We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfcomber Hotel...great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surfcomber Hotel...great location”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a very nice stay for a long weekend as a couple. Hotel is in a perfect location...walking distance to Lincoln Road, Espanola Way,etc. Right off the beach. It is a public beach, though, and I wasn't aware of this before the trip.....but it was not a problem at all. We rented chairs and an umbrella and they gave us chair covers. We just picked up towels from the pool area.

The pool and pool area were very nice and ice water was provided. The staff sometimes had a little bit of trouble keeping clean towels available, and it could be difficult to get a seat at the pool. The wine hour from 5:00 to 6:00 every evening was great!

The hotel was recently renovated and everything was brand new and clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Casey the bartender made some good recommendations about places to eat and visit. Also nice was to have a bike rental place right next door, what a beautiful view along the ocean walkway.

We only had lunch at the hotel restaurant one day...it was okay, not many choices. Just like any other restaurant you go to in South beach it adds 18% gratuity. With so many dining options just a short walk away, don't bother with the Lantao......go to Lincoln Road or Espanola Way or any other place. There is an awesome CVS a block away that is a combination liquor store, Hallmark store, grocery store. We got small items for breakfast since we aren't big breakfast people and the hotel's breakfast was expensive and not very good. I also asked for a Keurig for our room so I didn't have to go down to the lobby every morning for my coffee.

To sum it all up:
Location, location, location! Couldn't beat it!
Great staff
small room, wouldn't recommend for a family...but otherwise great.....didn't spend much time in the room.
great pool area, great beach, absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadv_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
tadv_member -
Thank you for the great posting.
Great tips.
sm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    914
    293
    106
    73
See reviews for
744
1,127
139
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after travelling on the west coast of Florida. Very small frontage on the road, we almost drove past it. Large building site next door which seemed to swamp it. We pulled in to unload the car and check-in, then moved the car to one of the multistorey car parks nearby. We didn't plan on driving for the next few days.

Check in was quick and pleasant. Asked if we wanted a coffee machine in the room - yes please! Room on the 3rd floor overlooking the central courtyard - very small room. Too many cushions and footstools taking up valuable floor space. Pool area was attractive, but did fill up quickly. Ended up on the platform above the pool with the noisy building site just behind me. Staff friendly, did not eat in the hotel. Cocktail makers not great - the worst Cosmo I have ever ordered. Housekeeping did not clean the room till after 4pm most days - very annoying when you have been out all day. Coffee was never refilled for the machine. got fed up ringing roomservice for it! The most annoying thing was the noise from the room next door. We could hear the 'lads' during the day talking and laughing which was fine, but constant noise from 1.30 to 3.30am was out of order. We phoned reception, housekeeping and guest services to no avail - no one picked up the phone during this time. Mentioned it the next morning - apologies - but they could not understand why the phone was not answered!? Location for the beach and Lincoln Road shopping/eating was good, but a long walk down to the News Cafe and Tourist Info centre.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but after the quiet and sophistication of the West Coast, Miami Beach was brash, tacky, noisy, expensive to eat/drink - great people watching, but seems to have gone downhill since our last visit. Party/stag nights will love it - we won't be returning in a hurry!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenweed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
CathyGB -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
We look forward to your return in the distant future.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

One of the most interesting places I have ever stayed at.

The hotel is in a very good condition. Rooms are clean, freshly painted, nicely decorated and have a good size. The location is one of the best in Miami. Direct beach access and only a few blocks away from everything that matters in Miami Beach.

Also the pool area is very nice. We booked a standard room and then got upgraded to a room with a balcony. Sooo nice. View of the beach, pool, ocean. Superb. So far all very good.

Then why only an average rating? Not because of the building site next door. It is still live but there is hardly any noise coming from thr construction.

The reason for the average rating is the efficiency of the staff. They are all very friendly and kind. And they are trying very hard. But it almost feels like the place opened up yesterday and eveybody is still finding his way around.

No matter if it is house keeping (room not cleaned at 1.30pm, called front desk, still nobody there at 2.30pm, went down to front desk sorry for the delay, will send them right now, finally room was cleaned at 3.30pm), most of the waiters in the breakfast restaurant or the pool staff (do you have an outdoor shower? I don't know, I just started here a week ago) they all seem overwhelmed. Maybe it is a lack of training or maybe the managers are just not spending enough time with their people but this place needs to improve it's service efficiency.

Do that and you have one of the nicest, best located hotels on Miami Beach. Hands down.

If i get a change to come back to miami in the near future i will stay here again. And hope to experience the change.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DutchAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
DutchAT -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
I guarantee we exceed your expectations upon your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Surfcomber for a quick long weekend out of the NYC area. It’s in a great location if you want to be within walking distance of just about everything without the crowds and noise of being in the center of the action.

There were definite pros and cons to staying here:

PROS:
1 – Location: It is truly beach front. You don’t have to cross any streets (like down on Ocean Drive). You walk out through the courtyard and pick up your towels at the pool and head straight back to the beach where you can rent chaise lounges and umbrellas if you’d like. There are many people who forego the rentals and lay out on their towels – they get the best seats, right on the water line! HINT: When we stayed, the hotel offered a package that included beach chairs and an umbrella daily. This turned out to be a good deal since the rental came out to be $37/day. If you take this package, remember to check your bill before you leave because they ended up charging us double!
2 – Service: You can tell this is a Kimpton. Everyone was very attentive and made us feel as though we were the only people staying at the hotel. It was great. The concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants and making reservations; the front desk was friendly and responded to our questions/issues quickly.
3 – Pool and Pool Staff: The pool is a good size and it is heated (good for chilly days or nights) and the pool staff (pool butlers) are so great. Every morning they have smiles and get you towels and set you up at the pool. For kids, they have a ton of stuff they can use (swimmies, boogie boards, sand pails/shovels). It wasn’t easy getting a seat at the pool if you didn’t get there before 10 am, but the pool staff always managed to find a place for us.

CONS:
1 – Housekeeping: The Housekeeping area definitely needs to be managed better. We stayed here 4 days and only had our room cleaned 2 of them due to the maid not getting to our room until we had returned from the beach – around 5ish. They also ran out of clean pool towels 2 days during our stay – this affected the BEACH service as well. No covers for our loungers on the beach. They ended up giving us bath towels for the day until the laundry was done around 2pm and then they came around and replaced our chairs with the covers and fresh (warm and soft from the dryer) beach towels.
2 – Restaurant: Their restaurant is called Lantao’s and it is nothing to write home about. I would not eat there or recommend it. Our package came with breakfast for two daily (along with the beach chairs and 2 bottled waters daily). The wait time was ridiculous. There were long waits for both ordering or receiving our food. The people were all extremely friendly, but I could not for the life of me understand what was taking so long when there were plenty of people working compared to the people in the restaurant for breakfast. I understand not everything is visible to the consumer and there may have been more behind the scenes, but it was really crazy. Twice our food arrived cold. Once, my husband received the completely wrong order. In both instances we didn't say anything because we didn't want to wait another 40 minutes to eat. We would not have returned after our first encounter if it hadn't been for the fact that we already paid for breakfast in our package. (Average breakfast for 2 was $75 - omletes, coffee and tea and OJ!)
3 – Hotel Packages: As mentioned earlier, we decided to take advantage of one of their packages. It was a great deal, but had many problems associated with it after the fact: A) Charged us for the beach chairs and umbrellas on top of the package price. B) Breakfast was also charged to our bill on top of our package rate... WE'RE STILL TRYING TO GET THEM REMOVED FROM OUR BILL! C) Water for two each day – We never received the water. We had to call the front desk every single day and wait for the water. Annoying to say the least, because we’re ready to go but then have to wait…
4 – Noise level: Overall, not bad. The hotels near us were extremely loud and I was pleasantly surprised about how well insulated our room was from the outside noise. However, Saturday morning around 7:30am, there were men power washing the courtyard. I have no idea when they could do this so it wouldn’t be an annoyance to guests walking through, but 7:30 seems early when I would assume most guests are visiting for a weekend.

SUMMARY - Great location; however, needs work on their restaurant and if you don’t mind watching your bill and have patience, go with a package to get the biggest bang for your buck!

Room Tip: Inside courtyard to limit outside noise from nearby hotels and construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisheyesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
IrisheyesNJ -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
It is great to hear about the pro's... the service, the pool deck experience; these areas are paramount in creating memorable vacations.
Thank you also for mentioning the opportunities as well... these areas are disappointing; yet we are committed to developing a seamless guest experience. We will be utilizing your stay to improve our services.
We look forward to your next arrival.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Surfcomber Hotel was not a hotel we had ever even heard of or planned on staying at, but because we wanted to head down to SoBe for the week, and my husbands idea of staying at another, larger, hotel kind of "fell through," I went on Hotwire, the day before our departure, entered my criteria, and ended up with the Surfcomber.

After reading the reviews, I was hopeful we were going to have a "great vacation!" And, we really did!

We arrived, in a large SUV, to a much smaller hotel than we expected, and that caused a problem as the driveway was blocked with work trucks that were full of grass and sand. We were a little hesitant, but they made room for us to get us checked in. Brian...what a super nice guy (Bellman). Michie, very plesant at the front desk! Both were extremly helpful upon arrival and made the first impression of the hotel a very positive one.

Once we were checked in, we made it down to the pool and looked at the BEAUTIFUL grounds. (We loved the cows!!!) And, we discovered that the trucks with the grass and sand were there for the "backyard"...the hotel management was having it all pulled up and re-done because of the last two fun weekends destroying the lawn. By the time we left, it was complete and looked great.

Sonjia was our "pool girl" most of the week and we LOVED her...always smiling and she pretty much knew what we wanted without asking the last few days we were there. She is a doll! :) The poolside food and drinks are very good and fair in price compared to what is around the area. Made it very easy to just stay and lounge. Water is always available and so are towels and chairs or places to sit. (All poolside staff was very helpful and nice.)

Because the hotel is older, the rooms are small. So, we packed 5 of us in to a "2 double beds room" and brought our own blow up mattress. About 225 sq ft. It worked out as long as we kept everything put away, and we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room anyway. We were street side, and they are doing construction on the building next door, AND we were right next to an elevator...heard VERY LITTLE with regard to noise. The have done a great job with sound proofing....that I found to be amazing. Water was ALWAYS hot for showers! Comfy beds and pillows.

We pretty much did our own housekeeping. Too much stuff to have them go in and out. So the staff was great about swapping out towels, taking our garbage, offering new toiletries, etc...It was perfect for us.

Coffee and tea in the morning down in the chic lobby area. Poolside wine from 5-6. Concierge was always helpful...Lobby was clean and very comfortable. Fitness room was very small, but has free weights and a couple cardio machines. We chose to walk or run on the boardwalk anyway..who wants to be inside!?!? Hotel management was always around looking at the property, picking things up, just helping out where it was needed and checking on guests. This seems like a great company to work for...wonder if they are hiring!?! ;-)

We had a wonderful stay and I would recommend the Surfcomber to anyone. My bet is, they remember us when we go back! It's just that kind of hotel. Very nice.

Room Tip: Elevators can be slow, but it's only three levels, so we would take the stairs. If that bothers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fauner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Fauner1 -
Wow, great posting.
We will surely remember you and we are always hiring when it comes to hiring great people.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel is in a great location, close to many of the attractions in South Beach and a wide choice of restaurants and shops. The staff is friendly and helpful and the complimentary wine hour is a nice touch. Unfortunately, the hotel seems to be short staffed in housekeeping. Our rooms were often not cleaned until 5pm or later, we had to ask for wash clothes almost every day, and some of the public bathrooms were often missing toilet paper - This was a little disappointing in a 4 star hotel.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and had a relaxing and fun time. The onsite restaurant is excellent, good food at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction happening on properties around the hotel, so you should request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Joan L -
Thank you for the posting and your feedback.
We are making a few operational adjustments.
The goal is to provide a relaxing and fun experience; we are so happy we hit the mark there.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The rooms were not worth the price...sure it is a Kimpton, just a small handful of staff have the great Kimpton personality, other than that you have the typical Miami people attitude which is non customer service oriented and makes you feel like you are inconveniencing them. Was with a friend the first room was two beds and so cramped there was no room for your luggage. We asked for a suite but had to wait, It was much larger and requested a nice plush roll out. They have an afternoon happy hour of sangria and wine which is a nice touch before leaving for dinner. The concierge suggested nice places to eat and made reservations for us. The location is right on, you can walk to everything.

Room Tip: Free coffee & tea in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
shlvallejo-
Thank you so much for posting your experience with us.
Thank you for all the positive comments.
We certainly will be coordinating a concerted effort to improve reception desk.
We look forward to your return
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Property: Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing