We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Carful of your choice”
Review of Tropicaire Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicaire Resort
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Spent many years at this motel.. Over the last ten years we experienced 3 owners. This season 2017 we-experience a new owner & same manager Misty .We noticed the deteriation of the hotel . Examples are the lack of cleanness of the rooms and the outside grounds. Policy's of housekeeping not being followed such as clean towels and dirty ones not being removed daily from our rooms .Thefloors should have been cleaned daily and trash removed. Which was not done . After leaving a deposit for the 2018 season we decided to look elsewhere.
We gave notice of cancellation on April 11, 2017 11 months notice. Misty has repeatedly lied about the whereabouts of the refund checks. It is now June 19 2017 and we still do not have our money. poor business practice. I WOULD NOT STAY HERE they lie and take advanantage of retired people.

Room Tip: It is a matter of taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank nmarchese166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017

we have been going to the tropicaire resort for about 9 years. Its been our shrangri-la. Unfortunately this past year a new owner took over. He doesn't seem to be as interested in the place as the old owners were and doesn't give the manager Misty(who is great) the resources she needs to keep the place up. We ( there are four families) gave our deposit for march 2018 because we weren't sure we would find a place for all of us. But we did. We asked for our deposit back many times but to no avail.I would caution any one thinking of giving a deposit to this place to be very leary.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevefoxcontracting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Maree Moscati
in the last week I'd give this no stars if at all possible. Left a deposit with Misty who said we would get a refund if cancelled within 4 months of 2018 stay. So, in late March myself and 2 other couples left deposits and we had to cancel - we have been promised our refund within a week - that was week of April 15th... today, June 12th.. nothing but lies and lies and more lies. I trusted Misty who said she was personally going to get money orders for all of us and we are still waiting for our refunds! Two months later... now Misty not answering her phone, voice mails, emails or text messages. After going there for years - even though it is the shabbiest place of all in the area - run down and they had to re-clean 2 of our rooms twice - one day they didn't even bother to come in! I would never ever trust an establishment that has to repeatedly lie about returning a deposit that they repeatedly said they would nor would I ever recommend this awful place to another.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

My Husband, son and myself spent a Wonderful Weekend at Tropicare Resort. The rooms are Clean, Very Nicely Decorated and Very Comfortable!
The pool area is just like a home away from home backyard with grills if you want to BBQ and even music for your enjoyment.
MISTY THE MANAGER IS AWESOME. VERY HARDWORKING, FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING! We are definitely going back soon.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicaire M, General Manager at Tropicaire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank-you So Much for your positive feedback on your recent stay here with us @ The Tropicaire Resort. I really appreciate your kind words and I also appreciate that you and your family chose our hotel for your holiday weekend! We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed being here! You guys are more than welcome to return ANYTIME!!!! We would love to see you Soon!

Again, thanks for your review, See you Soon,

Tropicaire Resort Staff

"Arrive as Guests & Leave as Friends"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My husband and I spent a very pleasant 3 weeks at the Tropicaire Resort. Everything we wanted in an escape from the cold north was at the resort beginning with a warm welcome by Misty, the resort Manager. She did everything to make our stay comfortable and was extremely helpful in so many ways. In addition to great service, we met some pretty great people. A lot of the guests return year after year and are quick to make the "new arrivals" feel part of their circle of friends. Although the motel is older, it is clean, the beds are very comfortable, you're within walking distance to the beach and some great dining spots. A major grocery chain is also within walking distance. If you decide to make Tropicare Resort your vacation destination, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Spent a few nights (too many!) with my friend Tiffany who also booked here. She's not to blame, of course - who would have thought it won't be ok, after reading the positive feedback and ignoring the few negative reviews (big mistake).After seeing the place, I can tell you the positive feedback comes from the long term guests that live here all year round. For the price, you can go a few blocks further and book a quiet and cheaper appartment.
Very loud during the day, but we thought hey, we will be at the beach anyway. Which we did, fortunately the weather was great. When the night comes, looks like our neighbours wanted to party - not once, not twice, but 3 nights in a row! Nevermind the fact that they drink beer at 8 am (that's breakfast?), nevermind the fact that they dry their laundry on our chairs right outside our door. When politely asking them not to be so loud after midnight, the answer that came was so rude that Tiffany was afraid to even reply anything. When trying to tell the owner what our problem was, he laughed in our face and said ''you are on vacation, have some fun!'' OMG, we did have fun, but outside this motel, and when we came back at night we wanted also to HAVE SOME SLEEP during the night. That's why you pay for a motel room, right?! otherwise you'd sleep at the beach...Spare your money and time and book somewhere else!
Oh, forgot to mention the place is pet friendly, so prepare to share the swimming pool with some dogs.
Also, if you want to check your email, forget about it. Internet works like it's 1993...

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank ricadonna2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Stayed here for a few days during December. The place is older (like lots of places in LBTS), well maintained and clean. It is a few blocks from the beach but has a nice pool. It was our first time staying here. We have a pet so our options were limited. Tropicaire is pet friendly. The king sized room had a full kitchen (without dishwasher), small dining table, pots/pans/dishes.....very well stocked for your own cooking. The bathroom was small but had a great shower and full, fluffy towels!

What was interesting was the other guests/tenants? There seemed to be a few down-on your luck type folks staying long term at this place. Moving from room to room depending on the bookings (with no luggage just oodles of brown bags filled with shoes, clothes, food) etc....It just was odd. We have stayed in many other places in LBTS and do know that it is a beach town with lots of folks staying week(s) or a few months etc...and that it is pretty transient. Another post mentioned the clientele as well.....

The manager resides on site. If you are looking for a pet friendly place, I would recommend the Tropicaire. If not, look at High Noon, Sea Spray, Santa Barbara or Windjammer! Also, the Tides Inn and BVR are pet friendly-> usually booked way in advance!

Love the atmosphere of LBTS....Hope to be returning for many years!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.3 km away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
279 reviews
0.2 km away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
155 reviews
0.2 km away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#14 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Away Inn
Away Inn
#22 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
113 reviews
0.9 km away
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Horizon By The Sea Inn
#20 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
64 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#15 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicaire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicaire Resort

Address: 4553 Bougainvilla Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3614 (Formerly Tropicaire Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $162 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropicaire Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owner since September 2014 ! All rooms have been renovated to top standard ! One of the cleanest places you will find in Florida. All beds are quality beds, We provide beach towels and beach chairs. Manager lives on site. Updated free WI-Fi ! Please see reviews after September 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicaire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicaire Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Tropicaire Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing