We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our first trip to Casa del Mar was over July 4, 1973. Our daughters were 2 & 5. Some things are just too memorable to forget, and that first visit we stayed in condo 3C. That location was perfect for our young family with two very young swimmers. That "blind date" was the beginning of a long love affair between our family & Casa del Mar. After a few years we saw a new manager (DM Williams) come & things just kept getting better & better. The grounds are gorgeous & perfectly cared for & the staff bends over backwards to care for their guests. Over the next 38 years very few things have made us miss our time there. Both our daughters were married on the beach at Longboat Key and then our granddaughters started arriving. Somewhere along the way our extended family & friends started joining us, and now we fill 6-10 condos the week or two before Memorial Day every year. On top of that most years my husband & I go back for another week or two in the fall. We travel a lot (which is fun but can be exhausting) and we tell anyone who will listen that our time at Casa del Mar & Longboat Key is our true vacation. Casa del Mar will NOT disappoint you! It is perfect for everyone as far as I can tell! But don't come Memorial weekend!

Room Tip: There are no specific "kids activities" but your kids will never know that. Building sand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    36
    9
    13
    5
See reviews for
125
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My family has been vacationing at Casa del Mar for over 30 years and absolutely love it! Everything from the units, the beach, tennis courts, gardens, staff, grills etc. are all excellent. Can't wait to be there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

It was my absolute pleasure and privilege to spend almost three weeks at Casa del Mar this past September. This was a business trip that turned out to be a remarkable "pleasure cruise." I had stayed in several different places on Longboat Key over the past six years, not all great experiences, so when Casa was recommended I exercised due diligence and called the office for information. My list of questions was answered courteously and succinctly, and upon completion I was completely sold that this resort was with a doubt a step above. I was alerted to the fact that the unit next to mine was undergoing renovation, but that they enforced strict rules regarding when the work could be done. Bottom line I was gone before they started at 9 AM and by 5 PM when I returned they were gone for the day. I was never disturbed in any way.
My unit upon arrival was superb, and exactly as described on the website. I was asked to make a list of anything I was concerned about and it would be taken care of immediately. I discovered a few minor things that I suggested needed attention and the maintenance person was there fifteen minutes later to attend to my needs.
The location of Casa is perfect, a few miles from a major grocery store and shopping centre, and minutes away from Bradenton, with even more shopping opportunities. Both Bradenton and Sarasota are equal distance, but the pearl of Longboat Key, St. Armand's Circle, is but minutes away. There you will find a plethora of speciality stores and fabulous restaurants.
Casa del Mar is directly on the Gulf of Mexico, and the beach is just steps from any unit. While the beach is remarkable, even more remarkable are the grounds around Casa. It is inundated with beautiful foliage, flowers, gardens and fruit trees. The General Manager of the facility D.M. Williams has created a personal Garden of Eden, to include Guinness World Record cotton trees. The orchid garden is paradise. In the office there was always a bowl of fruit offered gratis to the vacationers.
While I could continue praising the facility I need to give credit where credit is due and that is to D.M. Williams. The complex under his management is meticulously run. He is there on the premises seven days a week supervising every detail. He walks the grounds early in the morning, and then again at night, as is always seen chatting with the guests poolside. There is no detail that escapes his eye. The office staff is just as competent and will go well out of their way to accommodate any of your needs.
Out of curiosity I read the negative reviews posted on this site. Knowing how hard I am to please, and that compliments do not come easily for me, I wanted to know what people were disappointed in. My advise to anyone is don't just go to a web site and blindly choose a vacation rental. Do your research, call the resort, and ask questions. Ask about child friendly facilities, ask about the furnishings in the unit you choose, ask about any inconveniences you might experience in that particular time frame. I asked all of those questions and received satisfying answers for each. I knew what to expect, and only discovered that Casa del Mar was even better than I had expected.
The only downside to posting this review on TripAdvisor is that that only offer five stars, because Casa del Mar is unequivocally a Ten Star resort.

Room Tip: Do your research, call the resort, and ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I just spend 10 days at this wonderful resort. The grounds are beautiful and the heated pool is huge and very very clean. It is steps from an amazing beach that goes forever to the north and south of the beach. Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island (10 minutes from each other) are my favourite parts of Florida. There are amazing restaurants and the whole area is very casual, which we really like. The sunsets on the beach are breathtaking and the management team did a good job looking after us and were very accomodating. The resort is very well landscaped and very secure. We can't wait to return.
Tennis courts are perfectly kept and they have racquets one can borrow if you don't care to bring your own.

Room Tip: All The rooms are good. We were not on the beach but couldn't have cared less. The whole place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxpointdwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband and I can't say enough wonderful things about Casa del Mar on beautiful Long Boat Key. It is our favorite vacation spot on Earth. In fact, we married on the beach there in August of 2002. The very best property manager on Earth, D.M. Williams, performed our ceremony. He has taken special care of the Casa del Mar property for years, and wonderful care of it's guests. The landscape is beautifully manicured.... You might think you were in Hawaii if you didn't know better. The palm trees and thousands of flowering blossoms along the sidewalks give you a sense of serene privacy. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful getaway, we suggest you try Casa del Mar.
--Danley & Christy McDonel, Brentwood, TN

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanleyMcDonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Our first visit, will not be the last. Beautiful resort, very friendly and accommodating staff. It is not a high rise which makes the vacay so much more relaxing...no elevators and no gate keys to hassle with for the pool and beach. It has ground floor and 2nd floor apartments. There is no elevator. There are Gulf front units and Courtyard units all with an amazing view of the tropical landscaping ot the water. Very laid back place, everyone was friendly and we met a lot of great guests from all over. Beach chaises are comfy and free! You can rent beach umbrellas for a reasonable fee. Celebrating Mom's 86 and my sister's 60th BD, our Cousin and I (50's). Our Apartment was the BEST! Unit 8A, a lovely first floor 2 brm/2ba, fully equipped kitchen steps away from the turquise Gulf. The apartments come supplied with a starter set of bath soap, dishwasher and dish soap, toilet paper and laundry soap for the stackable washer and dryer. They supply you with all the bath towels you need, and beds are made with fresh clean linens. After the starter supplies run out a Publix Grocery store and CVS Drug store is right down the street. We booked a week, then my cousin noticed online a September special, stay one week get one week free! Wow 2 weeks of paradise. The staff gave my Mom and Sister each a bottle of Casa Del Mar red wine and some limes for their birthdays that they grew on the oh so lovely tropical landscaped grounds. The resort also has an Orchid Garden that is like a Zen area of tranquility, a little fountain, a soothing place to go and sit...if you can tear yourself away from the Gulf! The resort has tennis courts, a nice big pool overlooking the Gulf, and an outdoor barbeque section with 8 gas grills!!! ST Armands Circle (shopping) and Lido Beach are close by (about 15 minute drive). Lots of great restaurants close by and in neighboring Anna Maria Island. We collected lots of pretty shells and a few sand dollars. Our washing machine had a problem and they were very prompt in fixing it. The AC worked great and the showers were good with plenty of hot water. King size bed in one bedroom, sofa bed in living, and twin beds in the other brm, I stayed in one of the twins and it was a very comfortable bed, with good pillows. We drank tropical drinks and enjoyed some phenomenal sunsets from one of the tiki huts overlooking the beach. I love this place soooooo much!!! It was a very special time of family bonding and lots of girly fun stuff. However, when those sunsets came, I really missed my honey, and I cannot wait to bring him here for a romantic visit.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor (Gulf front) units provide a better "view" of the water, but the 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have been there twice this year and have booked for twice in 2012! Love the accommodations, 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms with a great masters kitchen, a very cozy dining area and large living room and 2 flat-screen TVs to enjoy, with the patio,that has a table & 4 chairs plus umbrella and 2 lounge chairs w/ small table
with a beautiful beach view! Just a few steps from a large heated pool or the warm waters of the Gulf! Both are very relaxing and peaceful! Our kind of vacation, the staff is friendly and always available to meet any needs we might have! The richness of the beautiful flowers and foliage surrounding the Casa del Mar, reminded us of our stay in Hawaii! We have been to 32 countries and many of the most famous beach resorts in the world and the Casa del Mar in LBK is the best of the BEST!!We also like being near St.Armands Circle, fun for shopping or lunch & dinner! We love it! Thank-you to Julie & Joan for making our stay very special! Mr. Jesse & Jennifer Gonzalez

Room Tip: All the rooms seem very nice! Take a look at their web site and click on a room and the view you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.3 km away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
11.4 km away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
12.8 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.9 km away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 km away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 4621 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy beach resort amenities and beautifully appointed condominium vacation homes. A lush tropical setting directly on the turquoise Gulf of Mexico. Spacious two bedroom, two bath accommodations with great kitchens and porches and patios. Extraordinary white powder sand beach. Huge heated gulf view pool. Championship tennis courts. Natural beauty, serenity and a staff that "goes the extra mile." An island favorite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Longboat Key
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing