We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A room with a view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
burnsville, nc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Marriott, Biscayne Bay Mar 3 for one night. We were on Marriott points but were still upgraded to a fantastic room on the 30th floor. Check in was flawless, bell service was just right and the room was perfect in every sense. This is a great location--for both Miami and Miami Beach. They offer a shuttle service (free) over to Ocean Drive on Miami Beach. The Illy coffee bar in the lobby is perfect for breakfast. The entire staff acted like they were glad we were staying with them. Definitely a hotel to remember. You can dodge the sky high Miami Beach prices and still be right next door. This will be on our list of places to stay when we visit Miami again.

Room Tip: Ask for 3001 or anything that ends in "01". You will get an end room that looks right out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travele0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    995
    369
    106
    60
See reviews for
666
696
121
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The beds were very comfortable, the staff was welcoming, and the breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was delicious, but the fire alarm went off three times in the early morning hours, and, upon making it down from the 31st floor, the staff was disorganized and somewhat unapologetic. It's also in an area where there isn't a whole lot nearby. Plan on taking transit or a cab, or renting a car to see the sights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I attended a conference at the Miami Marriott at the end of February 2012. It's fairly close to the Miami Airport (about a $25-$30 cab ride). As most of the other reviews have noted, the hotel is located right on a Marina with a decent water view but there is no beach. It is very near the Port of Miami and I could see at least four cruise ships from my room.

The lobby is attractive and modern. Check in was swift and painless. I was given a room on the 19th floor facing the marina and what I assume was an apartment building or condo. The room wasn't your typical box shaped. It had and odd curved shape because of the hotel architecture. It didn't bother me. There was a nice little balcony big enough for two small chairs and a side table.

The bathroom was small, but nicely decorated and bright. The downside was that the door opened inward and nearly touched the toilet when opened. There was a combination shower/tub with a boring shower head with less than great water pressure.

A nice sized flat screen HD television was attached to the wall. Next to is was a desk with multiple connections on the wall for your computer and other electronics. There is no wireless , but an Ethernet cable is provided. The trick is, you can't access the Internet via the plug in on the wall. The real connection is a small box under the desk. Be sure and turn off your wireless on your computer or you'll have difficulty connecting.

The hotel also doesn't let you know that the room safe is located in the desk drawer and not in the closet like every other hotel you've ever been in. Fortunately, I'd read other reviewers warnings about this.

I ordered room service the first night. The Customer Care people at the Marriott are excellent. My only complaint about room service was that the menu in the obligatory Hotel Services notebook was obsolete. You were supposed to use the room service menu provided in a separate card on the desk (with higher prices). Why they simply didn't remove the outdated room service information I don't know.

The room service menu is fairly limited and pricey. But all of the items I had were well presented and tasty. The room service staff were friendly and swift.

The first night I woke up at 3 a.m. to a loud party taking place at the apartment building across from the hotel. There was loud music blaring and people shouting from a veranda. Just when I was falling asleep again, a loud speaker within the hotel blared an announcement that there had been a false fire alarm and people could return to their rooms? I hadn't heard any alarm. The announcement was made several times.

Another thing I need to note about the hotel room was that the carpet was filthy. My feet would be black on the bottom after walking around barefoot in the room. It was visibly dirty as well. Though housekeeping in general seemed fine and efficient.

The Marriott is conveniently located near a peoplemover station. It is a short ride to the nearby Bayside Shopping complex with access to great restaurants and shopping. And it's free! There is also a small shopping center in the adjacent Doubletree Hotel that includes a few restaurants and shops as well as a small grocery/liquor store. That's about all there is within walking distance and Miami definitely isn't a pedestrian friendly city.

The pool at the Marriott is very small and isn't heated. It was 82 degrees when I used it and it was freezing. There is a small bar at the pool where you can get limited food and beverage service.

I did experience a few other oddities at the Marriott. There was someone staying on my floor that seemed to be practicing the trombone several hours a day. It was fairly loud in the hallway, but fortunately I couldn't hear it in my room.

I also got stuck in the elevator one night when returning to my room. We used the intercom and were assured a building engineer would free us. In the meantime, one of the passengers forced open the door and we were able to use one of the other elevators.

There is a nice business center where you can print boarding passes for free.

Over all, the Miami Marriott was a pleasant place to stay for business.

Room Tip: Shoot for a room on the Marina side, but be wary of the apartment building noise on weekends. Upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I was in Miami at the end of February 2012 for a 3-day international conference and stayed at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay. The common complaint was that there was no Wifi in the hotel, which was very inconvenient for professional business people away from their office. And the three nights I stayed the fire alarm went off, which was really annoying. It might have been due to the renovation going on to install Wifi!?!

But besides these inconveniences, I enjoyed my stay at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay. There’s a useful coffee shop onsite called Espressamente. You can grab a quick breakfast and lunch there. However, the sandwiches at lunch are sold out quickly.

Catch is the restaurant onsite and has a nice bar and terrace with a nice view of the city.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with comfortable beds. Nice view of the boating dock but it can be noisy at night with the bridge nearby. Not ideal for light sleepers. The rooms facing the pool are quieter.

The hotel has a nice pool area with a bar which is quite convenient.

There is nothing much around the hotel except a great wine restaurant called Bin 8, which is 15 minutes away walking distance and a park by the water.

Plan $20 per cab ride to South Beach. Only 5 minutes to public transportation to downtown Miami. 30 minutes from FLL airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the area as it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtl-wasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Extremely helpful, informed, staff. Very customer-oriented. Nice rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a very nice, upscale hotel located next to a Marina (no beach). The lobby has some very cool sitting areas all decked out with lots of plug-ins so you can charge your mobile gadgets. Wi-fi is free in the lobby, but $13/day if you want it in your room. The rooms are very nice and the beds were very comfortable. However, the separator door between my room and the adjacent one was very thin. I heard my neighbor's iphone every time it rang or when his alarm would go off (at 4AM). The hotel is also connected to a small mall that has a variety of restaurants and small shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trswendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here about 6 months ago, primarily because they had a great rate, and I was comfortable with the level of service you would expect from a full service marriott. I have to say, they lived up to their promise, automatically upgrading me to a oceanview room, and comping me a couple of days of parking because of a snafu at checkin. The restaurant serves up tasty breakfasts, and offers outdoor seating. This location isn't primo for vacationers but does have not-so-bad taxi cab service to miami beach and calle ocho areas. not really a lot of nearby options for walking distances. Also, there is a full service convenience mini-mall right next door which has lots of convenience items.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an oceanview room. They'll ususally accomodate. Also asked to be comped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#39 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay

Property: Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Address: 1633 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132-1215
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#8 Family Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay Hotel Miami
Marriott Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing