We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Ranked #55 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I came here with my girlfriends for Memorial Weekend and even though it was madness everywhere the staff at the Riviera always managed to serve us with great attitude. Laura Martinez and Alex the Front desks were very attentive and helped us all the time!!!Great Girls!. The Hotel has a great team in general. The Hotel offers Free Happy Hour, and breakfast and shuttle to the airport totally free, I thought that was pretty cool! Had a great time, I would recommend it to my friends!!!

Room Tip: Choose the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanikua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    590
    276
    122
    157
See reviews for
301
855
183
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlem, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The area around the hotel was under construction when we were there (August 2011) and that was really the only down side. The rooms were just the way they were described, very clean, very comfortable and the bathrooms were a nice size. (Bathrooms are my main focus when choosing a hotel). The little kitchenette had real dishes and housekeeping washed them every day. The hotel staff were also great.

Great location if you want to party and chill in South Beach. It's not right in the thick of things (on Ocean Drive in the single digit streets) but it's close enough for you to get down to the madness with no problem.

Loved it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet so no tips needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night with two other guys. Location is ideal: easy ealk to beach, Lincoln St., etc. hotel even provided free towels and beach chairs.

The hotel itself is quite basic and rooms were small (and the valet parking took a long time), but it was clean and quiet.

Most importantly, when we left something in the room, Laura Martinez was very helpful and ensured the item was mailed to us in Canada. This really showed the dedication to service.

Overall, price and location was great and it was worth it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JeffandJane155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel Staff is Great especially Laura she was very informative on the area and was really great to work with ... Im from Washington DC and would defiantly stay here again... Great Service !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiddz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We decided to stay at Riviera when our connecting flight out of Miami got canceled. We booked it for 3 reasons: great rate, nice pics, and a free shuttle service from the airport. From the moment the shuttle service picked us up, we knew we had made a great decision. Denise, our shuttle driver, was wonderful. She was a joy to talk with during the ride and gave us tips on places we should check out that night (we were on our way back from our honeymoon so we wanted to go somewhere nice). We had a blast meeting her. The hotel itself appears to be in a transitional neighborhood but we felt very safe. The lobby was very trendy which was fun (we don't usually stay at boutique hotels so it was a nice change). Jeanette at the front desk was a huge help and so pleasant. Customer service all around was great here. Our room was absolutely beautiful and spotless and the beds were so cozy. We loved it. Then the continental breakfast - by the pool I might add - was quite extensive and delicious. We were pleasantly surprised. Honestly, the Riviera turned a terribly long day and a canceled flight into an awesome way to end our honeymoon. We definitely recommend this hotel and will be back to celebrate anniversaries in years to come.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickiD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Unlike many reviewers, we found the front-desk staff pleasant and superficially helpful. I would recommend this hotel only because of its location and only if you can get it for a good price. Our room was clean on arrival and stayed that way. It was a bit noisy (we were woken early one morning by a neighbour's 'music'). Housekeeping was of variable quality - we stayed 6 nights and on two of them, the kitchen trash was not removed and the towels were not changed. For us in room 306 (right above reception), "free wireless Internet access", translated to "free of Internet access" for all of the 6 nights we were there. Every day I complained, and every day was told with a very happy smile that their IT people were looking into it. It never got fixed. The only place to reliably use WiFi was by the leaf-filled pool being bitten by mosquitoes. We'd booked and paid ahead but the hotel added 15 dollars a day 'service charge'. When asked what this was for, we were told, it's for hotel services such as the 'complementary' Happy Hour and 'free' breakfast. At check-in, we were not given the choice to opt out of Happy Hour nor the miserable breakfast and thus avoid the 'service charge'..

Room Tip: Rooms directly above reception have great view of the street, which includes a great view of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The positive points first: the "doormen", Eric and Robert, were very friendly and smiling, always trying to do their best to help the patrons. Same comment for the maintenance gentleman whose name is Abel.
Going to the dark side of the thing: in general terms, this property definitely does not comply with the standards one can expect from a "luxury" hotel.
The reception desk is clearly undersized, a kind of window with one person attending to all the customers' needs, check-in, check-out, inquiries, complaints...
The lobby is so tiny that at some times it's hard to walk to the slowest lift I've ever seen. The other option is the stairs which are a bit scary.
The porch is also very small, "decorated" with some worn-out plants and some seating devices which have not been cleaned up for a too long time.
The unlucky patron who drove to the place will not find any possibility to park the car in the area (resident permit only). The only viable solution is the valet parking option which is charged $ 32.00 a day!
The pool area could be pleasant, but I am not sure there is some sun there in the day, since it is surrounded by 4-story buildings, at a very short distance.
The rooms themselves are surprising: very dark walls, ceilings and floors, with a rather poor lighting equipment. I could not even see if the room was clean or not... The kitchenette is OK and well equipped.
The bathroom is rather small and extremely dark also. This darkness must be part of the hotel concept...
The bed was absolutely terrible, many pillows (6) but a very bad quality mattress and lousy sheets.
A word about the acoustic insulation which is unexisting: walls, floors and ceilings let all the noises travel freely between rooms, corredors and stairs.
On the first evening, we discovered that the safe and the flush of one of our two rooms were not working. We asked for maintenance and the things were fixed only the day after. No apologies, no compensation, nothing. Fortunately, we had the smile of the maintenance guy.
That's true the beach is not too far (2 blocks), but the neighborhood is not very welcoming, with desert streets and a construction site just in front of the hotel.
Just a few other points: no restaurant, no room service, no fitness room, and a more than minimalist breakfast served by the pool (from 8am to 10am, strictly!)... And the patrons are summoned by the "waiter" to empty their plates into the garbage bin and bring them back to the counter. When it rains, the breakfast site is transferred to the tiny lobby (no tables, no seats) and becomes more minimalist...
The price we paid was the only thing coming close to a "luxury" place.
We will never get back to Riviera Suites...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Croydon
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#82 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#37 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#14 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
The Confidante
#30 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach

Property: Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Address: 318 20th Street, Corner: 2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish Classic Rooms, Modern Balcony Rooms, as well as One-Bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Miami Beach
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing