started with a different breakfast with fresh fruit and everything was delicious. We even got to try out a new oatmeal pancake recipe. There would also be fresh baked treats waiting for you in the afternoon. If you're lucky, Willie the dog will join you for breakfast. Our stay was quiet and relaxing and we didn't want to leave. After this experience this is the only B&B we would consider in Lake Worth.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESILHURST, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

October 2011 was a fabulous time for the Women of BORN. We ladies came together and spent four beautiful days at the Sabal Palm House Bed & Breakfast. Our accommodations were excellent. The beds were warm and cozy! Our Hosts, John and Colleen were just great! They made us feel so welcomed. Meals tasted terrific. The 3pm teas and treats were very tasty and eloquently presented. If you are wondering what the weekend cost us this Columbus Day. It was well worth every penny spent, because we received so much more.
So, if you are looking for a great place to stay, priced right and fabulous hosts, try The Sabal Palm House B&B. You won't be disappointed.
Lisa G and Yvonne W.

Room Tip: Stay between sunday and Thursday and receive a discount. Just call ahead and ask John and Collen fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Worth
0.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
9.7 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.1 km away
Mango Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Kimpton Tideline Ocean Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
11.0 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 109 North Golfview Road, Lake Worth, FL 33460
Region: United States > Florida > Lake Worth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast, in Palm Beach County, is located walking distance from beautiful beaches, the Intracoastal Waterway and downtown Lake Worth, FL, with its antique shops, wonderful restaurants, ecotourism, and regional theater. Relax in one of our seven beautifully decorated guest rooms, each with an artistic theme, private baths, luxury linens and antique furnishings. Colleen and John and the Sabal Palm House staff are dedicated to providing our guests with the perfect travel experience which includes making your stay relaxing and supremely comfortable with modern amenities such as telephones, air conditioning, HDTV/DVDs, wireless internet access, hair dryers, free and safe street parking etc. Complimentary full, hot homemade breakfast served to guests in our dining room or tropical courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Sabal Palm House Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabal Palm House b&b Inn
Sabal Palm House Hotel Lake Worth
Sabal Palm House Bed And Breakfast Inn Lake Worth, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing