We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Villas But Customer Service Lacking!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Crystal Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Crystal Shores
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, IL
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing Villas But Customer Service Lacking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The villas are beautiful, spacious, clean, and well appointed. Huge lanais, well equipped kitchens, and comfy beds add to your enjoyment. Housekeeping is very good with pleasant workers. The grounds, pools, and beach are wonderful, and Geoff was really kind and helpful daily with our beach equipment needs.
Unfortunately, the customer service was lackluster and very minimal compared to the fabulous care we received last year at Crystal Shores. Seemed everyone was just doing the basic level of service to receive their paycheck and get home to what they'd rather be doing. On the last day, of our week long stay, I was rudely confronted by a "loss prevention specialist" who demanded to see my hotel wristband...This was despite my holding 6 towels you can only get in your room/front desk...He treated me like a bag lady who traipsed in off the beach...We were not given wristbands at the beginning of our stay due to the 2012 bands not being available yet, and all six of us had walked around for a week without wristbands. All Crystal Shores personnel need to know how to confirm guest status with tact and care. All team members need to be in the loop as to whether or not wristbands have or have NOT been given to all guests, to avoid this happening to someone else.
It was my last day, and it was a bummer to be treated in such a manner.

Room Tip: Gulf front rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musthavebeachsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    107
    36
    14
    1
See reviews for
247
99
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

First time stay this past NYE 2011. Room was very nicely decorated. Strange that they didn't have any extra sheets or blankets to make up the pull out sofa. They did bring them up once requested. Two pools at this property and both very small overall. The strangest thing is that they both close at dusk. Seems ridiculous as this in not the norm for a Marriott property. Also, one of the pools have a slide but it seemed as if the slide was closed more than it was open. When it finally opened the young lady that sat up at the top of the slide sat and read a book the entire time. While she wasn't there to be a lifeguard seems like a little more attention to when the kids took turns would have been more appropriate. Check in area very strangely located off of the beaten path and not at all easy to find. Apparently this is a temporary location while they continue to expand in the future. Richard at the front desk was great and even brought out a bell cart to our car and assisted us up to our room. Better signage on how to find the check in area would be helpful. Also, strange that you walk through the pools to get to your room. All in all a nice property but not one that I would venture back to anytime soon. In all honesty the Marriott Marco Resort just up the road is a much nicer property and offers many more amenities.

Room Tip: Beach Front views are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank familyfunreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Second time to the Crystal Shores, and apart from a hugely frustrating check-in experience, we had a great time. The rooms are great for families, which is the main reason we stay here. Two bedrooms, nice kitchen and plenty of space. Went with my parents and two kids age 3 and 1. The two pools are very nice, although the water could definitely have been warmer. The waterslide could have been fun if they had let me go down with my 3 year old, but for some reason it is deemed more dangerous for him to go with me than by himself. Didn't try the restaurant, but the setting there is very nice. Short walk down to the beach for perfect sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Fairly new (1-2 years?) Marriott location directly on the beach. Modern, cosmopolitan furnishing in 2 bedroom 2 bathroom units. Very well stocked kitchens, 3 televisions. Fabulous, large balconies which have table with four chairs and 2 chaise lounges. There is another balcony off the master bedroom, also. Master bath has a shower with so many shower heads I had to turn some of them off. Two swimming pools, one with a terrific water slide...fast! At night, the pools are lit in beautiful and changing colors...lavendar, green, orange, etc...I have been there twice in the last 6 months...I really like this place.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view...some are ocean front and some are ocean side views which are still go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkJoy423305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We had a gulf front corner unit that was huge. Great kitchen and large lanais. The Marco Island beaches are beautiful. We cooked our own dinner one night and sat facing the sunset with our great wine and perfect fish. We will definitely return again. Hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilMsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Mawes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Went with 5 girlfriends for a week early November. Flew into Miami from Heathrow and then a 2 hour drive to get to Marco - it really was worth it. Travelled with an owner - whose birthday it was and she wanted to celebrate with us - thanks Sharon! Check in smooth. Apartment FANTASTIC 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms - 5 star definetely. 14th floor gulf view overlooking the long sandy white beach. Pure indulgence and spoiling.

I have visited America a couple of times but not Florida. We met some fabulous people - from all over the States - owners and visitors alike. The staff at the complex were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Lots of smiles too - makes a change from some of the places in the UK!!!

A goiod time was enjoyed by all of us. It was extremely relaxing. The complex was so clean. Bath and beach towels supplied too which was handy. The loungers by the pool very comfortable and lots of them. Apart from a couple of noisy kids coming across into the big pool not much to complain about (child's pool available too). Ate at Stilts - Marriott's inhouse restaurant for lunch a couple of times, nice food and good ambience.

Gym was hi tech ad good (we were in the next door appartment). Due to time difference and body clock not changing we were all up pretty early - and I mean early by 6am! Nightmare when only going to bed at 1am! So a quick run on the beach was a must! Quite a few runners, very peaceful and relaxing. I ran on my own and felt safe at all times here. No problems at all.

As we travelled with an owner we could use facilities at the Marriott Hotel (5 mins up on the beach). Good pizza place and bigger pool. Nice shops too!

Altogether a great experience - get a front view if you can. Understand these apartments get booked up pretty quickly and can see the attraction.

Still can't get over how big the portions are!

Only one complaint - please can you put a mirror in the 2nd bedroom!

Room Tip: Front view - gulf apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burrowsemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Being Marriott owners, we try and visit other Marriott properties, thus Marriott's Crystal Shores on Marco Island. Very nice rooms and ocean front views are spectacular. Villas are very well appointed and spacious. Lanais are huge with wicker table for four and two wicker lounges. Pools are fairly small and God forbid you use a float. Seems the owners don't like people using floats in their pool. Noodles seem to be OK. Staff is friendly and very helpful. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, oceanfront as gulf views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 13 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#5 of 13 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#16 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Crystal Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Crystal Shores

Property: Marriott's Crystal Shores
Address: 600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-5604
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Crystal Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott's Crystal Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Crystal Shores Hotel Marco Island
Marriotts Marco Island
Marriott's Crystal Shores Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing