We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Beach Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
2 reviews
“Perfect Beach Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We have stayed at the Diplomat several times. It looks like an older style motel, but is condos owned by individuals and rented out. With just two of us a studio is perfect. What we love about it is all the roooms face the beach and when you walk out the back door you are maybe 30 yards from the water's edge. There is a nice heated pool. The units are not plush and kind of dated, (the bathroom has 50's pink tile, tub and toilet). But the units are clean and bright. Owners need to update to flat screens (none of the units we've stayed in has them). The price is much less than the larger resorts and the staff is friendly. They need to hire a pro to improve the wireless network. They use the cable company and it was down 80% of the time we were there. One guest said it was down when they stayed in Feb. also.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barton1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    29
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
72
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

If your traveling near Longboat Key, FL, it's worth the time to make a stop at the Diplomat.
We stayed in a clean, comfortable unit with all the conveniences of home. Staff made us feel welcome, and other guests were friendly. For the price, this place can't be beat!! The sunsets here make others pale in comparison. Everyone comes out on the balcony or lawn area just about sunset, to watch the nightly marvels unfurl. As the sun sets, the gulf washes up on the sand, the sky turns into a magical site as clouds change from white to yellow, or pale pink, crimson red or even those dark grey storm clouds. Your memories of this place will last for years, drawing you back time after time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

During our recent stay at this resort we encountered roaches, dead and alive, on all but one day of our 12 day stay. When we arrived we had to pick up 4 dead ones off the floor in various places. We have small children and they spend most of their time on the floor so this was very disgusting. Every night there would be one or two that we had to chase around the room and kill. The staff offered to spray the room with poison. Great idead with small kids! Other than that they were seemed bothered by our complaints and one of them had a really nasty attitude about it. This isn't the most inexpensive play to stay either, so I expect a little better service, cleanliness, and attitude. We will not be going back and, based on their attitude, they really could care less. We were in unit 212 and will be sending a letter to the owner.
The rest of the room wasn't clean either. In the bathroom there was mold growing out of the wall, the ac vent in the bedroom was filthy with dust clusters, and the freezer stank like fish. The beds in the room are about as comfortable as sleeping on concrete and each time the ac came on it was so loud that it woke us up.
With economic times the way they are I would expect the staff to be bending over backwaards to be pleasant and make things right. They were NOT! I would not recomment this place at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiplomatResort, Manager at The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
We feel that after reading "Menmarty's" recent review of our resort that the other side of the story needs to be told. There are always two sides to every story. When these guests arrived it was brought to house-keeping's attention that they had found dead roaches. One was found buried under the beach chairs in the closet. The guests claimed to have thrown the others away. They were immediately offered another room, which was refused. We offered to send in pest control (both in spray form and a more earth friendly substance) and were refused. House keeping offered to bleach out the "fishy" smelling freezer but were refused. We offer daily maid service, which is included in the room rate. This was also denied for their entire twelve day stay. Our staff tried to do what we could to make these guests more comfortable but nothing we tried was acceptable. Until reading this review, we were not aware of mold, A/C noise or dust and uncomfortable beds. The day before their scheduled departure they came in and wanted to know if they could stay an additional day. The room was available and we gave them that night free because of their pest claims. This offer was not refused and gladly accepted. Upon their departure, while it was clear that daily maid service was not exercised during their stay there were no roaches, dead or alive, found in the room. In addition, we have had a few guests in that unit since their departure and have had no complaints of any kind or as described in their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was our 11th year staying at the Diplomat and love it! Each condo is individually owned (we have stayed in many various condos) and all have been beautiful. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. There is daily housekeeping and the staff are very friendly. The view of the ocean and sunsets are phenomenal. Very quiet and relaxing. We will definitely be coming back year after year and hope to perhaps purchase a condo if one becomes available!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

If you are looking for granite countertops and stainless steel applicances, this ain't the place for you. But if you are looking for quiet, clean, comfortable, and affordable, BOOK IT! The beach, water, and sunsets are unreal. "On the beach", is a true statement here folk. We are yearly panhandlers and due to the oil, we decided to travel further. One good thing came out of the spill. This area makes the panhandle look like the ghetto. We found our paradise. We stayed in 251. Old motel, but totally refurbished. A/C is great. Sit up your chairs about 30 minutes before sunset and bring your camera!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

I stayed at the Diplomat Resort April 30-May 1, just to nights with two of my grandchildren. We all loved the place, very clean and comfortable rooms with more than we expected in the way of ammenities, steps from the pool and beach. My grandchildren were delighted and asked if "Next time can we say longer?"

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine32153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

All rooms face the water and its a short walk to the beach and the pool. Well kept and clean. Individually owned condos so some need a little more updating then others.
They had 2 rooms left when we got there and they offered us a look at each before they assigned one to us. Great value for the pricey area. One negative - restaurants aren't
nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggyanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
9.7 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.5 km away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
2.3 km away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.2 km away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Property: The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing