We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Yellow Dog”
Review of Yellow Dog Cafe

Yellow Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Malabar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$70
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Confort food with a flair. On the river in Malabar, Florida. On the Water with a long dock for a walk after diner. Outside dining, business meetings, weddings and private parties, event space.
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

When you are looking for a special dinner, this is the place to go. The food is excellent and service, too.

Thank 0709ty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Yellow Dog Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

Mediocre food. Wildly overpriced! I've eaten here several times and have never had anything I felt that I could recommend. Once I ordered coconut cream pie that had such a tough crust it was inedible. A jackhammer wouldn't have helped. Today's experience was the choice of a friend celebrating a birthday otherwise I would have declined or suggested somewhere else. Three salads, two cups of coffee, two iced teas and a hot tea and the bill with tip was $90.00!!!! Two of the salads had undercooked chicken and had to be sent back. Definitely not going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susanjaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Director of Sales at Yellow Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Yes we remember your visit but you failed to mention the chef owner visited you at your table to assure you the chicken was cooked to a temp of 165-170 degree as his cooking gauge read. He happily cooked you another one and made a new salad to please you. Sorry you felt it was overpriced as your bill with tax and gratuity averaged $30 per person which I know I spend at most restaurants of quality in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We love this place! It's a 45 minute drive from Vero but it is worth it. It's our favorite place! The service, food, and atmosphere is always stellar! It doesn't matter what you get...it's going to be great!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Director of Sales at Yellow Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Yellow Dog Cafe! Happy Anniversary !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Our son has always loved to cook. Ever since he was able to walk he has been wanting to help in the kitchen. We have let him cook with us making simple breakfast dishes. But he had the most unique experience at Yellow Dog. He was able to cook in a real restaurant with chefs who specialized in pastries as well as main dishes. The staff was incredibly patient taking the time to show him the details and letting him do many of the steps himself. He was especially excited about getting to dress like the other chefs wearing his own apron and chef hat. Our son was exposed to every aspect of the restaurant from place setting, cooking pastries, fixing main courses, desserts, and even washing dishes. He had the most fun and it has only increased his interest in cooking. It was also a joy to see our son excited about cooking. Being able to observe him was a new and great experience for us as parents. Fantastic day and we couldn't be any happier with our experience at Yellow Dog.

1  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Was told about this restaurant from a friend in Vero Beach when we were leaving. Since it was on the way we decided to stop by. So glad we did. Everyone from the hostess, server and cooks we could see in the open kitchen, were extremely nice. Our server Katie was amazing. Definitely get the onion crusted chicken and corn fritters. We will be back next time we are in that area. I did get to meet the owner as I was waiting to use the facilities. Vary nice lady. Oh and don't get me started on the desserts

Thank Baldylox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, Director of Sales at Yellow Dog Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

We are so happy you discovered Yellow Dog Cafe! Sounds like you enjoyed our menu. Thank you for your kind review. And don't be afraid to ask for your dessert to-go next time..... ( to enjoy at home) !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Dog Cafe also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Indialantic, Brevard County
 

Been to Yellow Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing