We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Malcolm H
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Great stay at the Courtyard by Marriott

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 2, 2023
We had a great experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Miami, Florida. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean, the bed was excellent for my back condition. I would definitely recommend this hotel for future stays.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANDREY DE RISIO, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area, responded to this review
Responded May 2, 2023
Dear 133malcomh,

We are delighted to have received your review. We are happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us!

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$174
  • Priceline
    C$174
  • Algotels
    C$171
  • Hampton
    C$174
1.2 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Free Wifi
Pool
Enjoy our bayfront hotel perfectly situated at Bayside and downtown Miami
C$236
  • InterContinental
    C$229
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$150
  • Priceline
    C$236
0.5 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Pool
Restaurant
C$136
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$127
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$113
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$123
0.5 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Free Wifi
Pool
C$196
  • Priceline
    C$196
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$191
  • Novotel
    C$196
1.5 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Free Wifi
Pool
C$270
  • Official Site
    C$270
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$223
  • Expedia.com
    C$270
0.8 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Free Wifi
Pool
C$201
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$201
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$151
  • Expedia.com
    C$201
2.1 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Restaurant
Room service
C$233
  • Official Site
    C$194
  • Priceline
    C$233
  • travelup.com
    C$328
1.3 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Pool
Restaurant
Gorgeous resort style airport hotel
C$152
  • Priceline
    C$152
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$143
  • Expedia.com
    C$152
8.9 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
C$217
  • Priceline
    C$259
  • Lol.travel
    C$177
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
9.2 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
C$148
C$142
  • Priceline
    C$142
  • BestWestern.com
    C$148
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$148
10.3 km from Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Miami
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
448
616
251
74
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
448
616
251
74
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole foods courtyard marriott starbucks coffee within walking distance bayside marketplace nice hotel parking garage cruise port south beach pre cruise stay people mover convenient location lobby shuttle cvs brickell ship
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2023

We spent the day/night here before catching a cruise out of Miami. It was walking distance to Bayside Marketplace or a short free train ride. (Well worth a visit for shopping and dining.) The staff were awesome. The facility was clean and inviting. The Bistro was great and there were many other dining options close by. I was very happy that they allowed us an early check-in on a Saturday morning which allowed us a chance to freshen up from an early morning flight. Be aware that their pool is under construction and sounds like it has been quite a while. They had an arrangement with a nearby hotel for pool use if needed. Another awesome plus to this hotel is that they arranged a shuttle to the cruise port for $10/person. The cruise port was super congested, so the shuttle was a lifesaver. Like most Marriott properties - this is a good one.

Room tip: Currently no pool. Shuttle service available to cruise port.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cassel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANDREY DE RISIO, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2023

Dear Cassel12,

Thank you so much for your nice review about your stay, our hotel and our staff. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2023

Stayed here 1 day before my cruise and really enjoyed it. They give you the opportunity to let them know your arrival time, which was early evening for me. When I arrived, it was like they already knew it was me. The property is walking distance to many different attractions. They offer a Pub to have a cocktail and relax without having to leave the property. They made arrangements to take a shuttle to the cruise port directly from the hotel, which I greatly appreciated. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room tip: Not too far from the airport and close to the cruise ports.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank janicemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANDREY DE RISIO, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2023

Dear janicemichelle,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a great visit and we hope you will choose us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2023 via mobile

A good location in downtown Miami. Hotel was clean as was our room. Room was nothing special, usual hotel type. There is no restaurant. Whomever designed the handicap room was not handicapped. There is not a walk-in shower but rather a bathtub and the grab bar near the toilet has a marble shelf above it making it difficult to use. Recommend for a convenient location. Rating...good.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Iralgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANDREY DE RISIO, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2023

Dear Iralgo,

We appreciate your kind words about the hotel. We are sorry our accessible room did not fully meet your needs. We do have accessible rooms with roll in showers. Next time you stay with us please let us know and we will make sure to provide one for you. Again, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2023 via mobile

First of all, the pool does not exist. There is just a big hole in the roof and it doesn’t even look like it’s being worked on. We actually had to go and pay money at another hotel to use their pool for the day. Our first room had a terrible smell to it. Luckily the front desk moved us to another room without any difficulty. There was one gentleman working the front desk (I did not get his name) seemed miserable every time I went to the lobby and was very unfriendly whenever I asked a question.The street right outside the hotel is full of homeless and smells like urine. I think there are several other better hotels to choose from in the area, especially if you want a pool to use.

Room tip: One street over has a couple good places to eat, especially the Italian restaurant.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jk0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANDREY DE RISIO, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2023

Dear Jk0511,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your candid feedback. We feel terrible that we could not fully meet your expectations during your recent visit. Our pool is undergoing renovations and we expect it to be complete within the next couple of months. We do have an arrangement with another hotel located a block away and our guests are welcome to use their facilities at no charge. We do take a lot of pride in taking great care of our guests and we are sorry we let you down. We hope that you will give us another opportunity next time you visit Miami.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2023 via mobile

This hotel gets heavy use by people the night before their cruise, as well as various tour groups. So you’d expect it to have that “wear and tear” look. We didn’t notice any. We were staying one night following disembarking our cruise early on a Sunday morning. We got to the hotel at 9:30 am, and knew that we’d have to drop off our luggage to be stored. Though the lobby was filled with groups who’d been checking out, a friendly & professional front desk person immediately waited on us and took our things. He told us the hotel had been 100% full the prior night, and couldn’t say when our room might be ready. I had booked a specific type of room - top floor, with a balcony. Waiting for those to be cleaned vs other rooms could be longer, so we said we’d be fine with any room. He gave us directions to the Bayside Market, which is a large indoor-outdoor shopping plaza. So we ambled the half mile or so over, and spent as much time as we could walking around it, people watching, boat watching, and finally got an early lunch.

At 1:00, we decided to walk back to the hotel to see what rooms might have been cleaned by then. As luck would have it, we talked with the day manager at the desk. She said that our requested type of room wasn’t available, but since we were also Marriott Bonvoy members, she could instead upgrade us to a 2 room suite. She asked if we’d mind not being on the top floor. Heck no! The suite was at the end of a hall, overlooking an area that had lots of traffic noise. But that lessened by evening, especially as this was a Sunday.

The two rooms were great. The best part was the living room with its big puffy sofa that had a large matching ottoman for two. The king bedroom also had a nice small sofa, and was decorated in a way that suggested a recent remodeling. The bed was quite comfortable for sleeping, along with two of the four pillows. Plenty of plugs and USB ports in lamps in both rooms. The only disappointment was the rather small bathroom. Though it had a nice shower, the small sink had no real counter. And the toilet was crowded between the two. But not a problem for any short stay.

Here’s the best part - and I assume the same for every room in the hotel. It has connections to about 6-7 streaming services. If you have an account with one, you can log onto it and watch the same as you would at home. Because we got into the room by 1:30, we had lots of time to kill. And we had already walked over 2 miles in the morning. So we enjoyed watching Netflix for hours, with our feet on the comfy ottoman. Went to the small New York Pizza for dinner later, as it was one of the nearest places to go to. We did remember to log out of our Netflix account before going to bed. We’d easily forget to do that in the morning, as we had to be out of the hotel by 6:00 am to catch our early flight.

In summary, the desk staff were great in handling all the people it needed to deal with, our upgraded room was wonderful, and the hotel is located well for walking to several big shopping areas. It was incredibly close to Port Miami, so we will probably stay there in the future.

Room tip: There can be a lot of traffic noise, especially on the left side of the hotel. If you have time to kill, close to a park and Bayside Market.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank M-Csala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANDREY DE RISIO, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Downtown / Brickell Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2023

Dear M-Csala,

We are thrilled to hear about your experience and we are very thankful for your time in sharing it here. We hope to see you again! THANK YOU from all of us here at the Courtyard by Marriott Miami Downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews