We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, poor to ok service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, poor to ok service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

First of all, don't let my average rating deter you if you don't care about housekeeping issues, particularly the lack of them. Let me start with the positives. We were in a king suite on the ocean and could not ask for more in terms of view and overall ambiance. The breakfast buffet, for the cost, is excellent and better than you would expect in a hotel.

Ok, now the negatives. My husband and I are very particular about NOT having our towels, sheets, soap, etc. changed every single night. We don't do this at home so there is not sense doing it while we are are on vacation. We did everything as instructed in order to not get our linens, towels changed including putting the privacy notice on the door. When we returned in the evening, on our second night, our room had been completely cleaned with new towels, sheets, etc. We were not happy at all so we went to the front desk to complain. I don't remember who we spoke to initially but when we told him about the situation HE BLAMED US! Both my husband and I are in management and/or sales and we know this is absolutely not the way you treat your customers. Without describing blow by blow, it became a little more complicated from that point on until 2 other managers came out who handled the situation much better that the original desk person with whom we spoke.

If someone offered us a free or reduced stay at Grand Beach, we'd most likely go back. However, should we return to Miami Beach independently, we'd probably look to see if we could find another property. And final advice-don't get the lunch buffet! We were starving and its presentation was so beautiful we thought surely it would be worth the $35 per person. Amazing how deceiving looks can be!

Room Tip: Our room was relatively quiet although it helped to keep the fan on since there were kids in the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixieUte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    1,752
    524
    221
    193
See reviews for
2,088
1,482
90
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Grand Beach for 7 nights and had a wonderful experience.every single staff member we dealt with was courteous, accomodating and friendly. the rooms are as everyone says lovely, clean and spacious. 2 bathrooms and a sitting area is a terrrific bonus in a hotel room! pools are clean, gym is nicely equipped and the beach is outside your door! parking was timely and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4greatkds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSCOW
Level Contributor
266 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We've stayed in this hotel for 10 days in March 2011.
Reception was kind and efficient. We had 2 bedroom suite.
I just would repeat other reviewers - rooms and views are beautiful and stunning.
Modern, white and airy room (even huge) with modern facilities. 2 equal bathrooms.
We found the service of the room excellent.
Breakfast was good, but costy - about $90 for 2 adults and 2 kids. Would like to have better choice of dishes. I can't tell anything about dinning in a hotel - we always drive for dine, but I would agree with reviewers - the restaurant looked not very nice and menu is more fit to the fast food dinning, even good enough.
2 pools at this hotel are definately small compare to the number of guests. We had to pick the time to use it. Also there are not enough chairs near.
Beach is beautiful, but not equipped, not many services. Anyway, I really enjoyed staying at the ocean.
The parking was pretty expensive, but if to take into account the location - it's acceptable.
I'd agree with community about location - it's far from South Beach, Downtown and others but we had a car and drove daily to many places.

Room Tip: Take an ocean view, but the opposite view is also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoscowPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The rooms and views are beautiful. The service was fine. Excellent value for the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWaterBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The beautiful and great room with ocean views and charming decor contrast with the lack of service in general. My son and I were staying for 3 nights.
On the first day, I had to ask for towels because the maid had forgotten to replace ...
On the second day, after the room service, the dirty glasses from the night before still on the table and extra pillows were on the sofa, just as we had left before bedtime...
Finally, the concierge NOT booked the car to take us to the airport at 6:00 in the morning, as I had asked twice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RITAFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We should have known something was up when we arrived. Really nice, white, modern lobby, check in is 4pm -lots of people hanging in the lobby waiting for their room (although they will let you use the pool/beach area if you ask) - they told us we had a choice of either the 17th or 19th floor for a room, but the one on the 17th would be ready in about 30 mins so we took it. About 45 mins later I asked if the room was done, was told no and the woman told me no way on the 17th flooor, it was on the 7th (as if I were crazy). Ok, whatever....told we had an ocean view. The key didn't work when we got to the room, went back to lobby and given another (trust me, this counts). that didn't work either. An employee came with us finally and her master key worked. We were told maintenance would look into it.
The next morning upon returning from breakfast, our key didn't work again. Back to the front desk to be given another key. Nothing... back to lobby. Turns out (after many attempts and the master key not even bringing up a red or green light - no light means big problem) the battery on the door lock was dead - who thought about hotel door locks having batteries) We went to the pool and were told they would get us when we could get back in.
To make a dreadful story short, they were able to enter in the room, change the battery, but in order to reset the lock, they used a 9 year old pocket pc! My husband, who is computer savvy, couldn't believe it. The hotel is 2 years old and the door locks required a 9 year old piece of equipment. Well, yup, they only had 1 and the battery died on the pocket pc.
Cut to the chase, this went on from 10am til about 2pm. No access to room, no way to leave hotel (all money, license, clothes in room!) They told us to get lunch while they worked on it on them.
We kept asking for a manager to talk about how we paid for a room and had no access to it. The line is "we're so busy, we feel terrible, we'll do something but the mgr is overwhelmed". FInally they moved us to a room on the 18th floor because our lock couldn't be fixed - When checking out, we tried to talk to a manager. The front desk person who had helped us the day before once again told us the mgr, and everyone else, feels terrible but she's just too busy to talk to us. "Don't worry, we will compensate you .." The famous, don't worry.
We were not looking to get anything for free. We were not looking to 'make out' on this weekend but we did not have a room for much of Sat. We had plans to go to a wonderful restaurant for lunch, we hired someone to stay with our child while we had a nice weekend away, and we couldn't talk to someone in charge!
THe hotel is pretty, rooms very nice. If you face the ocean, great view, otherwise, buildings or street...but, a hotel is more than the size of a room or a view. THe measure of a hotel is in its totality, how it deals when things happen, and they do. They hid behind this phantom mgr. We just got our bill. They 'comped us for our lunch (that we didn't even want....we were just so bored), and one night parking ($29) although they had told us both nights would be comped (at the least, is what we were told)
We've since called the hotel to talk the the mgr. Yup, each time we're told she's busy!! So, the hotel is pretty, but a stay is more than the outside. A good hotel never lets you know there are problems, they just take care of them. Not this one..It gets an F for service!

Room Tip: get an high floor ocean view..the rooms on the north side face directly to the neighboring high rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was one of the most stunning hotels we have stayed at.Right on the popular strip of Miami Beach, we had a room overlooking the ocean.The rooms are clean,generous in size, have 2 bathrooms, mini bar,seating area,working areas,tv and beautifully decorated.
The facilities are also gorgeous, even the gym has a view.Also, the pool! gorgeous setting.


If you're going on honeymoon to Miami, there is no other place to stay.

Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsFirstClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#34 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Hotel
Address: 4835 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-2751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the style and tranquility of the new Grand Beach Hotel where Luxury and Comfort are within Reach! Discover a true gateway to paradise! A contemporary Miami Beach all-suite hotel on the ocean, the Grand Beach Hotel features luxurious accommodations, breathtaking ocean views, and easy access to world-famous beaches, attractions, restaurants, shopping malls, and nightspots. Book your Miami beachfront hotel reservations online today for our Best Rate Guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing