We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Backyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Backyard
House front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Backyard
House front
House back
Firepit
Deck
View of the beach from backyard
Torbay beach...a 2 minute walk
Tree garden
Garden view
Kitchen
Kitchen looking out to the Bathroom
Kitchen
Laundry room
Porch
Living Room
Living room
Lower Bathroom
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The mini 3rd bedroom upstairs
Upper Bathroom
Heritage Designation
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos int he area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
ECT Hiking Photos in the area
Single bed
ECT hiking
Single roll out bed in loft area
Main floor area
Cabot Tower
Cape Spear
Petty Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Torbay, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryChats...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Choosing this gorgeous historic cottage in Torbay was a no-brainer for 8 days in Newfoundland after looking at our options in St. John's, and we feel so lucky it was available for our trip. We traveled at the same time as several friends to listen to a series of concerts within an hour or two's drive of St. John's, and we were the envy of the group (all of whom booked in the city) when they heard we had a place to ourselves and a beautiful water view! Not to mention that there was an iceberg waiting in the bay when we arrived... a fantastic consolation prize because so many museums and attractions don't really open until June.

Everything is so near each other in this part of Newfoundland and Labrador, the few minutes out to Torbay from St. John's is nothing, and it's so quick from the airport and major routes to other towns. When we got back from a day trip, we'd often stroll down to Torbay Beach at the end of the street, just a few houses away - it amazed me that no matter how many accessible shorelines we saw, I still loved Torbay Beach the best, with Middle Beach immediately south of it a close second. Actually, we found the shoreline all along the east coast to be exceptional and were glad to be able to revisit parts of it at the end of our other journeys because they were so close to where we were staying. We even saw a moose on the Torbay Road, casually leaping down a residential stone wall onto somebody's front lawn. We wouldn't have seen that in St. John's! On our last evening, we decided on an impulse to go into the city to meet a friend for the dinner special at Rocket Bakery (cottage pie - bliss) and it took us 20 minutes from looking for our shoes to locking the car at our parking spot in front of the restaurant.

In terms of amenities, the the house has everything you need: laundry facilities, a kitchen with dishwasher and microwave, not one but two tables for dining or just setting out the day's gear, a very comfortable sofa and armchair and a TV with plenty of channels, and two cosy bedrooms upstairs. Both bathrooms have a shower, and there were plenty of towels and extra pillows in a cupboard upstairs... we could easily have come with a larger group and had everyone sleep comfortably, as I know others have done. Best of all, the window overlooking the water on the second floor is in an open area with an armchair placed conveniently opposite and a pair of binoculars handy. We didn't use the BBQ or picnic bench as we were treating ourselves to a lot of dinners out, but we did sit on the bench by the fire bowl at the bottom of the back garden to admire the stars one night when it was particularly clear.

If I get to go back to Newfoundland, I will definitely plan my trip around the availability of this lovely, peaceful cottage regardless of the season. We grew so attached to it in the time we were there that the one night we were supposed to stay at a B&B 90 minutes away, we decided after checking in and having supper that we really just wanted to wake up by the sea... and drove back again that night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review. I am really happy that you had a fantastic stay and you loved our cottage. :) Paul and Nancy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Thanks for the great review. My response to last review was actually for you. Glad all was perfect for you guys. Like I said before, makes all the hard worth it when you know people are leaving just loving the house, location and Newfoundland. Hope to see you again down the road!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth...
Truro, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Comfort&Tranquility”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It's not just the view that made my stay here enjoyable but it certainly was a major factor. The combination of a good mattress and a solid built house contributed to me waking up every morning refreshed and energized, even when a hurricane passed off shore I could not hear the wind and rain. Every amenity you might require was taken care of. St John's and the airport are only 10-15 minutes away and there is a wonderful walking trail right outside the door! If your looking for comfort, quiet and a state of Zen this is the place. There is only one thing that might be problematic to some, the ceilings are quite low so anyone over 6 ft tall might have to do a little ducking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Thanks for the great review. It was nice to meet you and your family. It really makes all the hard work worth it when you know your guest left with a "WOW" I am so glad that you loved your trip to Newfoundland and I hope we will see you again soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peto63
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“View-tastic cottage!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Torbay Cottage for 8 days, and wished we had booked longer. The house is fully renovated, clean and comfortable. It is over 100 years old, so some beams on the main floor are only 6' high. I'm over 6' tall, and it wasn't much of a problem.
From the lovely rear deck we watched whales in the bay, and never tired of the ever changing ocean view. Built on a small plateau the house offers spectacular unobstructed views of Torbay, Torbay beach, and the surrounding landscape. It is so peaceful all you can hear are the waves on Torbay beach, and a church bell on Sunday morning. It's hard to believe you are less than 10 minutes from St. John's.
The pictures on the website are pretty, but the live view will blow you away.
If you want to stay near St. John's, then don't pass up the opportunity to stay here.
We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was incredible. The house was immaculate.
Liked least: Low beams on the main floor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was nice to meet you and your wife and hopefully we will be seeing you again. We just love the back deck and the ever changing and lively ocean. Was amazing this summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaMat...
1 review
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Amazing place to stay in Newfoundland. Nothing beats waking up (and going to bed) with a view like that! Cab rides down to George street add up quick (35-40$ depending on driver) but it was perfect with our rental car! Paul and Nancy are awesome, ensuring everything was going smooth during our time in their home- always a phone call away if needed! I will definitely rent this place again and have already recommended it to family and friends! It's beautiful both inside and out

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
So glad you liked the house and the view. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing