We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
neverneverland95
Aldergrove, Canada

aka California, you can check in but you ---

Review of Hotel Midway
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 6, 2017
Every once in a while it pays to venture off the beaten path. In this case, the small town of Midway (HWY 3) drew us in. While checking out the town, came upon this little old country Hotel --- a 100 year old plus building next to the Kettle river. Had to check it out.Upon entering the Hotel, one steps back in time. The owners have spent the last seven plus years restoring/remodelling this "Grand Old lady" , recapturing the essence of a period gone by. The main floor: pub, restaurant and patio. Upper floor: 6 bedrooms tastefully remodelled, each room named for the period complete with a paranormal caretaker according to the owners. Lunch time --- ordered the special (burger and brew) while P had the Philly cheese steak. All homemade from scratch (owners grid their own beef and even cook the roast). Needless to say, meals were delicious and the service was down to earth.Note: this is a Phil and Ma (Monica) operation, so sit back and enjoy the surroundings as this is not "fast food" but good from the kitchen food. May take awhile from kitchen to table but well worth the wait.
Prior to leaving, had the opportunity to check out the rooms (plan to stay next visit). Rooms with queen beds tastefully remodelled plus a "bunk unit" (hostel style). Only caveat, 2 shared bathrooms between the 6 rooms. Not a problem for us but others may find sharing a deal breaker(solution: bring a bath robe or shower with a new found friend). Next time on our travels, Hotel Midway (aka California) will definitely be on the radar as a place to bed down for the evening.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
2 Queen Beds, Flatscreen TV, Free WiFi and a Great Little Kitchen
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.5 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$99
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$99
  • Lol.travel
12.3 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$120
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$99
  • Tripadvisor
    C$99
  • Priceline
13.3 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    C$129
  • Expedia.com
    C$129
22.3 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$109
23.2 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$126
  • Expedia.com
    C$126
  • Tripadvisor
    C$126
23.6 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
Booking.com
C$149
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$149
  • Vio.com
25.1 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
49.2 km from Hotel Midway
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Midway
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
8
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Pulled in to gas up and took a drive thru the Main Street of this little sleepy town and at the end of the street came upon this beauty of a Hotel. It looks real shady on the outside but we are adventurous and stopped in to see if they have some rooms for rent. There was a horse parked outside the hotel....because this is what they do in Midway. Great little country old hotel. Across the Street is a Beautiful Park Area along the Kettle River. Awesome place to wind down for the evening and take a stroll. There is also a campground along the River. The rooms are tastefully remodelled. A little small but all we need is a clean bed and hot shower. There were 2 other couples with us and we had the 6 room hotel to ourselves. The rooms are all named. There is quite the history to this Hotel that is stated on the menu of there restaurant as well. Hence, is why there is paranormal activity in the hotel states the owners. We did not experience anything during our stay but wish we did. The meals were all homemade on the menu! Delicious meal. We all had burgers. The owner even makes the hamburger buns! The owners were very personable and the service was great! We stay there Canada Day and took in the celebrations in the School grounds a short walk away. They had a little beer garden and the locals were very friendly. If this kind of Hotel is for you or if you are in the area, a must stay......much more affordable and quiet than nearby Osoyoos.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank DaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We stayed here overnight on a bike trip. 3 couples. The rooms are very nicely redone. There are two bathrooms to share with 6 rooms. The food is excellent with lots of home made meals. The owners Phil and Ma are excellent hosts. This place was one of the nicest we stayed in on our 10 day trip. A must stop if you are through that way.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K1966W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Had the best pizza ever yesterday. Monica prepares it with fresh ingredients and lots of love. One of the few original hotels and pub dating back to the early 1900's. The atmosphere is full of history.

Thanks Phil and Monica for being such great hosts.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

What a great little watering hole. We were camped across the street and couldn't help but grab a burger and a beer at this bar. Lots of fun, arrived in time for the Midway Lions Club meat draw. Didn't win but it was entertaining. The burger was delicious and the beer is cold. Locals and tourist all having a great time. Really great service.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 27, 2016

My husband and I stopped for an appy and were so pleasantly surprised. This place has a lot of charm and appeal. We ordered wings and chatted with another couple from Greenwood who were heading to Arizona for the winter. The owners were very friendly and have done a wonderful job renovating the entire hotel/pub. I was taken on a tour of the upstairs rooms and was very impressed. Clean, comfortable and with a lot of charm. The couple we visited with ordered burgers with yam fries. The buns are homemade right there, it looked very good and they said they were as good as they looked. If we are in the area again we will definitely stop for a meal and a visit. You are to be commended on the job you have done with the Hot.L. I forgot to mention the beautiful patio.

Room tip: All the rooms are good but there are fairly steep stairs. Shared bathrooms.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews