We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were in for a conference, which had multiple venues. We hated the Sheraton on Miami Beach, which was in poor repair and unbelievably noisy throughout the night so I called Googled other hotels and, since I am a Marriott member, chose the Marquis in Miami. We had a car, so being off the beach wad not an issue.

From the receptionist to the bellman, to the restaurant staff, everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They upgraded us to a gloriously, large, beautifully appointed room, with spectacular view. The furnishings looked as though they had been Installed that day! Spotless.

We had no time to use the face,irked such as the pool or basketball court.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n_bi-coastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    328
    73
    37
    24
See reviews for
363
469
76
476
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Martin, FWI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a hotel manager myself, I can be very critical, and seldom are all my expectations exceeded as was the case in two stays at this hotel in January. It is understated and at every turn, there is a "Wow", whether it be the incredible views, the impressive facilities (fantastic fitness area, pool, full court basketball, biliards room, bowling(!), spa and great food), in the center of downtown Miami. The room service meal I had was so good, I ordered the same things on my second stay! Conference facilities are magnificent. This is a property that will set the standard for 5 star into the future, and very, very few current hotels can hold a candle to it. Service was discreet and impeccable, there when you needed it, and invisible when you did not. My late checkout and early check in was accomodated without so much as a question, The only negative about the stay was that I could not stay longer..,

Room Tip: I had a high room with an amazing bay view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I flew to florida to see the last space shuttle launch. It went off on schedule, so I had some extra time and went to Miami. The JW Marriott Marquis is amazing. Room was huge, giant floor to ceiling windows, etc. The bathroom by itself was about the same size as the "luxury" hotel I stayed at in South Beach the next day. The furnishings and decor were nicer than anything I've stayed at before, including some top of the line hotels all around the country. Great bed, I actually slept well past check out time.

Had a fun time walking to the mall and to the Mary Brickell area. Hotel is in a great location, valets were great, and the staff was fantastic. I went out to the pool area to look at the lights WELL beyond closing time, and security was right on me. They realized I was just admiring the sites and sat there and hung out with me for nearly 30 minutes.

At the time I was 31, travelling solo, spur of the moment. I got a great rate as a Marriott Rewards member, and will stay again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisbarnett01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Spent the weekend at this hotel
to attend the IMG Miami Marathon. The staff was excellent. Valet & check-in we're swift and professional. The same can be said of the great housekeepers and wait staff at the restaurants. Shout out to Melvin, our great waiter, day One.

The hotel decor was modern and contemporary. After reading previous Trip Advisor reviews, we requested a high corner, bayside room. Reception made it happen.
We had the most amazing room. Floor to ceiling windows with 360 degree views of Biscayne Bay.
The beds were divine, so comfortable, like a cloud! Huge flat screen in the main room & a another recessed flat screen tv in the mirror of the luxurious bathroom. I didn't
want to leave.

Really enjoyed the gym on floor 20. Top knotch equipment with extraordinary views. Nice touches included ice water with lemon, fresh fruit and refrigerated
eucalyptus towels. There is a very nice spa, but I just didn't have time to utilize the services. For those in a larger group, the full size basketball court, bowling alley and theatre room were awesome!

The area is the only negative. Without my spouse, I would not
walk around by myself. Bay front park and shopping were blocks away, but the area seemed on the fringe and not so nice. Area needs to be renovated. I actually think plans are underway.

As a South Floridian, I would highly
recommend this hotel for the business traveler. It's also perfect for short stays like someone taking a cruise or attending an event like we were doing.

Someone unfamiliar with Miami should stick to South Beach, Lincoln
Road, Coconut Grove,( and if you know someone), Fisher or Starr Island.
This is where the action is.

The JW hotel is in the business district.











  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

It's a fantastic brand new hotel with lots of amenities. Conveniently located to all major attractions and restaurants. The pool and fitness center was great, and i don't feel any real need to leave the property. We stayed there for 2 nights and was never so sad leaving a hotel. One quick improvement suggestion: the restaurants should provide better value-for-money food, esp. given there're lots of alternative options around.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed her last year for work (and then had to extend my stay when my flight was cancelled). I am a Marriot Platinum Elite so the hotel upgraded me to an AMAZING SUITE with 1.5 baths. it was huge. The main bathroom was huge with a large walk in shower. My "living room". The concierge clob has great views and good food. i would stay here all the time if it was not frequently so expensive . .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mabarrett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here for a conference - great conference facilities, great rooms and a fantastic basketball court. Teh conference seating is the best I've ever experienced : a mix of couches, bat tables and desks - awesome. Floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views of the bay. And the Miami Heat (apparently) shoot hoops occasionally on the court.

Room Tip: Bay facing is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biff3ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing