We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2015

This has been our first bed and breakfast stay, and I'm afraid that the Port d'Hiver has set the bar so high that it will never be met by anywhere else! The staff has been outstanding, the accommodations fabulous, and the amenities all encompassing! We will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2015

We spent February 1st&2nd of 2015, Superbowl weekend at Port d'Hiver in Melbourne, Florida and had the most relaxing weekend ever! We needed to get away for some rest and relaxation and we got exactly what we asked for. We have stayed at Port d'Hiver before but in different rooms. This time we stayed in The Creole Room and it was the best. We had a beautiful hot spa with flowing waterfall right outside our room. The surrounding foliage was perfectly manicured and the deck area was impeccably clean. The room even had a beautiful jacuzzi which relaxed every muscle in your body. The staff brought coffee or breakfast to your room every morning at whatever time you asked. We opted just for coffee and had breakfast in the main house. The breakfast was a culinary delight with freshly made baked goods, fresh fruits and apple smoked bacon strips and quiches and other personally made items. The staff was so friendly and courteous. They really made you feel that your every wish was their command. We have gone here once each year for the last three years but I think we're going to double up this year. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room. We could here the people walking around constantly above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

Nice property but on a very busy intersection so if your not used to road noise avoid as difficult to sleep through. House immaculately clean and well decorated although a little old fashioned for our taste. All stuff provided for the beach chairs drinks etc but you do have to lug it across that road. Only one restaurant within walking distance (which was excellent) as we were told getting a cab isn't easy. Excellent bed linen traffic noise starts around 5am, breakfast is freshly cooked but incredibly overpriced

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank qprgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portdhver, Owner at Port d'Hiver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input is invaluable to us.

As you mention, Port d¹Hiver is not directly on the beach, but instead is across the street. The very first line of our website reads, “Just across Ocean Avenue from the sparkling sea and Ocean Park rests Port d¹Hiver… “ Also, on our website under the tab “Our Location” there is a map that shows Port d¹Hiver, Ocean Avenue, the park and the beach.

We are, however, very happy though to hear that your room was >immaculately clean, breakfast fresh and the house well decorated.

As for dining, Melbourne Beach has many wonderful restaurants listed both on our website and in the Guest Information book in your room and we could not be more delighted to hear that you enjoyed an excellent dining experience while you were here! You can see all Melbourne has to offer on the map mentioned above on our website under the “Our Location” tab.

As for sound, I am sorry that you were bothered by early morning street noise. When we built the new cabana buildings and rehabilitated the historic structures we tried to anticipate this potential annoyance by installing impact glass and as many modern sound proofing techniques as possible. Since these two buildings are adjacent to Ocean Avenue they have incredible Ocean views but with that sometimes comes a little road noise. For guests who prefer super quiet accommodations, we suggest the spacious guest rooms in our South Cabana. They are furthest from the street, luxurious and very private with large shady private porches.

Again, thank you very for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

A truly wonderful experience. Our room over looked the extra large 100 degree hot tub and fountain. Our visit was during a cold spell. It is on a corner directly across from the beach nestled inside white lattice work and gorgeous landscaping. It is spotless. Staff and the owner are concerned with every individual need of their guests. Breakfast is like a 5 star restaurant and they will provide for every food concern. Wish we could have stayed for a week.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

My husband and I stayed here one night in the Creole room and we purchased the Romance package. When we walked onto the property, you simply forget where you are and could be anywhere. Beautiful grounds and an oasis. With the winding paths and fountains and layout, you are swept away by it's elegance and simplicity. When we finished the tour and walked into our room, we were surrounded by candles, rose petals on the bed and tables and bathroom, and they allowed me to use (ahead of time) a CD of our love songs that was playing for us when we walked in. For us, we were swept off of our feet with the beauty of the room and the grounds and the hearts of the staff that went out of their way to make sure we felt special and loved! This was a re-start for my husband and I. We were on acloud 9 for days following our stay. Thank you Jade, Libby, Richard and Dina (spellings?) for making our stay a great and cherished memory. We can't wait t come back! (The cookies are to die for! We dream about them hahahaha!) Love you guys! Trilby and Ricardo Saldana

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TrilbySaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. Everything was exceptional in every way. The service staff were worthy of the Ritz Carlton - very pleasant in a "down home sort" of way. Our highlight was the custom order breakfast brought to our room every morning right on time!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We had a really good time at Port D'Hiver. Everything was absolut excellent. The surroundings are wonderful and we also had a nice walk at the Melbourne Beach. Don't forget to try the outdoor pool/spa. We will definitely be back ;-)

Room Tip: Try the Mangrove Suite, it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gitte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
5.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.7 km away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.9 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
6.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
37.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: $354 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing