We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beach, but no wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I really like this property, but they don't have wifi. They do have internet in the rooms and wifi on the first two floors and by the pool. However, I want to sit on my deck and read e-mails from my iPad.

They do have a pool, nice deck, hot tub and are right on the beach. I love the view of the ocean from my room. I slept with my door open every night. The sound of the waves was wonderful. A must stay place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team about the staff and the service you received.

I have great news in that we are installing WiFi in all the guest rooms at this moment and expect to be completed by the end of April.


I hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to the Melbourne area.


Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,821 - 1,827 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have stayed hre in the past, and had a good experience, so we decided to try it again. The staff was rude from the moment we got there. The "manager on duty" a young guy was rushing everyone as they were very busy with spring breakers. Our room sizes are great but the room was dusty, the floor was dirty and so was the shower. We asked if it could get cleaned again and were told someone would go and do it. Nothing was done. We then had the bathroom sink making noise all night. We told them about it and they stated that even though they could hear it and they were sorry, they didn't offer any solution. Not even a discount on the stay (we stayed fo 3 nights @180/night). The floors in the lobby were continuosly sticky and sandy for the entire 3 days we were there. The trashcans in the elevator lobby area were left full of trash overnight and into the next day. The pool was cloudy by mid-day with all the guests and the bar staff was extremely rude. My family and I go there every year but we will not be staying at this location again and we will definetly think twice before booking any other Hilton property again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriMc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding you recent stay with us.

On Behalf of our entire staff here we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at the DoubleTree Suites Melbourne Beach.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hotel that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.

Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Woke up to a few roaches this morning! Will not return to this location. Just bad from the start. Bad service, bad roaches. Seems like this place could use a little help in the management department.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neild8348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding you recent stay with us.

On Behalf of our entire staff here we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at the DoubleTree Suites Melbourne Beach.I apologize for the issue you expericenced and have reviewed this issue with our chief engineer as this in not a normal issue that comes up here at the hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hotel that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.

Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The pluses: great view, close to beach

The minuses; small suites - too small for 2 adults and two teenaged girls. Bathroom is tiny. Long waits for service at hotel bar. Towels are in short supply. Even after supplying credit card the hotel automically authorizes an additional 50 each day on top of the amount authorized on arrival. Not s lot to do for kids in Melbourne. Next time it is Cocoa Beach for us

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding you recent stay with us.

On Behalf of our entire staff here we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at the DoubleTree Suites Melbourne Beach.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hotel that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.
Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is the worst Hilton hotel I have ever stayed in. Every day you had to fight with the hotel to get towels and toilet paper, come on these are required. The ceiling had mold on it and the toilet was continually bubbling up. I feel sorry for the people at the front desk because they get the brunt of the customer's complaints and I could tell this is an issue way above them. The management of this hotel has to care before something will change. I wish I could say it was just us that had problems but we talked with other guests that were having the same issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. Avoid 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding you recent stay with us.

On Behalf of our entire staff here we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at the DoubleTree Suites Melbourne Beach.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hotel that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.

Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We recently spent four nights here then four nights in Orlando. This hotel is perfect for a family or couple. It is not 5 star luxury but it is a very good 3.5 to 4 star hotel. Try and get a room on the 3rd to 9th floor to maximize your view of the ocean. The beach in front is very clean and if you want their is a vendor you can rent chairs from. Pool area is not huge but we were alble to get seats ok for the times we went out. The front desk & breakfast staff are very pleasant but if you want to eat breakfast elsewhere there are plenty of choices. The rooms are big enough for a young family and as the other reviewers have commented, there is a living room then washroom then bedroom with a sliding door to a small deck but still cozy for two. It is not a true efficiency but you make some sandwichs or heat foods up in the microwave to save a few dollars eating out. Try eating at David's --- a 5 minute drive away.

Room Tip: either tower is fine but request a higher floor for maximum view. I believe pets stay on first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrugglingGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!



Tim Manuel
Hotel Manager
DoubleTree Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a great location! But the service was subpar for a Hilton Property. When we checked in we were told our card was declined, which shocked us. Until we called the bank and found out the clerk tried to charge our entire stay on it. We both were getting paid that evening and still had several hundread dollars in the account, but the entire bill put us over. This was a new policy they had put in place and there were no exceptions. So we transfered money over and checked in. If this was the worst that happened I could live with it. But we found the staff at the poolside bar and at the beach chair rental all very gruff and inpolite.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoachEd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
2.6 km away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
2.8 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
5.7 km away
Hilton Melbourne Rialto Place
3.5 km away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1665 N. State Route A1A, Melbourne, FL 32903 (Formerly Melbourne Suites Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $176 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront boasts a resort-style setting overlooking white sand of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Melbourne Beach hotel is conveniently located near Cocoa Beach and Space Coast attractions, with nearby family attractions such as Disney World and other Orlando theme parks for day trips. Our all-suite Melbourne, FL hotel is only 10 minutes from Melbourne International Airport (MLB), or an hour east of Orlando International (MCO). The DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront features direct oceanfront suites, perfect for business or leisure visitors alike. Guests can enjoy magnificent views from private balconies, and a range of must-have amenities including luxurious beds and bath amenities, and access to our 24-Hour Fitness Center and Business Center. Whether you are traveling on business, planning a family vacation, or having a romantic weekend getaway, our friendly, professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to Florida's Space Coast with our special, warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. We hope you choose the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Guest Suites Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Hotel Melbourne
Doubletree Hotel Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing