We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were down there in December 11 for a couple of days, and we had a great stay at Mondrian. We actually liked the fact that the hotel was away from the crowd. It was very relaxing vacation for us. The Mondrian pool was def better than ones from other hotels and the service was also very good. However, the hotel ended messing up our bill and charged us twice for our stay so it was a bit of headache to straighten out the payment issue. But otherwise, it was a very satisfying stay and we are actually going back in May! Very looking forward to it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you. We're glad your experience in December will bring you back in May thanks in part to our service and location. We apologize for the mistake in billing and hope everything has been corrected to your satisfaction. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    718
    262
    115
    84
See reviews for
388
1,226
177
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the Mondrian for a girls Miami weekend. It could not have been more perfect. Hotel was very clean and modern. Hallways and the rooms were a little dark. Room was spacious with a kitchenette. The hotel is a few blocks away from a Whole Foods, so the refrigerator in the room came in handy to store our snacks and water. The beds are incredibly comfy but pretty small, definitely not queens. Had a wonderful balcony with an amazing view of the Bay. Great for a drink or two before dinner. We spent both Saturday and Sunday at the pool and simply had an amazing time. David - the cabana/pool coordinator is wonderful. He made sure that we did not have a worry the entire time we were there. Loved that the pool had continuous sun from the morning into the late afternoon. Only complaint about the pool was the quality of the pool food. Not up to par. I would recommend taking a break from sunning to eat lunch at Asia de Cuba. Their calamari/banana salad and chicken salad w/ pineapple/truffle dressing were just what we needed on a hot day!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and splurge for a Bay view with a balcony - definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and this review. We're delighted you had a perfect stay thanks to the room, the service and the weather. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I love the Mondrian and have been staying here regularly for several years. The staff is always extremely welcoming and the service is pitch perfect. Nicole always makes a point of saying hi and welcoming me back. I love the location near the best Miami Beach has to offer but away from all the craziness of South Beach. Being on the bay gives you access to everything and the best views in Miami - Seriously. There is nothing nicer than sitting out on the balcony at sunset. The kitchenettes are helpful and the proximity to Whole Foods lets you stock the place for your visit. The rooms are always immaculate and the beds are really comfortable. I love this place!

Room Tip: Get a high floor Bay Front Studio with Balcony. The 22 numbered rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you William. We're happy to be your home on West Avenue. Here's to many happy returns.

Best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our third trip to Miami South Beach Area, and we have finally found a place we will be returning to again and again!
Very trendy, upscale, staff was amazing. Hotel was clean. Jose, and Ebony at the front desk were welcoming and very accomodating to ALL of our requests. We enjoyed our stay so much that we already booked a return trip.
The food was great whether at the pool, in the restaurant or at the bar. I would highly recomment this hotel for both families, couples, and singles as they have everything from a studio to two bedroom with kitchenette.
Five stars! and hats off to a well managed establishment!

Room Tip: bay view is worth the extra money, you get stunning sunsets from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klembones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for this great review and welcome to the Mondrian family. We look forward to many happy returns.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Rooms are uncomfortable. Too contemporary. I love contemporary but these are cold and no coziness or warmth.

Overall nice stay. Very expensive though.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for this review. While we are happy you enjoyed your overall stay and found our service to be very good, we apologize that you did not enjoy the design of our rooms but hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I came here for a long weekend for our anniversary. Loved the service! Very edgy and modern decor, some of it bordering on overly edgy (like the large painting on the wall in our room of a young girl's head, which is staring right at your bed). But all fun. Two things to be aware of: like most luxury hotels, they charge for every little thing (no real surprise), and the pool on the weekends is not the place to be unless you're 20 or 30-something. Loud thumpy House music played by a DJ without stop, nobody over 35, lots of singles, lots of celebrities of that age (the Jonas brothers, a player from the Miami Heat, and another musician were all there on Sat. Of our weekend...I didn't know who they were, but the young girl next to me told me). So old farts like me may want to do something else those days. Maybe. A plus: there is a Whole Foods across the street, and most rooms have a kitchenette.

Room Tip: Get a room up high, if you can, away from pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engkzl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you. We cater to the young and young at heart and hope you enjoyed our celebrity vibe on the weekend. Yes, all of our rooms are equipped with kitchens.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Very stylish, very good sized room with balcony and amazing views over the bay. Stunning sunsets behind the Miami skyline.
Staff very attentive and extremely helpful at all times. Couldn't fault them. They all had wonderful cheery temperaments and made us feel very welcome.
Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for one on the bay side with a balcony to watch the amazing sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We're delighted our staff provided memorable service to you and hope you will join us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Angler's Hotel
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing