We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
367
144
51
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
144
51
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club grotto pool tom brady activities staff marriott owners activity center ocean front across the street planned activities two bedroom villa onsite restaurant daily activities loss prevention under construction table with chairs huge balcony wrap around balcony
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with another family for the long weekend. Excellent place for all ages! The littles ones loved the water slide , the teenagers liked the walk-in pool , deck oversized board games, and the adults enjoyed the drinks and amazing views! Will certainly be coming back here.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tour727504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing Crystal Shores for your long weekend with your family & friends! We appreciate your review and do hope to see you again soon on Marco Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We stayed on the 14th floor ocean front. Can't beat the ocean view and balcony seating with typical Marriott quality. Elroy was great for leading most of the activities especially the aerobics. The other instructors were new and inexperienced. Seemed like most of the staff had trainee on their badges so I assume a lot turnover here recently. Small items would be changing the water filter for drinking fountain and staff being aware of where other bathrooms were located when the main one by the pool was being cleaned. Expansion is great as we stayed here three years ago while it was being built.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for your review and for letting us know about your visit on TripAdvisor. Our team looks forward to seeing you again soon at a Marriott Vacation Club Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

What took a while was well worth the wait. Crystal Shores is perfection with a view. Everything you could want for a beach vacation. It’s Marco so that goes without saying and now add a carefully constructed resort with great pools and sight lines to die for. Amazing passive areas with ample seating with comfort in mind. In sight restaurant Stilts is adequate but not my choice for dinner Ok for pool side snacks Suites are beautifully decorated with all the comforts of home. Insight parking 1 minute walk to the beach. Can’t wait to stay there again

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank KramSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are happy to hear your family had a wonderful time! Thank you for sharing your #vacationgreatness and for making Marriott Vacation Club a part of your travels. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Every single employee who walked by me said a sincere hello. Some stopped to talk to us. It must be a very happy place to work. That's important to me because, happy employees give a great guest experience. Plenty of pools with enough chaise lounges for all.
Our room was gorgeous, spacious, clean, private with a great view of the Gulf. Food at both restaurants were very good but pricey. Plenty of parking but we were in off-season.
They have a few opportunity areas: No bell captains to get our luggage into the lobby or even guide us. First resort I have ever stayed at where they charged you for beach chairs and umbrellas (and a very lofty price of $110 for the week for two chairs.) The booth setting up the chairs refused to take our coupon for only $10 off that the hotel provided us despite it says for chair rental? Last opportunity was the pool bar/food service was spotty. Some days there were none and some days they were there.
None of this would prevent me from another stay and I applaud the culture of service they have created here. It translated to me as I am valued.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Flyinghigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for sharing your #vacationgreatness on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your review and do hope to welcome you back soon to a Marriott Vacation Club Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Just returned from a 5-day family trip to Marco Island where we stayed at Marriott's Crystal Shores Resort. Overall, we had a good experience but likely wouldn't stay here again:

PROS:
1) Location: Crystal Shores is located on prime beachfront real estate on Marco Island. Guests need to cross a pedestrian bridge over marshy dunes to access the beach but the resort is just steps away from the gorgeous white sandy beach. From what I understand, it is only one of a very few (3 maybe?) hotels in this tourist area as most of the other palatial beachfront buildings are all private residences for locals, snowbirds or VRBO rentals. It is also worth mentioning that there are a number of restaurants within walking distance which make it very convenient to have several dining options if you aren't always wanting to cook for yourself.
2) Amenities: The resort has a lot to offer including 3 different pools, a workout facility, kids club/room, and different family oriented activities scheduled throughout the day. All of the different facilities appear to be relatively new and are well maintained and kept clean in spite of heavy guest traffic (even in the off-season).
3) Resort staff: The staff of Crystal Shores is very friendly and always willing to help with whatever a guest might need. We were especially glad that the kids club staff were able to engage our little ones to keep them entertained with activities outside of the beach/pool when the daily afternoon storms rolled in.

CONS:
1) Room location: I need to qualify that depending on the room assignment this can be either a pro or a con. In our case, our room overlooked the adjacent Hilton hotel property that was closed for renovation. Every morning we overlooked construction and dumpsters with primarily a city view. Yes, we could see the beach/gulf when we stepped far enough out on the balcony but it wasn't our primary view. Additionally, unless you are a Marriott Vacation Club Member, they are unable/unwilling to move you to a better located room (even for a cost or points with Marriott Rewards status); believe me, I tried!
2) Cost: Given con #1 above, I have a really tough time swallowing a nightly rate of $400+ however nice the room itself might have been. At the end of the day, it's a standard Marriott property -- Not a JW, not a Ritz, etc. Additionally, there is NO food or drink included in this price (not even a complimentary breakfast buffet (which are otherwise standard at many of the brand's other properties)
3) Extras: Beach chairs/umbrellas/cabanas all cost extra. When you are spending $400-$700/night why do they have to nickel and dime you for a beach chair and umbrella?

Bottom line: It is a nice resort but pricey for what it actually is. If you are set on visiting SW Florida then Marco Island and Crystal Shores is a nice option. For me personally, I'd rather spend the same $$$ and next time do an all-inclusive in Mexico where you get a nice room on the water AND don't have to worry about getting groceries or paying additional for food/drink and beach umbrellas/chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for your review, Ajay. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the senior resort management team. We do hope you your next stay with Marriott is exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews