We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Miami
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
“A complete hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying again at the Miami Intercontinental Hotel last February 2012. I had not been there in a year and I noticed that it has gone through a major renovation, my room was totally refurnished with a great king-size bed, large flat TV and many other amenities; it is indeed a complete hotel. The great views of the Bay remain unchanged and the staff continues to provide great service 24/7.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Malvett,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. Indeed, we recently remodeled our guest suites; we are happy that you enjoyed your room and amenities, as well as the pristine views! We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Miami and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,691
    1,548
    428
    179
    105
See reviews for
1,401
1,730
259
1,534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I attended the 2011 World Spinning and Sports Conference at Hotel Intercontinental. I was incredibly impressed with reception--even though my room was not ready, they were able to accelerate the process so I could check in. The rooms are huge and spacious with nice finishes, a large closet and a mini fridge.

I really enjoyed the pool floor (5th?) outside the spa. Nice deck loungers to relax in and staff around to help rearrange chairs or move cushions.

The main restaurant, Indigo, was pricey and not great...perhaps better as a bar. I didn't appreciate a $20 club sandwich.

The conference facilities were impeccable. Ballrooms were kept clean and stocked with water (very important for a sports conference).

If you are coming to Miami on business, or just planning to stay in the hotel for a conference like I did, this is a great hotel. However, if you're planning on doing some sightseeing or hoping to lay on a beach, this is not the best choice. It's on the bay, so no sand, just concrete walkways, and it's in the financial district, so to get to any quality restaurants a car is required. There is very little within walking distance of the hotel. There is a nice grassy park next door full of palm trees, but otherwise the neighborhood is rather dull.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charity516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Charity 516,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value all feedback from our guests and are happy to hear that we met your expectations during the spinning conference. We love hosting such a high energy group. We hope to see you back at the hotel this year, you will get to see our recently renovated rooms, and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the InterContinental for Ultra Music Festival and all I can say is that I was thoroughly impressed. Arrived early for check in but the staff let us into a room early instead of waiting around. Angelica is especially extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect location, perfection hotel..I would only stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Joe G.

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here at the hotel and that Angelica provided you with exceptional service during such a fun weekend. We look forward to having you back with us soon, hopefully again before Ultra next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great location! Redone room!

And the best part is the staff - some of the most helpful in the city of Miami!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_starMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear v_starMiamiBeach,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and stay here at the hotel and that our staff made it a memorable experience. We look forward to having you back with us soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A little on the pricey end but the hotel is really good. The people are very helpful and the rooms are spacious. The location is fantastic too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest714,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that our staff and spacious accomodations made it a lovely experience for you! We look forward to having you back with us soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next stay at the InterContinental Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

At one time, the Intercontinental was the only really nice hotel in the downtown area. Over the last several years, several new hotels have been built. I had not stayed at the Intercontinental recently and was impressed. They have replaced all the soft goods, updated the bathrooms and tweaked the lobby. Definitely a contender, especially as Miami begins to have a downtown scene.

Room Tip: Views toward the port are very interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdcCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear tdcCT,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Indeed, we recently remodeled our guest rooms; I am happy to read that your InterContinental Miami experience was above and beyond your expectations. The hotel is truly a great choice to be in the middle of the Downtown Miami action. Please let us know if your travels bring back to South Florida. It would be pleasure to have you back at the InterContinental Miami and have our Concierge provide you with any planning assistance while in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Amazing lobby, great service from concierge to the restaurant. Our room was modern and had the most amazing ocean view. But the best part was our bathroom wich was huge with a wonderful shower tub, I didn't feel like getting out. We ate most of our meals at the restaurant downstairs or the cafe by the pool, the food was delicious and reasonable priced. Only thing I'd change or wish to be different is the amount of sun you get at the pool, because the surrounding buildings block it for the most part of the day. There is no self parking so paying valet is little steep. I ranked the value lower because we felt that hotel nickel and dimes you by charging for use of the gym /$15 per person/.. Which is fine for couple of days but longer stays would bother us.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room looking out on ocean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arminio R, Director of Operations at InterContinental Miami, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear AjaKing,

On behalf of the InterContinental Miami, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate and take in all the feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals, room and views of the Biscayne Bay. Please let us know if your travels bring back to South Florida. It would be pleasure to have you back at the InterContinental Miami and have our Concierge provide you with any planning assistance while in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miami

Property: InterContinental Miami
Address: 100 Chopin Plaza, Miami, FL 33131-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Shining Star Among Downtown Miami Hotels Miami is truly one of the world's most vibrant tropical playgrounds. In this stunning locale, a pulsing nightlife, brilliant white-sand beaches, and sizzling culture combine for the perfect getaway. Stay at the InterContinental Miami to savor the best of this colorful city. Our alluring downtown Miami hotel offers richly appointed accommodations and breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay. Immerse yourself in luxurious elegance - just minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables. Boasting 641 newly redecorated guest rooms and suites, we're an oasis of sophistication and world-class service. Discover this enchanting downtown Miami Florida hotel, in a magical setting: * Overlooking Biscayne Bay, in the heart of Miami, Florida * Minutes from South Beach, the Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, and Coral Gables* Only 7.5 miles from Miami International Airport (MIA)* Just 25 miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL)Indulge In Unrivaled Luxury At Our Hotel In Downtown Miami Our 34-story downtown Miami hotel provides dazzling views and spacious guest rooms and suites. Take advantage of 101,000 square feet of meeting space. Rejuvenate in our state-of-the-art fitness center and mySpa. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, this deluxe hotel in downtown Miami offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing