We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne S
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cosy retreat”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely spacious barn conversion. Modern, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Very efficient heating and lovely personal touches by the owners. Tucked away location but a short drive to shops and beaches. Friendly and welcoming owners who are at hand should you need them. Very peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark E
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had the most relaxing week in this cosy and comfortable accommodation. Two good sized bedrooms, one with en-suite, a further bathroom, kitchen and living area make for a very pleasant stay. Large south facing windows make it light and airy and warm. Add in an efficient heating system and a lovely wood burner and you can curl up on the comfy sofas after a day exploring the beautiful countryside and coastline. Dog friendly but for those without 4 legged friends you will find no trace of previous pooches, the place is spotless. Well located to explore North Devon, we had a great week here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison450...
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Red Barn is exactly as advertised. Spacious contemporary and comfortable with lovely views from the large windows. All mod cons make this a great place to stay. Its very well insulated and even though the weather gave us some hail and snow we did not need to light the contemporary log fire. Our little dog loved it too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious contemporary look and feel
Liked least: nothing except the small gap in the fence our little dog found he could jump through
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAD63
somerset, uk
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

my husband and I stayed for a week at The Red Barn, Ashford. It's adjoining the owners land but far enough away for privacy.
We didn't want for anything as well kitted our. Lovely to have the wood burner when the evenings turned chilly. Very comfy sofas and beds. There is bbq which we used most evenings and enjoyed a few beers. Nice to have a dishwasher and washing machine with outside line - so no washing to do when we got home.
We went to Saunton sands 10 miles away bodyboarding most days and able to use the owner Linda's hosepipe to wash wetsuits etc.
The barn is solar powered so plenty of hot water.
We both slept very well and often had a lay in due to the peaceful location.
Lovely rental if you want to be away from the crowds
Only comment would be that it would be good to have two sun loungers rather than one

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: the roads leading to the property- locals travel very fast through the single track roads and on a couple of occasions nearly had head on collision
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing