We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderfully entertaining and informative!

We’ve been on the Molly Bawn boat tour 4 times. Our family loves the small boat and knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2020
LaurenMHeg
Forget about Elliston - If you want to see Puffins this is your trip

Incredibly close to all forms of wildlife in a fun filled tour of the coast and surrounding... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2019
Robert B
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 51 reviews
  
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
38
6
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
6
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great island small boat awesome tour bald eagles intimate experience knowledgeable guide biologist wildlife thousands stern minkes dolphins skipper coast boats wind
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 51 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Molly Bawn Great Island Whale & Puffin Tours operates a boat out of Mobile harbor on the coast of Newfoundland south of St. John's. We chose them because the maximum number allowed on their boats is 12 plus the captain and a biologist. Unlike much larger operations that take scores of tourist in large boats that includes singing group songs, Molly Bawn concentrates on the biologist's talks about the animals and their environment. Jeannine, the biologist on our boat who moved to Newfoundland after completing her graduate degree in Germany made our trip very special with the information she imparted. Captain Chris piloted the boat from island to island among the 5 Islands area and brought us close to shore to get a good look at the puffins, eagles (adult & male). On our trip we were only able have one whale sighting due to migration patterns. We'd definitely choose Molly Bawn again. We chose an early departure and our boat only had 8 passengers. Mike, who works for the operation at the dock was terrific in getting us set up and suggesting a good departure time.

Date of experience: August 2013
4  Thank viarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was exactly what I was looking for. Its not one of those big whale watching trips with 20-30 people, its a very small boat that can hold 12 people. My family of four were the only ones on it that trip. The seas were rough but this type of boat can easily handle it. We seen several whales and lots of birds. It was the puffins that were to fat from fish to fly that were everyone's favorite. Great Trip. Note - be prepared to pay cash - they do not accept credit cards.

Date of experience: July 2013
3  Thank davec653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The only way to have closer contact with the whales is if you had a wet suit! The Molly Bawn is a fishing boat, not a tourist cruise yacht. And the crew are people who love to share their love of whales with you. The ride itself is worth the (very reasonable!) price of admission. Getting right up close to humpbacks is just a whole other level of awesome. And if that's not quite enough, then throw in some puffins, murrs, and a bald eagle poised over its nest. All in all, an incredible, indelible hour and a half. You feel like an observer, not a tourist. It's an experience not to be missed.

Date of experience: July 2013
5  Thank THS35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews