We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing relaxing and romantic place to stay”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had such a good time during our stay here. It was the highlight of our trip! This place offers amazing privacy, romance and service. The employees are all so nice and really make you feel at home. I require a gluten free diet and that was no problem for them- from delicious muffins at breakfast to a special treat at night I never once felt deprived of good food during my stay. The room was beautifuly decorated and incredibly comfortable. The staff was more than happy to make us dinner reservations, provide us with towels chairs and snacks for the beach and advise us on fun things to do in the area. We had an amazing time and will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary 2 years ago. Stayed one night. Exceptional place. I am not one for B&Bs because they tend to be run down, lack amenities like a nice bathroom, at least the 2 or 3 others I've stayed at. This was beautifully renovated with a great bath. We had breakfast delivered to our room and it was so delicious. We ate on our balcony and were able to get a view of the ocean/sunrise.
We did not use pool/sauna so can't comment. They do provide drinks/snacks and I think beach towels and umbrellas for guests to help themselves to, but we left in such a rush to get back to our then 6 month and nearly 2 year olds we didn't get to use these. (since we live 15mins away from the beach in Melbourne it wasn't an issue to miss the beach : )

One thing to keep in mind/draw back is that the property is NOT beachfront. There is a road between it and a public access/parking lot for the beach. Only a few of the rooms have an ocean view and the sunrise room is one. It wasn't palacial but adequate. The room was set up with flowers, chocolates, candles and wonderful music when we checked in after having dinner nearby (at Djon's which is hit or miss in our experience)

Room Tip: sunrise room is a winner, can't comment on any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deenaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have completed two nights of a planned five night stay and are absolutely delighted. Very comfortable. Just as pictured. The beach across the street. Everyone so helpful and friendly. Really don't know what more one could ask for. Quiet at night. We are very pleased and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We are in the Indian River room which is pricier, one flight up ( no elevator obviously!) but in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silota46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We only spent 1 night prior to leaving for a cruise. The facilities were beautiful and immaculately maintained. Our room was just as pictured on line. The staff was curteous and eager to help in anyway. Depite the elegant rooms the atmosphere and staff were warm and welcoming.
To our suprise, when we returned in the evening, the covers were turned down, peaceful music was playing from the DVD/CD player and there were delicious brownies waiting for us.
We loved the option of breakfast in our room which we had on our private balcony. We had the sampler plate as all the choices sounded so delicious.
I would recommend Port d'Hiver for a romantic getaway or any time you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is without doubt THE best B&B I've ever visited. One word of caution for my fellow-travellers in the UK .......... a B&B in the USA appears to be well up market from the standard B&B at home in Scotland. This is more a small hotel; a small luxury hotel. Everything about our visit was faultless. The room was exceptional. The breakfasts marvellous. The staff perfect in every way. The location great. Music playing in our room on arrival. The heated pool. I could go on. It was just sensational.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary in the Yellow Room. Our weekend getaway was extraordinary from the moment we checked in. Our hostess Val was warm and friendly and welcomed us as if we were old friends. Our room was beautiful, warm and spacious. Every staff member greeted us warmly and attended to our every need from linens to reservations. The owners Linda and Mike shared their passion for History even touring us through the different areas of the property personally. The Pink house has been lovingly restored and the entire property feels as if you are in an entirely different time in history. We relaxed and enjoyed the peace and solitude of this heavenly retreat. Breakfast was spectacular, Happy hour delightful and the luxurious amenities did not dissappoint us. We rarely left the property. We will definitely return and sample some of the other spectacular rooms at Port d'Hiver. Thank you to everyone at Port d'Hiver for inviting us into your home and making us feel like family. Our getaway was truly serene and a much needed romantic getaway.

Room Tip: It is quieter in the rooms outside of the main house due to the traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Went for our wedding anniversary..looking for a nice quiet place in Florida to get away from the kids for a few days, and boy did the Port d'Hiver deliver to the hype of 116, 5 star reviews.

The best compliment you can give to an inn like this is feeling like you are staying at a friend's house rather than a paid establishment, and this is exactly how I felt.

Beautiful grounds, attentive staff, serene, delicious food, you name it. And the staff was always there to help but far enough way to not be intrusive. Coffee and tea, AWESOME cookies, snacks, water and soft drinks available all day (complimentary) and even coolers to take them to the beach along with beach chairs. Just everything thought out for you.


So why the 4 stars (vs 5)? Well, we stayed in Ella Belle's room. Cozy (small, but beautiful). Luxurious touches everywhere. But noisy. The room is at a curve of A1A. So cars, and worse..trucks and motorcycles, slow down when they hit the curve, but then accelerate out of the curve, right in front of the room. It's worse during the day so if you were sitting on the porch reading, this could be offsetting. We tried to sleep-in and were awakened by the noise. I imagine Walter's room to be the same since it's next door and faces the same direction. Perhaps a white noise machine could help remedy this issue?

Would I hesitate staying here? No...can't wait to return, we just might try a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brownidgirloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
5.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.7 km away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.9 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Tuckaway Shores Resort
Tuckaway Shores Resort
#1 of 5 in Indialantic
294 reviews
6.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
30.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: $345 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing