We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel for a stay in Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel for a stay in Miami”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel was top class for food, bar, service and location if you want an alternative to the noise and heat and lack of space on South Beach. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, particulary the concierge team. A special mention must go to Remy and Byron in the Panorama Restaurant and Bar who made our week long stay very pleasurable. All the services and facilities were excellent and even when a local bar contravened the rules with loud music in the early hours one evening - the hotel was happy to accomodate a room move in case it happened again.
Great local shops and restaurants also but the Peruvian Ceviches in the hotel restaurant were excellent too! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: overlooking the bay/marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear LeighC,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and your comments about your experience. We will be sure to share your comments with Remy, Byron and our Concierge team. As you mentioned, are Peruvian Ceviches are incredible and some of the most popular items in our Panorama Restaurant. We hope that next time you need another getaway that you will back for a visit.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    420
    155
    72
    45
See reviews for
288
475
62
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Incredible food and beverage team and service staff. I managed a seminar and was supported by the catering and banquet teams....Hat's off in particular to Frank Ruiz and Omar and Jose as well. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Dave R,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent conference at our hotel. We are pleased that our Catering and Banquet team did such a great job and that your meeting was a success. We hope to we can be of service again at your next conference.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Miami before taking a caribbean cruise in January 2012. This hotel was perfect! We hadn't booked a bay view room, but we asked for one with view and the manager was very friendly to put us in a high floor with a side bay view. Of course it was only possible because there were rooms available, but even so, it was delicate. The room was big and had a small kitchen wich we didn't use but was fully equipped even with plates, glasses and cutlery basics. The free wifi was also good. We're from Brazil and there was a brazilian, Sergio, working there that was very helpful for us. The location is perfect, as we loved to stay in the Groove!! Many options for breakfast around in walking distance. Thanks a lot!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Luiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear AnaLuizaS,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay in Coconut Grove. We are pleased that you found the location perfect for your visit. We will be sure to share your comments with Sergio. We hope that you will be back again soon and that you can stay even longer next time.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is very nice in the lobby area. The rooms and restaurant look very modern. The meeting rooms have annoying colums in the middle, you can never the see the speaker and attendants all at one time.
It might be pleasant to have a kitchen your room if you travel with children, nevertheless, I had to unplug the fridge to be able to get some sleep. It made a terrible noise, so did the AC.
I knew Coconut grove years ago, it was a lively area, now almost all shops have moved out.
The WIFI was not working for half a day, very annoying on a business trip.

Room Tip: choose a bay view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonthemove001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Alwaysonthemove,

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continue to keep us focused on the guest experience. We have had our maintenance team address these areas to ensure the equipment is working properly. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove that we may have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Can not fault this hotel except location. If you want to see Miami then this off the track. 20-40 dollars to see south beach. If that's not concern hotel is great and local food is good too.
Will not be disappointed

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
Thank dbb0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear dbb0603,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and dining at our Panorama Restaurant. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Coconut Grove.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at Sonesta for one night after our cruise holiday and had a very good experience.

Location: This hotel is located at the heart of Coconut Groove. It is walking distance from a small shopping mall, restaurants, pharmacy etc. If you go to the shopping mall, i strongly recommend that you try the Italian Ice cream palour for very delicious ice cream

Accommodation: I booked a deluxe room but we were upgraded to a two bedroom luxury suite! The 'flat' was warm and cosy with a fully fitted kitchen and everything you can think of! I have to mention the luxury bathroom toiletries! Really nice. The views of the ocean from the veranda is breathtaking. I wish that we could stay for a couple of days extra!

The staff especially the concierge was very helpful to us. In all we had a good short stay and will recommend the hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Room with Ocean views on high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Miss Mot,

Thank you for staying with us after your cruise vacation. We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and Coconut Grove. Our bay view rooms offer an incredible view and we hope you felt as if your cruise holiday had not ended. Thank you for your comments and we hope you will be back before and after your next cruise.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove last weekend and had a blast. At first when I got in the room, I was totally unhappy considering how small it was, I quickly upgraded to a suite and was real pleased with that decision.

Room Tip: I found the regular room way too small for my taste, just 40 dollars extra I got upgrade to a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Kevens,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Coconut Grove is a great spot for a fun weekend getaway. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#18 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#43 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Property: Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133-6008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing