We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST B&B We've Stayed (Paradise)”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had a wonderful 3-day stay in this tropical oasis. We stayed in the Mangrove Suite which was so amazing. This place in paradise exceeded our expections in every way, from a perfectly clean suite to the amazing salt-water spa pool (such a treat). The owners and the whole staff were super amazing. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Second visit to this gorgeous tranquil oasis. Superbly located, right on beach. Character abounds from the property. Staff superb, breakfast a treat. More than highly recommend. This place is the tops.

Room Tip: Website is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We're not the bed and breakfast type. We only made reservations because it was a half way stop on our road trip. We checked in at 5pm, conviently it was wine and cheese hour. A becks in my husbands hand and a glass of merlot were in our hands within minutes and we were shown the property. Our room was the most "economical" one they had. It was charming!! I would recommend a larger one if you are staying more than one night. The food was great! Breakfast was over the top. Loved the salt water pool/spa. Needless to say, we are already looking forward to our next trip there! The staff was so friendly and attentive!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

What a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing break. We loved our room (Indian River Room). We loved the beach, we loved lazing by the pool. The staff were super friendly and always helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and the nearby restaurants served great food.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Port d'Hiver for one night to celebrate our 10th anniversary. What a fantastic experience! We booked the Indian River room - I wasn't sure we would be able to book for one night only, but they had an opening that worked out for us. It was utter relaxation from the moment we arrived. The Indian River room was perfect - open, airy and Jack Johnson music playing in the background. The room has a very "Hemmingway" feel to it. The bed was awesome -- very comfortable with the softest sheets I have ever slept on. The room was very quiet - there is also a nice jacuzzi tub in this room. Great towels - soft and thick. They really thought of every detail. The best - the breakfast. We asked for our breakfast to be brought to our room and we ate it on our patio. Fantastic!! This really was the best breakfast I have ever had!

One last point - I told the owner that we were celebrating our anniversary and they offered to make our dinner reservations for us at The Fat Snook. When we got to the restaurant, they had reserved a special table for us with an anniversary card and a little gift which was a nice touch! Definitely let the folks at Port d'Hiver make your dinner reservations for you if you stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the ocean are quieter - the ocean view rooms face A1A. Have them make your d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just returned from a memorable visit here. The staff was very attentive and everyone was cheerful! Such an easy walk to the beach an they provide you with all the beach amenities you need, and that comes with your room/stay. The inn packed us a picnic lunch to take to the beach which was delicious! The beach is nice and generally low key...I don't believe there are any hotels on it, just nice beach houses and some condos. We felt very pampered by the staff and highly recommend this place. Also, there are some nice dining options close by and downtown Melbourne is a short drive.

They have earned a new repeat guest!

Room Tip: Order the breakfast sampler for breakfast..best B&B breakfast I have ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acemarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have never been inclined to go back and review anything, but our recent stay at Port d'Hiver was just that wonderful. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the Dianne room for our "babymoon." Never having stayed at a B&B before, we didn't really know what to expect, but this place blew us away with hospitality and comfort. From the moment we arrived, we felt so relaxed and pampered. The room was a little small, but it didn't bother us one bit. (I think ours was the smallest and least expensive of all the rooms.) The property is gorgeous, the staff is warm and accommodating, and the food was delicious. Totally worth the money. I hope we can go back some day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weefe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
5 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.9 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
7.7 km away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
31.8 km away
Courtyard Cocoa Beach Cape Canaveral
37.3 km away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: $374 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing