We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outing”

Molly Bawn Whale & Puffin Tours
Reviewed September 11, 2015

This tour was like going out with family. Our captain was as excited about seeing the wild life as we were and enthusiastically pointed out what to look for. A minke whale, eagles, many birds. Puffins are just tiny!
This is not a big boat, expect rocking, ocean spray and wind.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank ontherideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"awesome tour"
in 3 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 4 reviews
"see whales"
in 4 reviews
"small size"
in 2 reviews
"small boat"
in 2 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 2 reviews
"passengers"
in 5 reviews
"birds"
in 15 reviews
"thousands"
in 4 reviews
"captain"
in 8 reviews
"guide"
in 14 reviews
"company"
in 3 reviews
"newfoundland"
in 6 reviews
"cruise"
in 2 reviews
"harbour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2015

Our guide, Jeannine, gave us a great tour of the Witless Bay Ecological Reserve. We finally got to see whales – a pair of humpbacks – but the really exceptional thing, compared with previous whale-watching tours we've taken? The birds ... thousands of them! We saw puffins (including a cute little chick), gannets, murres, seagulls and many more. We feared we were going to go whale-less on this trip, but the two humpbacks showed up near the end of our tour. I have yet to see a whale breach or lunge, so that's still on my wishlist, waiting to be crossed off. Still, a satisfying experience!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

The tour guide was SO knowledgeable. I believe she was a marine biologist. We saw Humpback whale, and tons of puffins, bald eagles... Not only that, the owner of the business gave us a great Local Only experience, with some great insight in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2015

My friends and I were passing through the area, hiking the East Coast Trail, and some people we met in a coffee shop recommended Molly Bawn to us as "an opportunity not to pass up".

We took these words seriously, and booked a tour. Could not be more pleased with our experience! We were lucky enough to see a few species of whales, and not to mention the massive puffin population on the island!

But thanks to Janine (sp?), we were able to learn a ton about the whales while searching for them. She was very knowledgeable and obviously loved what she does. I also appreciated the respect that Molly Bawn paid to the wildlife. We approached the whales slowly and were careful not to disturb them.

Even if we hadn't had the once in a lifetime to be curiously approached by a group of whales, the experience itself was worth the time and money. Cordial and organized staff, safe boat, and a care for the wildlife we were searching for.

Great time! I'd highly recommend it!

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank MeganTalbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Super knowledgable and friendly crew! Boating towards the puffin island felt like something out of National Geographic. And we were in a pod of humpback whales!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molly Bawn Whale & Puffin Tours also viewed

 

Been to Molly Bawn Whale & Puffin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing