We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Drinks at The Mandarin Oriental-Miami” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Drinks at The Mandarin Oriental-Miami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Thought it was a great idea to go back to the most awesome hotel I've had the good fortune of staying at in the U.S.. Had a drink off the lobby outside by the water and walk path, it didn't disappoint! Caipirinha and a strawberry caipirinha were delicious as well as the generous complimentary bar snack treats. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, it's not inexpensive, it is so worth to go and have dinner at Azul or have a wonderfully made cocktail at the bar and sit outside on the balcony, it will put a smile on your face!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanKStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,581
    419
    160
    65
    47
See reviews for
399
907
107
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Ok, so special event, our 7th wedding anniversary , called ahead of time to advise reservations and asked for bubbly and strawberries upon arrival (at this point no mention by reservations that our weekend stay would be the overrun by large wedding parties and a convention).

Arrived checked in, so far so good (although I must admit the reception area is a little shabby for an MO- stains on the seats and torn/repaired leather upholstery – not what you would expect). Ordered the free daily newspapers as offered– to be delivered to the room each morning – which never arrived during our entire stay. We were escorted to the room, to find it was cramped and a little tired with a City view (at $600.00 a night expected more). No pre-ordered champagne to be found – called front desk, lots of apologies and upgraded to a junior suite – which was very nice good views over the bay and a private balcony, but at $800.00 a night it was just “ok” (single sink in the bathroom no his and hers so had to take turns). Two hours go by – still waiting on the pre-ordered bubbly and it was still a no show (so much for the surprise for the wife) , so we head down to the bar and fought our way through 500-600 guests in the reception area (get used to the $23.00 cocktails- but that’s OK it’s the MO and a special occasion). When we got back up to the room the bubbly had at last arrived.

Weather was awful for the day and half of our stay, that we cannot blame on the MO! So we spent two hours at the Spa (dropped $500.00 for a couples massage). Following day the sun came out so we swiftly head down to the much advertised pool area and beach, only to be told there was a private function and the pool was off limits to hotel guests – so although disappointed we head off to the private beach area, only to be told that was also off limits to hotel guests for a different corporate function. The F&B guy was very apologetic and agreed that it was unacceptable to turn away paying guests in favor of convention parties but it was beyond his pay-grade to do anything about it. So we headed back up to the room, called the front desk manager and complained – was told it was it unfortunate but they have to try and accommodate everyone (which clearly they weren’t able to do). Upon check out they discounted our bill by $260.00 to compensate us for the inconvenience –which was less than 10% of the total bill for a 2 night stay.

They really need to decide whether they want to cater to conventions or their guests, at an average of $1,000.00 a night the use of the pool and the beach cannot be considered an unreasonable request. As I pointed out to the duty manager surely they have an obligation when making a reservation to point out that during the stay certain facilities will not be available and to expect large crowds due to conventions. Without that warning I would maintain that they are misrepresenting their product by advertising facilities that are not available , but which they charge you for. Come on guys this is the Mandarin Oriental not a 3rd string hotel chain catering to the convention masses with little or no regard to their guests wellbeing. Bottom line – when you make a reservation call them and explicitly ask them to tell you if the any of the facilities will be unavailable. This was a very special weekend for us , money was not the issue but the quality of the stay and memory was – had we have known we would gone elsewhere that weekend. (begins with a 4 and ends with seasons).

Room Tip: Go for a suite the basic rooms are not good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Grahambda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your staying at Mandarin Oriental, Miami and for taking the time to complete our Guest Survey. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service you experienced during your recent stay. I can offer no excuses, only my assurance that we are taking corrective measures to prevent this from happening again. Future social events will be coordinated in a different manner so that it will not affect our leisure guests’ stays.

This is the first time we have had such an occurrence and I regret the inconvenience and frustration it caused you. If you could contact the Hotel Executive Office we would like to further discuss this unfortunate incident. The direct line to the Executive Office is (305) 913 8336.

Again, my sincerest apologies for the disappointing visit. I hope you will allow us another opportunity and will ensure you enjoy a delightful and seamless stay on your next visit to Mandarin Oriental, Miami.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Standard room. The staff is really helpful. Organized several meetings with clients and friends and they were all impressed and happy. The terrace bar was really a joy and did not want to leave my spot. Between meetings couldn't ask for a better place to unwind and read a newspaper calmly. Not excellent for me due to value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xobellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in one of the suites in the hotel. Great place to base our business exploits during our stay. Lots of room, calm environment and yet close enough to the heart of the city.

Staff were pleasant and friendly with beach facilities manager being exceptionally helpful.

The Sunday chill out beach party with DJ was great and a lovely way to spend the day.

A calmer way of staying in Miami than South Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUKTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here with another couple for one night before a cruise out of the port of miami. We got a nice room with a decent balcony overlooking brickell! the hotel is nice - the pool is warm and inviting and really large

the room amenities are great and the staff were all friendly and welcoming

there is always cabs waiting to go at the main entrance - we had breakfast the next morning outside - it was a little hectic and not the best service - but the food was excellent as we all ordered al a carte and didn't do the buffet.

We would definately stay there again before a cruise. You are not anywhere near south beach so if you want to go SB you will need to cab it - and traffic can be a litte annoying at times getting out of brickell into SOBE .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cormarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights & l never wanted to leave! We booked a suite arrived late and they bumped us up to the Presidential suite!!!!! OMG!!!! It was totally amazzzzing!!! All sliding glass doors over looking Key Biscayne n the Rickenbacker Causeway. A sauna, spa room with jacuzzi halogen lights overlooking the spectacular view, 3 bathrooms, hugh kitchen & master with a super duper comfy bed, separate dining room n living room all surround sounded thru out! Totallyyyy outrageous!!!! This room is $7500.00 per night (mini bar included) lol! Prime Minister's, Queen's, Michael Jackson, 'Madonna are just a few who have stayed in this room...oh yeah and me!!!! lol!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel sits on a private Island so every room is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Certified665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is an excellent choice for those traveling both on business or pleasure. The rooms are spatious, modern and decorated with top quality furniture. Staff is courteous and friendly, and the facilities are always perfectly clean and well kept. Room service was efficient with delicious food. They take care of every single detail of your stay. Congratulations

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing