We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The Doubletree is a tired corporate-style hotel in a bad location. Most problems were not huge but taken together they show a failure of good management and attention to detail. For example, the a c was noisy and rattled (after a call the rattle was ameliorated). WifI was slow and difficult to use. Our room was not ready unitl 4 pm. One day of our stay the room was not made up, despite three calls to the desk and assurances it would be. The pool elevator was shut down, and despite representations it was being fixed, there was never any sign of that. This caused guests to have to use the condo elevator from the nearby lobby, with keycards that rarely worked. The pool itself is in a canyon between towers, and gets almost no sun. The pool bar never seemed to be open.

I realize that Hilton cannot single-handedly make this area of Miami any nicer but potential guests should be aware of how lousy the area is. Our balcony view was of a trashed parking lot, an abandoned building, and construction equipment storage (and a bit of the bay behind that, hardly a consolation). Great that the hotel is along Biscayne Bay, but there is no way to walk along the bay as every property, including this one, fences or walls off the waterfront. Another example of the poor location is the art museum and science museum that are a mere one block away could not even be walked to without venturing a long circuitous way requiring crossing several busy multi-lane streets. Making it worse, the rare sidewalks were full of trash. I realize Miami makes no effort to make itself a walkable city, so this is not the fault of Hilton.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

Hotel dated, in need of a room refurb, busy shared reception area and staff were not particularly motivated. Location good, short ride to ocean drive. Not a low cost hotel but room had a low cost feel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank kevinjL4965JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Fantastic stay!!!! Not to far from the arena to catch a Heat game and right on the Bay! Nice pool and great staff! Public transportation available nearby. Various restaurants available to eat within the complex. Only stayed for one night wish our stay was longer. Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank davidlM1339LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

David,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so glad to hear you had a Fantastic Stay! We hope to have you visit again soon and stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen on a high floor with amazing view over the bay and the park (Margaret Pace Park). The living room is huge. Couches are very comfortable. There’s a nice walk-in closet in the master bedroom. Loved the kitchen.

There’s a small dining and shopping hall adjacent to the hotel/condo. I think you can find Starbucks there.

Cons: the guest bedroom is really really tiny. The guest bathroom door is half broken. Shampoo, conditioner and lotion are all in tiny bottles which are more suitable for single travelers. The TV in the living room is a little too small for the size of the living room. Valet parking is nice but pretty expensive ($30 for 4-24 hours).

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Betta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Miami. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our amazing views. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here during a conference.
Comfortable bed.
Quiet room.
Very clean hotel.
Great room service.
Nice variety of local dining places.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Local dining was not cheap
Close to Bayside in Miami

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Neillis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at DoubleTree by Hilton Grand during your conference. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed a couple nights at the Doubletree in Miami before a boarding a cruise ship. Easy 15 Uber ride from the airport. Hotel is crowded always at the front door but once you get past the front the lobby very nice and quiet. Room was large and well appointed. Shower water pressure is low (can't stand that) and the in-room coffee only had one regular coffee and two-decaf. Overall a nice stay, glad I used my Hilton points to stay here for free.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Scott,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

A few weeks ago, I was having a stressful night and I got to the hotel late. Miguel was there to greet me with a friendly smile and warm cookie. His calm positive mood really helped to improve mine, and he made everything simple and efficient. I will appreciate this tenfold as I arrived for business, and needed to be relaxed for the meeting. Thanks Miguel!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miabs_ds, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Sara,
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is our pleasure to assist guests with a friendly smile and we are very happy to hear Miguel was able to assist you.
We hope to have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#34 of 128 in Miami
3,863 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 128 in Miami
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Address: 1717 N Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132-1180
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $210 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami
Doubletree Grand Hotel Biscayne Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing