We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch and fraud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #64 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The tides took my pre paid reservation through Amex travel for a ocean view suite and then duped me and stuck me with. Superior room, over $200 cheaper a night, with an offer of a $100 dollar f&b credit.
This is theft.
Stay away, they will ruin your vacation within 5 minutes.
BTW, i even called that day to reconfirm and let them know the time of arrival. I did everything right, they did nothing right.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jollyorangegiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights March 2012, we where greeted by Carlos at the Rd side who helped with our luggage, who also showed us round the hotel, gave us our free cocktail as we settled in. Lovely big room lots of room for clothes even for a months stay. Nice bathroom and lovely views over South Beach. Very well located to Linclon Rd and Washington Ave. Nice small hotel get to know all the very friendly staff. The tuna wraps in the dining room to die for for lunch. Would use this hotel again for our stay in Miami.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent visit at Tides.

So nice to hear about your experience- hope to see you back here soon.

All the best,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The room was huge with a stellar view (they all have this), walk-in closet, large bathroom, and great amenities like robes, slippers and complimentary welcome drinks. Another great perk is the small and quiet pool area, tucked away from the noise, and the private beach area in which staff will set you up with loungers and umbrellas.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

So nice to hear of your experience on your recent visit to South Beach and Tides.

Hope to see you back here soon.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have stayed at the Tides on several occasions and always, always have had a marvelous time. Last trip included a special dinner party for 12 and the food & service was great. Also, you can beat being on South Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBNGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Nice to hear about your recent visit and experience at Tides.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We really want to really like this hotel, because we love the location and have stayed here before the acquisition, when the staff was impeccable. I'm afraid to say this last stay had some very discouraging interactions with the food and beverage crew. We brought the matter to management's attention and they responded as they should, so I won't repeat the story here. We'll give them another go the next time we're in South Beach, but I would not stay here next week unless I was assured the pool crew had been replaced and the outside lobby server had been booted down Ocean Drive never to return.

I also wish they could divert some cold air from their deep freeze hallways into the guest rooms, as they never do reach a cool temp.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry to hear about the lack of attentive and gracious service from our food and beverage staff and pool team.

We have recently and urgently addressed our staffing concerns and training of the front of house to improve our guest service.

Once again, very sorry for your inconveniences.

Regards,

mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Hotel is beautiful. It sits on Ocean Drive, a beautiful grand dame of art deco. Too bad the service doesn't live up to the hotel. Front desk staff was very nice at all times, the restaurant staff was another story. They act like you are lucky to get service and very poor service it was!
The hotel should have a better team, it deserves it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent stay with us,

Our sincerest apologies for the lack of attentiveness, graciousess and friendliness from our staff. This is embarrassing and not indicative of the service you deserve.

We will use these comments as part of a retraining to all staff to ensure we provide the experience you and other guests deserve.

Once again, our deepest apologies.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've stayed at many of the large hotels on South Beach (Delano, W, Fountainblue) and thought it would be nice to try something a bit more quaint. Unfortunatly, this was not only the worst place i've stayed on South Beach but probably one of the worst hotels i've stayed at anywhere. Everything from the restaurant service at the hotel, to the room to the front desk service were awful. It is extremely noisy and the staff is very rude. WARNING: DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zoenicole819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced on your recent visit to The Tides South Beach.

There is never an excuse for poor service and guest inconvenience and frankly, I am embarrassed. I assure you that this experience is not indicative of the service philosophy we champion at The Tides and certainly not representative of the style we have become famous for over the years.

It is extremely disconcerting to us when we learn one of our valued customers has had an unpleasant experience. We work diligently each day to build a service culture, responsive to the individual needs of our guests. It is obvious that on this occasion we have failed to accomplish our goal. I would like to extend my apologies for the poor service which you experienced throughout your stay. ,

We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by offering you the level of service which you, as an esteemed guest of The Tides expect and deserve. I hope that you will give us another chance during your next visit to Miami so that we may show you that we are indeed committed to providing service that is unparalleled.

Regards,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,649 reviews
Hotel Victor
#87 of 212 in Miami Beach
962 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
572 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,946 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $433 - $888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing