We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to wedding cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #68 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I started our wedding cruise with a one night rest at the tides. The hotel is amazing. The staff were wonderful and we couldnt have been happier. The hotel sits right across from south beach. 3 min you are on beach. The hotel is situated right among some hot spots on south beach and great for walking up and down the strip. The patio is a great place to grab a drink, a bite to eat or people watch.

Our suite was huge , decorated very nice and and tub was the a perfect way to relax the stresses of the day. Breakfast with warm carrot muffins and strong coffee made a great start to the day.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking south beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

So nice we can be part of your vacation and the beginning of your cruise.

Glad you had a wonderful experience with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Excellent Hotel! Stayed 1 night in March. Room was huge, clean and beautiful view. Breakfast out front was very nice. Great Location!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Great to hear about your recent stay with us.

Hope to see you soon on your next trip to miami beach.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

okay so i stayed here for 7 days. ive gotta say the rooms are big, clean and nice but a bit old. one of the thigns i didnt like was the fact how thin the walls are. i could hear what people did in the hallways and of course outside. the street outside is very loud btw. the restaurant is okay, especially compared to the other spots on ocean drive. the staff at the restaurant is nice but soooo not proffesional. we had a waiter that spilled juice all over our table, a waitress that mixed our orders and then brought us a check that included food that we wanted to order but was not available. a bit frustraiting...some of the people at teh reception are nice and some are not... the swimming pool is small and needs to be cleaned...
basically it was an "okay "experience but for 560$+80$ tax, i expected something more...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent visit to Tides.

My apologies for the excessive noise from inside and outside the hotel, the inconsistent and lack of attentiveness of the restaurant and front desk staff and the lack of cleanliness of the pool. There is never an excuse for these inconveniences, I am sorry.

Please note, we take these comments very seriously, cnosequently, we are in the process of strategizing a refresh of the room product, pool venue, restaurant / terrace furniture, as well as, a complete retraining of the service staff to enhance the guest experience.

Once again, sorry for the inconveniences. If you would like to connect and discuss your stay in more depth, please feel free to reach me at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Huge rooms. Great location. Awesome, beautifully detailed art deco/20s California interior design. Great food and drinks. Even the coffee is the best there is. I would fly to Miami just to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cup0j0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review of the Hotel, glad to hear that you had such a wonderful visit with us.

Hope to see you soon at the Tides.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We booked a Signature Studio Suite. The room was comfortable. Great view over South Beach, and the location is terrific, right in the middle of the action. The pool space is great, but relatively enclosed, which is good for those who like some privacy. The bar is slow and surprisingly the drinks are not very good, small pours and weak cocktails...not like the rest of South Beach. The breakfast was great, the coffee is really good, unlike most of the US.

The hotel has a really nice feel, very luxurious in a modern groovy way, but the front desk staff were very aloof, almost unfriendly and unhelpful. The front doorman was terrific however.

I would stay here again, many more positives than negatives. It wasn't one of theses places where you thought you can't wait to return though. We went and checked out the Betsy, which is another option.

Room Tip: Upper levels to escape some of the noise , but then again thats what you are in this location for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drswoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to South Beach and Tides.

I am very sorry to hear about the lack of attentiveness from the cocktail server and front desk staff, and the lack of tastiness of the drinks.

We are currently undergoing a retraining on service standards with all front of house staff. Hope to see you back here soon and for you to experience an enhanced service levels.

Sincerely,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The tides took my pre paid reservation through Amex travel for a ocean view suite and then duped me and stuck me with. Superior room, over $200 cheaper a night, with an offer of a $100 dollar f&b credit.
This is theft.
Stay away, they will ruin your vacation within 5 minutes.
BTW, i even called that day to reconfirm and let them know the time of arrival. I did everything right, they did nothing right.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jollyorangegiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights March 2012, we where greeted by Carlos at the Rd side who helped with our luggage, who also showed us round the hotel, gave us our free cocktail as we settled in. Lovely big room lots of room for clothes even for a months stay. Nice bathroom and lovely views over South Beach. Very well located to Linclon Rd and Washington Ave. Nice small hotel get to know all the very friendly staff. The tuna wraps in the dining room to die for for lunch. Would use this hotel again for our stay in Miami.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent visit at Tides.

So nice to hear about your experience- hope to see you back here soon.

All the best,

Mathew Pargament
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
566 reviews
Hotel Victor
#85 of 212 in Miami Beach
959 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Cavalier South Beach
#69 of 212 in Miami Beach
178 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $414 - $1,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach
The Tides South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing