We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #38 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

What a cool vibe hotel! I Suggest eating in the restaurant the food is amazing! The front desk staff was helpful throughout my whole stay. I think her name was Diana been a month since we stayed there but she was a sweetheart when we needed help finding some things to do around the beach. The construction was annoying sometimes next door but they cant really control that I would just recommend not getting a room that is on that side of the hotel if you can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e2ekiel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
e2ekiel18 -
Thanks for the posting-
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    903
    286
    106
    70
See reviews for
736
1,113
136
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Surfcomber for business. It was swanky with a great location. The service was outstanding by pretty much everyone at the hotel. Mickey Montella was a fantastic concierge and really made my stay enjoyable. He was very knowledgeable about the area hot spots and went out of his way to accomodate. High recommendations for this stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
JB7894064 -
Thank you for the awesome posting.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This hotel has the best staff and is in the best location. It has a nice pool and lounge area as well as access to the beach right out the back. It is also a very clean hotel. My husband and I went to enjoy a long weekend getaway. Upon pulling up to the property we were greeted and helped with our bags. The service was very nice at front desk and told our bags would be brought to us. The room we had was small but clean. However the noise from next door hotel was loud. I called down to ask about changing rooms and was treated very nice they changed our room and told us to come down for new key card. We passed the bellman (Ghulam) and he took bags back down stairs and to new room for us. This room was same size also very clean. Coffee/tea in the morning was nice and great wine tastings in the evening. It rained almost everyday we were there but made good use of the cabanas outside. They had pool service and she was great taking drink orders in the rain and done so with a smile. We felt bad she was soaked and told her to wait for rain to pass to get our drinks. She said it was no problem and brought us drinks. To me this said a lot that they wanted our stay to be good even if weather was not. By the second day all the rain had made our roof leak... so we called down to desk. They were again very kind and quick to change our room. Once again Ghulam came to move us to different room. He was very nice and helpful as well as making me smile joking that i wanted to see all the rooms and if I would be moving tomorrow too( as i had started in a bad mood moving all our stuff). The entire staff was so nice and friendly even going so far to run out and get me some stain remover and fashion tape (at no charge). Once again they did it with a smile. I was very impressed with everyone always saying HI and how are you today. I feel this is a very caring staff. We would stay again, yes rooms are small and there is construction next door. But we do not stay in room but to sleep and the construction wont be forever. Also these are all older hotels and there may be issues from time to time. But its all in how its handled and too me that says a lot!! A special thanks to Ghulam for all his help!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Sabes74 -
Thank you for the great posting.
Thank you for recognizing Ghulam and the staff.
We will look into the opportunities and remedy.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

They should warn you when you book that there is construction next door. We awoke to the sounds of a jackhammer and metal on metal at 7 am - it was right outside the window, just a few feet from the wall and very loud. I was looking forward to sleeping in a little but that did not happen. Checked out and moved a few blocks down to Lowes to get some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VA_travels60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
VA_travels60893 -
Thank you for the posting; I wish it was a better experience for you.
We are working with our neighbors on the early morning noise.
Thank you for the feedback.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Surfcomber for 3 nights and I can't say enough good things about this great re-done hotel. The location is perfect, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the pool is beautiful (although it was too cold to swim while we were there), the beach is easily accessible, and the rooms are spacious, chic, and comfortable.

My only demerit was that the pool menu is heavily meat-oriented. There's not any options for vegetarians, but they were very accommodating in trying to create a poolside snack that I could eat.

Sign up for the Kimpton Rewards program before you go (it's free): you get free Wifi while at the hotel, and $10 off of the deliciously-stocked minibar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silvertraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
silvertraveler2008-
Thank you so much for the posting.
We look forward to your return.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

WE just returned from a family (2 adults and a 2yr old) vacation of 2 days at the Surfcomber and had a wonderful time despite the rain. The decor is really fun and high style- the lobby is a really great place to hang out, coffee in the am, wine in the pm and womb chairs to sit on, butterflies on the wall, and a fun little fish tank. Diana at the front desk showed us the room which was really good for us just off the lobby, and even gave our 2yr old a backpack with coloring materials and bubbles! It was just opposite the staff lounge so staff should remember to not have conversations in the hall but in their lounge. Nick took the time to tell us the history of the hotel. The room itself was small, the bathroom - incredibly small. Where Kimpton excels is in service, all the staff were great; the bellman told us the least expensive lot, others just had a friendly way and demeanor. We didn't get good enough weather to use the pool. We did use a cabana(and got bitten up by mosquitos) which gave us a place to wait out the rain. A major detraction was the construction going on to the adjacent property- too noisy for me to relax at the pool- we happened to be there on a day of jackhammering. The restaurant Lantao was very accomodating - we don't eat meat and only certain fish and they did prepare for us some very nice food. Wireless free with a Kipmton loyalty acct.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
jeffdiver -
Thank you for the high style contribution.
We will be finishing up our mosaic pucci inspired waterfall today as a cap stone to the design.
I will follow up on the mosquitos and the neighbor’s construction will be completed in May.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The Surfcomber is a excellent hotel on all levels, staff, room, location and amenities. The woman who checked us in asked if we were in town for something special and I told her it was my friend's birthday. When we came back from lunch there was cake and balloons in the room! Also we had brought a bottle of champagne to celebrate and they promptly provided us with champagne glasses. They also have a complimentary wine tasting by the pool in the evening as well as coffee and tea in the morning. Location is walking distance to everything and you have option of hanging by the wonderful pool area or a very short walk to the beach. The decor is very nice and hotel rooms are clean and well kept. Thanks to all the Surfcomber Staff, you are doing a excellent job. We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
dbfsu
Wow, thank you for the perfect posting.
We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#30 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing