We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pelican Hotel Review”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #34 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pelican Hotel Review”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. They were courteous and professional. The location of the hotel is wonderful as it sits directly across the street from the beach, and is close to a nice shopping area that runs parallel to the street the hotel sits on.

The room we stayed in was called Viva Las Vegas: Very kitschy in my opinion. The bed felt like a futon, very hard, very flat. The linnens were clean and you could feel that the quality of the linenes and towels were good. The futon like feel of the bed made it very uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean, no frills "industrial type" shower. The most disappointing was when I pulled out a drawer a saw a cockroach! BIG TURNOFF! Would I stay at this hotel again? Not likely. It did not have the "luxury feel" to it that I would have liked. Again, I need to stress that the staff was very nice and professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    334
    94
    32
    31
See reviews for
79
623
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights in the "Birth of the Bubbles" room - it was amazing! We were slightly concerned before arriving due to some reviews about the noise level at the hotel - we didn't have any issues at all, although we did stay here mid week. The room was lovely: wooden floors, large comfy bed and fabulous bathroom. Everything was vintage: the bedside lamps, the kit kat clock, the massive ceiling fan (be warned, this should be used just for show as it was super powerful - the air conditioning is sufficient) and the bathroom units. The airconditioning was completely silent. The shower was wonderfully powerful and the bathroom toiletries were sublime. There is an ipod docking station in the room and a tv with a good selection of channels.

The bar at the hotel was fabulous and we ended up staying here most of the time. The hotel offers a "happy hour" between 4pm and 6pm everyday (yes, even on a Friday!) and this meant free drinks during this time. The only drinks excluded were the crazy Bull Dogs (a cocktail supplemented by two Coronoas!). We must have saved hundreds of dollars utilising this offer. The breakfast and lunch menus were lovely - the eggs benetics is worth trying!

It was a fabulous place for people watching!

There is valet parking available at $22 per day. You had to give about 20 minutes notice to collect your car, but we didn't have any issues with this and there was always space to park outside to drop off the car.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

In terms of location, it is directly across from Lumus Park and less and 3 minutes from the beach. There is a refreshments hut at the beach where you can get towels and a free lounger. The beach is wonderful!

This hotel is also an original Art Deco hotel and the Diesel touch has perfectly blended this timeless chic with modern amenities. A must for your Miami Beach visit!!

Room Tip: You won't usually be able to choose your own room, but the Birth of the Bubbles was divine! Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Omg!!!!! The best place to stay in Miami!!! It's on ocean, the rooms are a nice size and the staff is amazing!!!! The Irish bartender is the best!!! (sorry I forget his name) and the manager Richard is the best!! Again this is the only place to stay on Miami!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyReneaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful first stay in South Beach. The staff were wonderful, and I was so impressed how we couldn't hear the happenings on Ocean Drive. The room we stayed in was unique and clean.

My only complaint is that the cleaning staff was noisy in the morning, and woke us before 8am both mornings; the doors could do with some sound-proofing. Would still highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived at the hotel for a 3 night stay after 4 weeks of back packing in south america. I loved the hotel, the decor was beautifull, art deco and each room has its own theme. Perfect spot of luxury after staying in hostals and at a reasonable price. we stayed in the 'Some like it Wet' twin room. the room was clean and well equiped, TV, ipod dock, waterfall shower. The hotel also offers complimentary drinks each day between 4-6. I recomend the chocolate martini, Delicious! the hotel was a perfect stop for 2 young travellers, the restaurant had excellent good priced food, was just across the road from the beach and 5 minutes walk from all the action on collins and washington avenue. was also impressed that you also recieved beach towel and sun bed hire through the hotel, as to hire a bed on the ebach is $12 per day. Highly recomend for this hotel for young travellers and couples. perhaps not for families with children though as the hotel gets quite lively on the night. staff were alse very helpful and pleasant, provided us directions and info on things to do in the area. :-)

tip: have a look at the rooms before you book as the hotel will ask which room you would prefer to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blairokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stylish, good service, something special
not luxuary but something special

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capetown98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Everything at the hotel was wonderful. The bed was hard that is the only complaint I have. The rooms are clean and each a different clever design. The hotel staff is amazing. Helpful and friendly and willing to help you find any place your looking for and accommodate your needs. Not to mention they are just cool people. I also absolutely loved the showroom in my room. It was perfect after a day at the beach.
The restaurant was fabulous as well. The staff is friendly and helpful and all of them are pretty easy on the eyes. Brianna the bar tender was amazing. Whipping up fabulous drinks with a smile and girl next door humor. The managers of the restaurant Giuseppe and Richard were very nice. None of that fake friendly crap just nice guys. All in all the stay was amazing and the pelican is the place I will call home in Miami beach. :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany5957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,046 reviews
0.6 km away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,259 reviews
0.2 km away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
468 reviews
0.2 km away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,297 reviews
0.6 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing