We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but strange Employee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The views are awesome, we loved our camp site, and the facilities are well maintained. But, here's the real problem: "Radar" an employee who lives on the site made us feel very unconfortable. First, we saw him behind our tent listening to our converstions. Then he proceeded to tell us how he broke someones back, and no one can "intiminate" him. Strange, very strange. At about 9 pm he starts a dance party at his trailer. It is so loud, no one in the campground can sleep. Really, dance music? Isn't camping for people who are out to relax? he also proceeded to announce on his micrphone that the "old people" should shut up and stop complaining about his sound system. That was extremely rude. Maybe he should be removed from the property after dark? Just a thought.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

908 - 914 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

This place was nice but not what we wanted! When we reserved it the website said our room had ocean view and it wasn't!! The rooms were dated with horrible patch jobs over what u can tell was huge holes. But they were clean!! Beds were horrible springs sticking out everywhere!! Good water pressure but warm water does NOT last long!! The store was a joke half empty!! The best thing about this place was the pool overlooking the ocean and the restaurant!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Juliejackson2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a far from new "resort". Facilities are old and neglected and it does not appear that the owners intend to address any issues here. The new cabins are nicer but EXTREMELY small sleeping 6?... I don't think so! Old units are very old, outdated and sparsely maintained, good luck getting clean sheets and towels. Many docks are dangerous and many unsafe to use. Too bad because could be a great place but I guess we'll look for other more hospitable places to spend our time and money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Curly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place has great potential being that it is basically an island sorrounded by water. Same goes for the marina, however, the boats sites and wooden walkways are falling apart. Last season I took a step on a loose wooden plank and was injured after falling on my side. If you plan to get away to relax, do not come here. Park is very loud all night and security does not enforce quiet hours. People ride their waverunners very close to the bayside and spray the people (visitors) intentionally. As a matter a fact one girl got severly injured after getting hit by one and spent 9 days in the hospital in 2011. Again no enforcement even after this incident. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

It is only half full at high season, as I noted in another person's review. The reviewer was right, it DOES say something. Dog poop is, in fact, everywhere. The staff is completely incompetent- we wanted to switch sites just a couple sites away and they refused to accomodate us. I kept asking if the incoming reservation had actually requested the site or if it was a random site assignment, as mine had been. They refused to answer my question and refused to accomodate us. They provided no reasoning whatsoever, just stated that they won't do it. While walking at night, I observed a loud, agressive argument between staff members. It was very uncomfortable, and totally unprofessional. It made me question my personal security here and the security of my property. Initially, we had tried for several weeks to make reservations in one of their cottages, which we wanted for a month, in addition to an RV site for a few weeks. By the time someone able to answer our questions got back to us, the cottage was no longer available. Instead of spending a total of almost 2 months here, we reserved elsewhere and are only staying here for a few days, mostly just so I can catch up on laundry. I was really bummed about the cottage at time, but am now breathing a heavy sigh of relief. I am trying to keep an open mind about the other amenities, and am determined to enjoy myself but I have to say the outlook does not look good. This place has a TON of potential, but the staff obviously has the give-a-crap kicked out of them and I can only imagine what management is like- as they say "a fish rots from the head down".

Also, their idea of cable is basic channels plus a few hundred home-shopping networks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tmm_travelsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you reserve a site with Morgan RV Resorts (Fiesta Key RV and Campground www.FiestaKeyRVResort.com ) be sure to get everything in writing...site location, 50amp/30amp, sewer, slip location and water depth, mail? We reserved our site 4 months in advance. Morgan RV Resorts (www.MorganRVResorts.com) management would call us months before our arrival and request the balance due. Send conformation I said and I'll be glad to. Never receive any by mail or email. Once we arrived they had changed our site off the water and with a 30amp, no 50 amp. Our assigned slip had 2 feet of water at low tide and our boat draws 2.5 feet. We also had our mail sent to the address that Morgan RV Resorts office provided us but the staff at the campground refused to receive it. After days of complaining to both the Morgan RV Resort main office, to the campground staff and then campground manager we were moved to a site with 50 amp (still not our original reserved site), got another slip with deep water, and they agreed to received my mail this one time. Staff was rude, admitted we were right to be upset. Campground blamed the main office while the main office blamed the campground. No apology from either and both acted like it was an inconvenience to deal with me. After a week here so many other campers are having the same problems. The staff asked that I take a survey at the end of my stay and give them a Five Star rating while they were all laughing knowing that was not going to happen. I would beware of Morgan RV Resorts. The good old days of the Fiesta Key KOA are gone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The place is over half empty in the highest point of the season if that has anything to say. The spots are too close together, if you can even get in one that has working amenities. We tried 3 different spots before one had everything that worked. The management is rude and very unhelpful. There was a gentleman who booked his spot 2 years prior and the spot was not working. The manager called the police on him because he was upset and they refused to do anything about it! Didnt offer to put him in another spot, refund his money or anything! And he was going to stay for a few months! Talk about poor customer service. The Cubans are allowed to do anything they want from playing LOUD obnoxious music all hours of the day to letting thier 6 year olds drive the golfcarts all over the resort. The hot tubs are not working and there was absolutly no activities. There is nothing to do at the resort, you have to drive to find something to do. The docks are run down and a lawsuit waiting to happen, the gas pumps at the marina havent worked in years.There are empty run down buildings over the property.There is dog poop everywhere, and they dont have the bags in the doggie walk area to clean up messes. The resturant runs out of food because the vendor refuses to deliver because of not getting paid. What in the world is this place doing with the money?? You think with the outragous prices, they could at least pay the people that supply the food, heck, they charge enough for it. The employees are at the bar way after it closes being drunk and loud. This place is a joke. It is really too bad, because the location is the only thing going for this place. It looks like it was an amazing place in its day, but that day was 20 years ago.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Justa_Figment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
3.2 km away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
34.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
26.4 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
14.1 km away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
7.2 km away
Edgewater Lodge
Edgewater Lodge
#1 of 1 in Long Key
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina

Address: 70001 Overseas Highway, Long Key, FL 33001
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Long Key
Price Range: $213 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the natural beauty of Long Key, Florida, with our RV resort, tent camping, motel and deluxe cottages. You can spend as much time as you'd like on our scenic resort property, and with full amenities, rentals, and vacation activities, you'll never run out of things to do. Whether you're a family traveling with children or a couple looking for a romantic getaway, join us at the Fiesta Key RV Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina Long Key, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing