We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location a block away from beach. Clean, modern, good size”
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kent Hotel
Ranked #111 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location a block away from beach. Clean, modern, good size”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I loved this hotel in the centre of great night life, bars, fantastic choice of places to eat and the shopping district. You can get a bargain in some deaigner outlets or presents from one of the many giftshops. Service was brilliant room was modern and spotless would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersaz183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, Director of Sales at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the great review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    261
    222
    102
    89
See reviews for
115
306
52
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

had 4 nights here and got a friendly welcome from the guy at the desk who also organised our day trips for our stay. room was a good size with up to date decor and was good to have a fridge. the bad point was that the shower temperature was usually cold.would recommend this hotel on its location and staff.hotel was rather overpriced for spring break .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear that your shower was not working properly, the hotel itself has a new water heater that was installed less than a year ago, so we are perplexed as to why you were not receiving hot water, even though it is possible that most rooms could have been using the hot water at the same time therefore causing a shortage, it would be highly doubtful, please contact me at your earliest convenience at sales@thekenthotel.com so that we can pinpoint the room you were staying in and to see what we can do for you for the troubles you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was here for 2 nights in March 2012. I reserved a non-smoking room with two beds and got a smoking room with one bed. The Internet never worked for the 2 days I was there. Seems like it's never worked. As much as I tried to complain, they did nothing to fix things. The service is atrocious. Most of the time no one is at the reception desk (even in the middle of the day) and they do not pick up the phone. So, I guess that they even make hard for you to complain.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest, I'm sorry to hear you found the property so dissapointing, I welcome you to contact me, Eddie Nunez, directly at sales@thekenthotel.com as I would like to speak to you personally about your stay and possibly win your trust again so that you could give our hotel a second chance. We did have a weekend in March when our phone lines went down which also resulted in our internet going down as well since it is fed through the phone lines, I am almost certain this is the reason why you experienced troubles with the internet and phone lines, unfortunately there is not much that the hotel can do except to wait on AT&T to fix the issue, which was resolved on Sunday afternoon but had originally began on a Friday night. Just so you are aware the title of "Art Deco" hotel is not something marketed by us or self appointed, it was given to our hotel by the Miami Beach Historical District committee, it is mostly based on the hotel's architecture and design, which we most certainly qualify for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I am not sure how you can complain about this place. We had a first floor room on the back of the building and the only complaint i have is that you need to request room service every day. The flipside of the do not disturb sign asks for a maid which we didnt find out until about 3 days into the trip. But the guys at the front desk and the house keeping staff were very helpful when we mentioned to them that we need service/towels etc.

Also, our room key stopped working twice (most likely my own fault) but the front desk took care of it with a smile and a joke making it pretty easy.

The room is small but you don't spend much time in it and the bathroom was ok. No fan made it very hot after a shower but you got used to it.

Walls are thin, but doesn't prevent you from sleeping.

Overall very clean building and GREAT location. Will absolutely book rooms there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KeithyP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for the positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

They've done a very nice job renovating the place. For what South Beach has to offer in boutique hotels, a can definitely say this one is well worth the price by comparison.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHEAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for the honest assessment and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This place is awesome! Right in the middle of south beach only a 2 min walk to the beach. Staff were friendly, rooms were modern and quite large. Had an ipod dock which was a nice touch. Beds comfy! It's close to the main places to see. We had a car and used the hotels service which was $20 per day compared with upto $40 at parking lot next door. It's a very cool hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, we hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had a great girls weekend at the Kent hotel in South Beach. This hotel is not 5 star by any means, but the location makes up for it. We read reviews before booking and they seemed to be very mixed, but our stay was great. We stayed in one of the standard double rooms. It consisted of two double beds, flat screen TV and a mini fridge. There were no dressers to unpack our clothes in, but this was not a big deal since were were only there two nights. The room appeared to be recently updated with hard wood floors, a long counter top with mirror in the bedroom area and modern/clean decor. The bathroom was a still a little dated and did not have much counter space, but we made it work. The beds were very comfortable and we slept great when we actually decided to sleep. We did not have any issues with noise as some reviews mentioned. The elevator is a treat though. Don't stick your arm or hand in the way of the closing door because you may end up missing your extremity. The front desk staff was friendly and seemed helpful. There is no parking at the hotel, but there was a lot right next door. They charged $25 per 24hrs with unlimited in/out. We ended up parking the car and walking everywhere. The hotel is on Collins Ave, you walk one block over to Ocean Ave and a block in the opposite direction gets you to Washington Ave. There are plenty of eateries, clubs, shops, bars, etc... within walking distance. We are actually planning another weekend down in SoBe and will be reserving a room at the Kent again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zero11382, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for the great review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our establishment, three minor things I would like to add to your comments, first being the elevator, we do have an old elevator with a swinging door, your suggestion to watch your hands is a very good one, there are plans in place to upgrade the elevator, so by this time next year it will be completely renovated - regarding the bathrooms I would assume you stayed either in the first or second floor, last year we were able to renovate all of the bathrooms on the 3rd floor, and we have plans to renovate the remainder of the hotel this summer! Also the hotel itself does not have parking, but we do partner with a local Valet Parking Service which offers unlimited usage of your vehicle at cost of $20 per day, from your review it seems you parked next door which is a different Valet company, even though they are great with their service the hotel does offer a more economical option with a different provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#90 of 208 in Miami Beach
761 reviews
The Colony Hotel
#169 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,080 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#114 of 208 in Miami Beach
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Whitelaw Hotel
#70 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,513 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#125 of 208 in Miami Beach
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Property: The Kent Hotel
Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach
The Kent Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing