We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #29 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
cagliari
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the first week of december 2011 and I would like to express my total satisfaction both for the hotel and the staff, professional e corteous. Particularly I would like to praise the cuisine, and a special mention to the Chef Andrea for his kindness, professionalism and great detail in the preparation and presentation of his dishes to the guests. I would suggest this hotel to everybody, perfect service and location

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    331
    90
    31
    31
See reviews for
78
617
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washignton DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was very disappointed with Pelican Hotel. While I anticipated that the noise level on Ocean Drive at night would be high, I did not count on hot water pipes starting to vibrate at 4am, making terrible noise for a good half hour. The staff appeared completely baffled by the problem, and the noise continued until I figured out a way to make it stop (flushing the toilet while letting the hot water run to the fullest did the trick). The staff did offer to move us to another room, but I had no assurances that the noise would not be heard there as well.
That was the first night of our stay. On the third night the hotel owner, Diesel, organized a party on the roof of the hotel, which involved extremely loud music and what appeared like hundreds of people stomping right on our heads (we were on the third floor). It was awful.

In addition, the bathroom, while very retro, was extremely unpleasant. The drain in the shower basin was not located in the lowest part of the basin, so you were always standing in dirty water while showering.

Also, I believe it behooves the owners of Pelican to invest in central air conditioning. Window units just aren't that sexy, not even for a retro property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kusatzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Went to Miami Beach with hubby to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, we stayed at the Pelican Hotel and we couldn't choose better! Liked the style, perfect location for us, the room was great, the service impeccable and the food at the restaurant excellent! I am intolerant to gluten and was looked after in the best and kindest way possible. Thanks to Federico, restaurant manager, Igor and the guys at the bar for the nice time we had in the evening. Also, thanks to Martina for making the best Cappuccino in the morning! Thank you to Mentore who's been very professional, helpful (in many situations) and nice since the day we called the hotel to make the booking. Lupe Castillo (General Manager) seemed to manage the whole place with class and grace - every single person in there had a constant genuine smile on the face.
We wish all of you a FANTASTIC 2012 and we hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Executive Sixties - spacious and with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

There are far fancier hotels in South Beach, but I will stay at the Pelican every time. The hotel, owned by the Italian fashion house Diesel, is eclectic and cool. The location on Ocean Drive is perfect for enjoying the beach, bars and restaurants.
Although you can't request a specific room on the Pelican's website, you can call the hotel directly and ask to reserve your favorite room. We were fortunate enough, on two separate occasions, to get the room that we had requested. Upon check-in, you are warmly welcomed by the front desk. The lobby area is small but is perfectly suited for check-in/out. If you want to lounge and people watch, take a few steps to the outside cafe. The rooms are outfitted with garage sale, antique shop and flea market finds. Instead of looking shabby, the decor gives new meaning to one man's trash is another man's treasure. The bathrooms are stocked with C. O. Bigelow products and outfitted with a rainfall showerhead. The hotel also offers beach service, you will be provided with beach towels, lounges and umbrellas all free of charge; however, tips are appreciated. The only negative is access to the hotel. Unless there is a secret door that I haven’t found, you have to walk through the cafe to get to the elevators to the room. This means that, after a day of fun on the beach, you'll need to walk through the cafe in swimsuit and/or coverup to get back to your room. Not a big issue, but I feel important enough to mention.
I enjoy the food and people watching at the cafe very much and, with the exception of dinner at Wish, I usually dine there. I recommend the calamari, banana smoothie and goat cheese pizza. All in all, a good room, with good service, good food, good price at a great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinaMePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I have just returned from staying at the pelican hotel in ocean drive miami. The hotel is in the best location possible on south beach all lit up in neon green at night which looks superb. On arrival there is house music blasting from everywhere which was fitting for miami south beach, you walk in via the restaurant / patio which was busy to the hotel reception . The hotel is owned and run by diesel jeans company which is quite cool also . All rooms are boutique style and totally individual with bizarre 50s -60s style finishings and the best showers ever . The hotel charges a $250 to your card on arrival for damage etc which is returnable on departure which i was wary about and they also charge $250 if you smoke in the room to clean up the smell although there are fitted and very used ashtrays in the bathrooms??? But the hotel is amazing and i would definitely return!

Good points are location, music, party atmosphere, excellent friendly staff, free wifi, free superb beach loungers with free towels, retro feel rooms etc.

Bad points are $8 dollars a budwieser with 18% tip added to everything you buy all drinks are expensive but hey its south beach and thats the norm!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dunalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We were looking for a hotel which wasn't luxury ,slighty dated, kitted out with character fittings of the art decor and 1950s americana periods and this hotel really delivered.
Our room was kitted out with a1950s ceiling fan which sounded like a Zepplin airship passing over, totally impractical 1950s bathroom and lighting fittings and a shocking bright lime green color scheme.BRILLIANT.
Coupled with a great location on Ocean Drive in the middle of the art deco district this hotel was a perfect choice for our short break in South Beach.

Room Tip: all rooms a different theme and a very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORLI'
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Introduction: whenever we go to Miami, my husband and I stay at the Pelican. He's in love with this hotel since the first time he came more than 15 years ago. For the first time we had an executive room with a very nice ocean view. The room (the thirties theme) is very wide, nice wood floors instead of the horrible and dirty carpet that you usually find in other hotels. Nevertheless, I have the same complaints as others reviewers had: the bathroom clearly smelled of smoke and yes, there is ashtray that's obiously a temptation to those who smoke. Second: the toilet. I understand this is the art deco district, a vintage hotel and so on but a scretched and damaged toilet (as if it was always dirty) is not vintage or retro style, it's shabby and I don't accept it in a so expensive hotel. Toilets should be immaculate. Third: the wood floor was sticky, I don't know what kind of cleaner they use. Fourth: the bed has plastic-covered matress that gives a sensation of being wrapped in latex, really unpleasant. And finally yes, techno music is a bit annoying at 2 pm, we didn't expect monastery silence but maybe some more silenced rooms?
But but but Pelican is Pelican and we'll come back, maybe in a room on the back, less expensive and noisy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,028 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,227 reviews
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,279 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
454 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing