We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Essex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed overnight at this modern hotel before picking up a cruise from Miami Port. The hotel is very modern with fabulous accommodation and the breakfast was really delicious especially the muffins. I would definately recommend this hotel to others staying in Miami as it is close to port and within easy distance of shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiejacks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you. We're glad you enjoyed our location--and muffins! We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,151
    800
    291
    139
    110
See reviews for
455
1,356
205
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen Denmark
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed here for 6 nights (we = 2 adults and one girl, 11 years old). This was our first time in Miami, and we had worried about not having easy access to the beach AND a beach view. But when we entered our room (a studio with balcony and bay view on the penthouse floor) we totally forgot all our worries. The view over Biscayne Bay to downtown Miami is magnificent! When the sun sets and the lights in the buildings begin to twinkle - outstanding!
The room itself was large and light. We had two double beds - one for our daughter and one for us. After one night we had to admit that even though we are not large people the double bed was too small for two adults to sleep in, so I asked if we could have a roll-away bed, which was no trouble at all. Next time I think we will opt for a room with a king bed, but it was no big problem.
The room also had a small kitchen, a dining table (that we moved to the balcony) and a medium sized bathroom. Lovely malin+goetz bath products.
I will not comment much on the design (there are plenty of accurate descriptions here already), but design is very important to us, and we were not disappointed. I could live without the shower/chandelier, though, but overall I liked it.
We had breakfast included in our rate, which was a buffet with plenty of choices - granola, fruit, freshly baked croissants, bread, cheese, cakes. Not extravagant, but fine and it was lovely to sit outside by the pool in the morning. We did not eat at the restaurant at night, but had a pool lunch a few times, which was fine as well.
Actually, we did not eat out much during our stay here. As other posters have mentioned, the hotel is situated opposite a Whole Foods market, and it was great to be able to pick up some deli foods (salads, freshly made sushi etc) and have dinner on the balcony, enjoying the sunset and warm nights. As far as we could see, a lot of other guests chose this option, too, judging by the amount of guests carrying Whole Foods paper bags.
The pool was lovely - the water was quite warm, but overall it was a great place to relax. I was a bit surprised, though, to see people drinking and smoking IN the pool (yes, flicking the ash off their cigarettes in the water as well!).
The hotel is used for parties - there were two during our stay, which took place in the roof terrace. Both parties ended at 11pm sharp - my congrats to the hotel in making sure that their guests get a good nights sleep, but it was fun to watch people partying and the music was good, too, so the parties did not bother us).
Overall, noise was never a problem for us, the hotel was surprisingly quiet at night.
Staff at breakfast and concierge were wonderful - great service, restaurant recommendations and overall helpful with everything.
One thing that I think the hotel could do better is to offer complimentary wifi. I could not make the pay-per-day wifi work on my iphone, and since I did not really need it I did not ask for help, so I cannot comment on the price. I don't understand why a hotel of this standard does not offer it complimentary. There's a small business center on the first floor which was overly expensive, so the few times I really needed wifi I went over the street to Starbucks.
But apart from that we loved the hotel and especially the location. I must say that if we had not booked a bay view room with balcony I am not sure if we would have loved it this much. We will definitely come back - thanks for making our last leg of our USA holiday truly wonderful!

Room Tip: If you can, you should book a room with balcony and bay view. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Katrine,

Thank you for your recent visit to Mondrian and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and agree that the Bay View Balcony rooms really do add a lot to the stay--amazing views of Biscayne Bay and Downtown Miami with incredible sunsets as well! We are pleased, too, that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating and hope to see you again when you are next in the states.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just arrived back from the Mondrian South Beach on the red eye flight from Miami and it was a wrench to leave! The hotel is located approximately 15 minutes walk from the loud Ocean Drive party crowd so you get the best of both worlds; close proximity to South Beach's hotspots yet a peaceful, true five star hotel experience.

We stayed for seven nights in an exceptional suite that was essentially an upscale one bedroom apartment. Its in-room facilities included a kitchen/living room area with sink, utensils, coffee maker, microwave and chic dining table (ideal for room service breakfasts) plus two televisions, one in the separate bedroom, a toilet/cloakroom plus separate bathroom with deluxe walk-in shower. The decor was fashionable and extremely comfortable. Nice pool area with adjoining bar. Mondrian staff were always helpful, friendly and courteous at all times particularly Rosa on the front desk and the concierge. We were allowed to check out an hour later at 1pm but any later would cost a half-day room rate. Perfect hotel for a romantic treat. Highly recommended.

A few Miami tips for first-timers; there are virtually no shops/facilities on the other side of security at Miami airport. The Cuban restaurant Yuca on Lincoln Road is an absolute must. Magnificent food. Spanish is the main language though most locals are bilingual.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your recent visit and this glowing review. While we are happy you enjoyed our room product and location, we are most delighted you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel was truly excellent. They went out of their way to make you comfortable and take care of your needs. The room was clean, large and very nice. The outside terrace could accommodate four for drinks while watching the sunset.

The pool area was nice and not overcrowded. Umbrellas were readily available.

The hotel staff was friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 14th floor overlooking the pool area and the water. It was large and had a fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Susan, thank you so much for your review and recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed the room and service provided. Come back for more amazing sunset views and cocktails on the balcony!

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Mondrian is beautifully appointed hotel. It was highly recommended to us, happily so as the hotel and it's people are vastly better than as represented on the hotel website.....then again it seems that most people here stay as a result of personal recommendation - it is that kind of cool.

The hotel is grand, as are the case with many in Miami beach. It is a number of blocks (we think six) from the central art deco strip on Ocean/Collins Ave and a cab drive from the strip of top tier hotels stretching between Collin and the beach, so keep this in mind if you want the beach access and cabanas as part of your package.

The room (suites) are huge - notably the hotel is selling hotel rooms as permanent residences. Decoration is high end trend (we will use a lot of their concepts and furnishing ideas for our own renovation). Suites include a fully appointed kitchen with magnificently stocked mini bar and kitchen including kettle (a rarity in US hotels) and a microwave.

The king size beds and pillows are perfect for this fussy sleeper.

The pool, cabanas, bar and cocktails are great with a view of the harbor (afternoon sun only).

Breakfast by the pool is a must (partly to do with the location, but cocktails with great food at 11 was ideal).

It should also be highlighted that the hotel staff were superb which to us was very surprising given our experience with the out of work actors that were too cool to admit that they were at the Mondrian's sister hotel in LA.

The only negative for us (and this is something that cannot be changed) was the location....but that was purely personal and relative to our situation. The hotel is relatively remotely located - it is away from the main strip, which may be perfect for some (and it was for us as we had spent four nights at another hotel in the middle of Ocean Ave art deco district, so had our party fix). This all comes down to personal choice - do you stay at the (1) Delano/Ritz Carlton/National/Perry in the top end hotel stretch on the beach; (2) a top room in the art deco hotels on Ocean Ave; or (3) the Mondrian.....we were happy with a combination of 2 & 3.

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WheresDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Jamie and John,

Thank you for your recent visit and this great review. We think our residential setting here on West Avenue offers a unique experience--enjoy the neighborhood cafes and restaurants, but hop a cab or a DecoBike if you want to check out Ocean Drive. We hope you will join us again when you are next in Miami.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My first impression when I entered the hotel was I'm in a nightclub. The reason for that was because I arrived in the middle of a party pool on Sunday. Gorgeous women on really high heels and some clothing. I was impressed but my wife naturally didn't like it. But after this first day the rest of the week was somewhat calmer and we could enjoy the swimming pool and the incredible sunset. The hotel has a nice modern/trendy design and our room was very spacious. Good food and generally good staff (it took 1h to our luggage be delivered to our room).
The location of the hotel is perfect. Far enough from the crowd but close enough to walk. Also, it's close to the Starbucks and Whole Foods market.
If you want a quite and calm place avoid the weekends. It is not a 'family hotel'. But if you want to party that is the place!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones with the bay view not so close to the pool and the penthouse (because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Binho,

Obrigado!

We are happy you enjoyed your stay here, thanks in part to our location and service. Yes, we have a great party every Sunday by the pool, but as you say a calmer vibe through the week. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great place. Great views. Great service. Simply perfect. It made our stay in Miami Beach the best holidays we ever had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yassi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelanoGuestRelations, Executive Assistant at Mondrian South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you, Yassi. Please come visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,856 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,347 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondrian South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondrian South Beach Hotel

Property: Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Address: 1100 West Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4749
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mondrian South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on newly-fashionable West Avenue, Mondrian is a quiet enclave just minutes from the bustling center of South Beach, offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, Biscayne Bay and downtown Miami. The visionary style of designer Marcel Wanders is apparent from the moment you pull into the porte-cochere: guests walk through a grand entryway appointed with custom-designed furniture, lighting and accent pieces, evoking Wanders' design homage of "Sleeping Beauty's Castle." Upon entering the soaring lobby, the floor-to-ceiling windows offer stunning views of Biscayne Bay. Immediately the eye is drawn to the masterpiece of the room–an iconic, signature "floating staircase." Black and gold patterned furnishings and oversized brass bell shaped lights add a touch of whimsy and welcome guests to sit and socialize or enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mondrian South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondrian South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Mondrian Miami Beach
Mondrian Miami Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing