We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Castle Resort
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at Beach Castle #15 for 4 nights during a soccer tournament. What a lovely place! Quiet and serene. The units are basic but clean and well stocked. You have the beach on one side and the bay on the other. The pool is very nice as well. We met a couple owners and they were just delightful. Shannon, who oversees the property, is very helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kanhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The Beach Castle Resort offers a carribean vacation without taking the international flight! The condos are updated, spacious and nicely furnished. The water was a blue/green, just like the carribean! The beaches were not crowded at all during our stay because the summer is their "off season". My 2 boys (age 4 & 7) had a blast playing in the ocean, the beach and the pool. My husband and I enjoyed the beach & pool as well, but I have to say the sunsets were my very favorite - they were breathtaking! The restaurants in the area were wonderful! We also had fun cooking out on the grills that are provided at Beach Castle Resort. The staff was so helpful in every aspect of our planning our trip and while we were there! I would highly recommend the Beach Castle Resort in Longboat Key, FL!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed in Unit 22 and it was clean, comfortable and well-decorated with nice tile all over. The room colors aren't nearly as garish as they appear on the website and are actually much subtler and classy in person. Beach Castle was overall pretty nice with just a few inconveniences. The laundry area was in the next building so there was a little walk to clean your clothes. I'm used to a washer/dryer in unit, so for this reason alone will likely not rent here again. I thought it wouldn't be that big a deal but our family uses a lot of clothes, so I had to make that trek several times during our stay. We called the hot tub a cool tub, since it was always cooler than the pool. On our last day, it was fixed though so it became a non-issue later but still inconvenient during most of our stay. The clock radios were extremely cheap and the master's had only one volume with difficulty finding radio stations. The pool was not cool during the day, but slightly warm. Not what you want when it's burning up outside. The parking was pretty tight and on a gravel driveway. Given that we have a big truck, it was even more difficult for us. You can't have extended family since there's only room for one car in the parking lot when the resort is full. I can't say enough about Longboat Key and the beach here. We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and though more crowded than on other days, still not overly crowded compared to Panama City Beach standards. If only there were a washer/dryer in the unit, I would stay here again. All in all, a nice place with just a few inconveniences. On the upside, they had comfortable beds and nice amenities such as beach umbrellas, beach toys, beach cooler and 6 beach towels in the unit. Nice touches indeed!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank begrateful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Clean, nice-sized rooms, responsive office. Not luxurious but, for the price, very good accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyintheSky12
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

My Dad & I just returned from 1 and 1/2 months at Beach Castle Resort. We arrived just after the big freeze that killed the FLA tomato crop and stayed until 3/2/10. We have stayed in Longboat Key for 20 years+ and enjoyed our stay at Beach Castle quite a bit. First, let me say that the cold weather was not typical at all. Jan & Feb are usually pretty nice.

The pool area is somewhat sheltered on all sides by privacy shrubs (thereby diminishing wind) and there is a heated pool and hot tub on the bayside where we stayed. Both are well maintained and kept quite warm -- enough so that we were able to swim in the unseasonable weather this year, if it was sunny. Clean, enclosed bathroom facilities adjoin the pool & hot tub area.

Lissy is the onsite manager and was very friendly and accomodating. On Mondays, you'll speak to Suzanne & Shannon, so someone is always available. Our 2BDRM unit could sleep 6 if desired. It included kitchen facilities, was very well stocked with everything we needed, and pleasantly decorated. There was also a screened lanai overlooking a tropical garden. Each unit is individually owned and other units have bay views etc. Heat, A/C, etc. worked fine. Free laundry facilities, only steps away, proved to be a nice amenity -- no struggling with quarters. Shared charcoal grills are provided near the units.

A few steps across Gulf of Mexico Dr., at this narrow stretch of the island, are the gulfside units. Beach lounge chairs are provided for all the resort's guests. Anyone familiar with Longboat Key knows that it is a quiet, primo, almost private beach, on a very upscale island. Even after years of staying "gulfside", we really didn't miss anything by staying bayside. Another plus to the bay side at this resort is that there is a nice fishing dock and johnboats or kayaks available for all resort guests to use. You can rent power boats at the nearby marina if desired. You can also just sit and watch dolphins play in the bay. Beach Castle Resort is only about a half of a "city" block to The Centre Shops, where you can dine, get a massage or haircut, grab a paper, mail items, shop, or get computer access. However, Beach Castle's pool area is WiFi capable as are many of the units-- in case you want to stay "wired."

The local grocery, Harry's, is open late & is quite nearby for staples. They also host wine tastings. The Joan Durante Nature Center is only about 2 blks. away. It has ecotrails, a varied garden of roses and native plants, local wildlife, and a small playground for kids.
The island is a mix of mostly condos, private homes, mansions, and local businesses.
Publix is the large grocery store on the island about 5 min. away by car. Skip The Beach House for dining on the beach and head to Beach Cafe on Holmes Beach which is only a short drive past Cortez Rd. Much cleaner and very good food. They even stayed open just for us when we pulled into town about 8:30pm as they were closing. Nice people.


Beach Resorts location of bay/beach/commerce worked really well for us. If you just want to veg out on vacation and plan to always eat out, you probably could even do without a car. Everything you need is close and there is also a trolley that goes from Sarasota through Longboat and on into Holmes Beach. Do you really want to stay in crowded St. Armand's when you can very easily visit?

If nightlife is your thing and you do go downtown -- head to Marina Jack's on Sunday night. They have entertainment nightly, but 4:30-9pm Sunday features an incredible band called "Democracy" in the downstairs bar. The band is tight, the drinks and ALL AGE company are diverse & enjoyable, and the dancing is wild and participatory! What happens in Sarasota, stays in Sarasota!!! We met people from Belize and several other countries while there. Also while dining at Columbia House in St. Armands Circle, we asked a Canadian couple to join us for lunch. How fun! (This is one of our favorite restaurants in Sarasota. You HAVE to have the sangria +black bean soup & Cuban sandwich there -- reservations advised.) Also, food at the Sea Shack on Cortez has greatly improved. Try the lobster dinner for $19, I had it twice it was so good (and the martinis weren't bad either....) Marina Jack's has the best view of Sarasota Bay -- hands down. The upstairs has fine dining for special occasions but you can enjoy the view from their downstairs bar as well. There is a traveling exhibit of large sculptures installed along the waterfront, next to the mooring for luxurious yachts and dinner cruises. This is also the location for fireworks if you are in town on July 4.

From Beach Castle Resort, Disney is about 2 hrs, Ft Meyers 1.5hrs. Marie Selby Botanical Gardens is lovely and a short drive into Sarasota. There are flea markets, farmers markets, Amish pies, Mote Marine acquarium, fine dining and people watching everywhere. All in all, we didn't waste time grousing about the weather. There was plenty to do and the rest of the country had it much worse. I got my tan, go get yours -- at Beach Castle.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LucyintheSky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Property is 8 miles from St. Armand's Circle so if you want to be close to Sarasota this is not your best bet. However, if you enjoy Longboat Key this is at the quieter end and is only 4 miles to the small bridge over to Bradenton Beach. Also only 2 blocks from two decent restuarants (we enjoyed the Blue Dolphin for Breakfast and Lunch).

The property is comprised of condos and is divided by the Gulf of Mexico Drive. Our condo was on the second floor of the beachside building which has a total of 8 condos. Most seem to have a view of the beach. We never saw a security person but don't know that we needed one... The primary group of condos is on the bay side, along with the pool, hot tub and dock with boating options.

Our condo was newly redone but missing kitchen items and had lights out. The staff were helpful in resolving these issues. Couple of cleanliness issues indicates a greater need for detailed inspection prior to check in but overall was acceptable.

We enjoyed this more low - key resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Beach Castle is uniquely set on a narrow section of Longboat Key, giving you access not only to the Gulf of Mexico's BEAUTIFUL waters. But, from Beach Castle you can also access the bay and do things like fish from the dock or take a kayak or canoe out into the bay. The staff is INCREDIBLY friendly. I felt super safe there anytime I went out alone.

My favorite thing was when my husband and I took the kayak out in the bay. The water is fairly shallow and the bird life was incredible. It was so fun just paddling along. We decided to brave it and go under the bridge and out into the ocean (heading back to our Beach Castle). It was a bit scary getting through the current under the bridge (you HAVE to time this right or it's dangerous). But, we took that into consideration when we headed out. As we were kayaking out in the Gulf, we could see a school of dolphins hanging out near a fishing boat. I got super excited. We continued to paddle along and then the dolphins came over near us to investigate. At one point a couple of them swam up to our kayak and then dove down under it. I was in HEAVEN!! It was awesome!

I loved our stay at the Beach Castle. It's hard to believe that there is a place so beautiful in the US. It feel like being in the Carribean. Sunrise and sunset views were icing on the cake!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virgthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.3 km away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
18 reviews
14.4 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
9.8 km away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,754 reviews
4.1 km away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#11 of 20 in Longboat Key
81 reviews
1.3 km away
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Sands Gulf Beach Resort
#13 of 20 in Longboat Key
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Castle Resort

Property: Beach Castle Resort
Address: 5310 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Region: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the azure blue of the Southwest Florida skies, and the turquoise Gulf of Mexico waters sits Beach Castle Resort on Longboat Key. A true beach-to-bay community, Beach Castle rests on one of the narrowest points of this prestigious island allowing the community to extend from the Gulf side to the bay side – a quality few have the privilege to carry. With various locations to choose from, including Gulf front, bay front, pool and garden views – this charming resort caters to even the most discerning traveler. Equipped with spacious one-, two-, and three-bedroom options, this 21-unit condominium resort offers a laid-back appeal. Beach Castle Resort is a classic choice with amenities that cater to an array of travelers providing the perfect vacation experience. Holding a reputation on the island as one of the top accommodation options, Beach Castle Resort exudes charm and perfection that wins the hearts of all who stay here. Many of our guests return year-after-year. Economically priced, combined with exceptional furnishings and unique amenities including private beach access and a bay front fishing or boating dock, Beach Castle offers vacationers a glimpse into reminiscent days of Old Florida charm and private getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Castle Hotel Longboat Key
Beach Castle Resort Longboat Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing