We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderfully entertaining and informative!

We’ve been on the Molly Bawn boat tour 4 times. Our family loves the small boat and knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2020
LaurenMHeg
Forget about Elliston - If you want to see Puffins this is your trip

Incredibly close to all forms of wildlife in a fun filled tour of the coast and surrounding... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2019
Robert B
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
37
6
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
37
6
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2015

Our guide, Jeannine, gave us a great tour of the Witless Bay Ecological Reserve. We finally got to see whales – a pair of humpbacks – but the really exceptional thing, compared with previous whale-watching tours we've taken? The birds ... thousands of them! We saw puffins (including a cute little chick), gannets, murres, seagulls and many more. We feared we were going to go whale-less on this trip, but the two humpbacks showed up near the end of our tour. I have yet to see a whale breach or lunge, so that's still on my wishlist, waiting to be crossed off. Still, a satisfying experience!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

The tour guide was SO knowledgeable. I believe she was a marine biologist. We saw Humpback whale, and tons of puffins, bald eagles... Not only that, the owner of the business gave us a great Local Only experience, with some great insight in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

My friends and I were passing through the area, hiking the East Coast Trail, and some people we met in a coffee shop recommended Molly Bawn to us as "an opportunity not to pass up".

We took these words seriously, and booked a tour. Could not be more pleased with our experience! We were lucky enough to see a few species of whales, and not to mention the massive puffin population on the island!

But thanks to Janine (sp?), we were able to learn a ton about the whales while searching for them. She was very knowledgeable and obviously loved what she does. I also appreciated the respect that Molly Bawn paid to the wildlife. We approached the whales slowly and were careful not to disturb them.

Even if we hadn't had the once in a lifetime to be curiously approached by a group of whales, the experience itself was worth the time and money. Cordial and organized staff, safe boat, and a care for the wildlife we were searching for.

Great time! I'd highly recommend it!

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank MeganTalbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Super knowledgable and friendly crew! Boating towards the puffin island felt like something out of National Geographic. And we were in a pod of humpback whales!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

This experience was amazing, for a multitude of reasons. Our guide was a great sharer of her knowledge on the behavior both of whales and waterfowl, and could spot every appearance of the humpbacks and minkes that came into near or far view. Her love for the job was also obvious. And she kindly warned us of the hilarious danger of staring slack-jawed into the sky full of awesome birds. So neat. We encountered Mike, the company's owner, and were also blown away by his kindness and dedication to our comfort. Thank you for this part of our trip to the East Coast Trail from Arizona!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews