We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Port d'Hiver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port d'Hiver
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We knew nothing of the Select Registry Inns, or B&B really; however, our experience at Port d'Hiver was beyond all expectations. Everyone we encountered on stay was sincere, helpful, energetic, and extremely friendly. We would recommend a stay at the Port d'Hiver without hesitation. Bonus: it is right across the street from a very nice beach!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2015

My husband and I escaped from South Florida for a weekend and cannot wait to go back... this is an amazing property! Everything about the stay was incredible, the property, the service, the food, and the beach!

Room Tip: Indian River room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alliegator_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

We love staying at Select Registry Inns, and this one meets all the high standards we have come to expect. The Inn itself is just beautiful, with lush grounds hidden inside a private courtyard, beautiful amenities in the rooms, and wonderful dining experiences. They offer a tasty Happy Hour, with substantial appetizers, wine and beer. And they even offered gluten free options upon request. And the Breakfast!!! Egg casserole, French toast, bacon, and hash browns, along with fresh juice and coffee. I eat gluten free, so I passed on the potatoes and they gave me extra bacon!! Yay!! All the staff are pleasant and so accommodating and we could not have asked for a better stay. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This bed and breakfast is absolutely everything that you would expect from a b and b! It is, without a doubt, MORE than you would expect! The entire atmosphere is fun and relaxing. We have been to Port d'Hiver twice now; and I can promise that we will be back. This time we stayed in Walter's Suite in the Main House. We loved it! Spent several hours in Historic Downtown Melbourne, which was lots of fun. Everything about Port d'Hiver is just perfect. The staff (by the time we left) seemed more like friends than just acquaintances. The breakfast every morning was delicious--and different everyday. And, the wine, cheese, beer, and appetizers each afternoon at 5:00 was a wonderful time to get acquainted with the other guests. I would highly recommend Port d'Hiver to anyone who just needs/wants to get away for a nice time! You will not be disappointed!

Jim and Jane

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank janeramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

This has been our first bed and breakfast stay, and I'm afraid that the Port d'Hiver has set the bar so high that it will never be met by anywhere else! The staff has been outstanding, the accommodations fabulous, and the amenities all encompassing! We will definitely be making a return trip!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

We spent February 1st&2nd of 2015, Superbowl weekend at Port d'Hiver in Melbourne, Florida and had the most relaxing weekend ever! We needed to get away for some rest and relaxation and we got exactly what we asked for. We have stayed at Port d'Hiver before but in different rooms. This time we stayed in The Creole Room and it was the best. We had a beautiful hot spa with flowing waterfall right outside our room. The surrounding foliage was perfectly manicured and the deck area was impeccably clean. The room even had a beautiful jacuzzi which relaxed every muscle in your body. The staff brought coffee or breakfast to your room every morning at whatever time you asked. We opted just for coffee and had breakfast in the main house. The breakfast was a culinary delight with freshly made baked goods, fresh fruits and apple smoked bacon strips and quiches and other personally made items. The staff was so friendly and courteous. They really made you feel that your every wish was their command. We have gone here once each year for the last three years but I think we're going to double up this year. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room. We could here the people walking around constantly above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

Nice property but on a very busy intersection so if your not used to road noise avoid as difficult to sleep through. House immaculately clean and well decorated although a little old fashioned for our taste. All stuff provided for the beach chairs drinks etc but you do have to lug it across that road. Only one restaurant within walking distance (which was excellent) as we were told getting a cab isn't easy. Excellent bed linen traffic noise starts around 5am, breakfast is freshly cooked but incredibly overpriced

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank qprgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portdhver, Owner at Port d'Hiver, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input is invaluable to us.

As you mention, Port d¹Hiver is not directly on the beach, but instead is across the street. The very first line of our website reads, “Just across Ocean Avenue from the sparkling sea and Ocean Park rests Port d¹Hiver… “ Also, on our website under the tab “Our Location” there is a map that shows Port d¹Hiver, Ocean Avenue, the park and the beach.

We are, however, very happy though to hear that your room was >immaculately clean, breakfast fresh and the house well decorated.

As for dining, Melbourne Beach has many wonderful restaurants listed both on our website and in the Guest Information book in your room and we could not be more delighted to hear that you enjoyed an excellent dining experience while you were here! You can see all Melbourne has to offer on the map mentioned above on our website under the “Our Location” tab.

As for sound, I am sorry that you were bothered by early morning street noise. When we built the new cabana buildings and rehabilitated the historic structures we tried to anticipate this potential annoyance by installing impact glass and as many modern sound proofing techniques as possible. Since these two buildings are adjacent to Ocean Avenue they have incredible Ocean views but with that sometimes comes a little road noise. For guests who prefer super quiet accommodations, we suggest the spacious guest rooms in our South Cabana. They are furthest from the street, luxurious and very private with large shady private porches.

Again, thank you very for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne Beach
5.0 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.7 km away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
7.9 km away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
6.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
37.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port d'Hiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver

Address: 201 Ocean Ave, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951-2313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Melbourne Beach
Price Range: $354 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Port d'Hiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach
Port D'Hiver Melbourne Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing