We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our anniversary dinner was fantastic as always!”
Review of Yellow Dog Cafe

Yellow Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Malabar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$70
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Confort food with a flair. On the river in Malabar, Florida. On the Water with a long dock for a walk after diner. Outside dining, business meetings, weddings and private parties, event space.
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We love this place! It's a 45 minute drive from Vero but it is worth it. It's our favorite place! The service, food, and atmosphere is always stellar! It doesn't matter what you get...it's going to be great!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Director of Sales at Yellow Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Yellow Dog Cafe! Happy Anniversary !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Yellow Dog Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Our son has always loved to cook. Ever since he was able to walk he has been wanting to help in the kitchen. We have let him cook with us making simple breakfast dishes. But he had the most unique experience at Yellow Dog. He was able to cook in a real restaurant with chefs who specialized in pastries as well as main dishes. The staff was incredibly patient taking the time to show him the details and letting him do many of the steps himself. He was especially excited about getting to dress like the other chefs wearing his own apron and chef hat. Our son was exposed to every aspect of the restaurant from place setting, cooking pastries, fixing main courses, desserts, and even washing dishes. He had the most fun and it has only increased his interest in cooking. It was also a joy to see our son excited about cooking. Being able to observe him was a new and great experience for us as parents. Fantastic day and we couldn't be any happier with our experience at Yellow Dog.

1  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Was told about this restaurant from a friend in Vero Beach when we were leaving. Since it was on the way we decided to stop by. So glad we did. Everyone from the hostess, server and cooks we could see in the open kitchen, were extremely nice. Our server Katie was amazing. Definitely get the onion crusted chicken and corn fritters. We will be back next time we are in that area. I did get to meet the owner as I was waiting to use the facilities. Vary nice lady. Oh and don't get me started on the desserts

Thank Baldylox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Director of Sales at Yellow Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

We are so happy you discovered Yellow Dog Cafe! Sounds like you enjoyed our menu. Thank you for your kind review. And don't be afraid to ask for your dessert to-go next time..... ( to enjoy at home) !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Our first visit. Restaurant was musty smelling and fruit flies galore! I swatted one and it remained on our table the entire meal! The second issue was a food allergy. My husband has a gluten allergy and his salad came with croutons under the salad. The waiter said the "salad person" was gone for the day and he wasn't aware how it happened. Obviously, the waiter didn't check the salad and didn't understand cross contamination. This was unfortunate because the food was good. However, bugs and gluten aren't on our dining card.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Golfer142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Director of Sales at Yellow Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

So sorry about the fruit flies! Since we are on a scenic lagoon with outdoor dining we do our best to keep our dining tables impeccable but it's not always possible especially during this hot rainy season we all are having. I'm assuming the waiter thought the croutons were our gluten free ones since we offer gluten free breads and a full gluten free menu. We are happy you did say the food was good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Have been for lunch and am always disappointed. Most of the dinners were acceptable, but nothing to get excited about. For the money, you get a much better meal at Ocean Grill in Vero Beach and to me, it is well worth the additional drive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Dog Cafe also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Indialantic, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Yellow Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing