We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #45 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Room: comfortable and new. Staff: very friendly. Location: Excelent (near Lincoln Road and most of the best restaurants of the region). One of the best options in SoBe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

priellen
Wow, thank you for the amazing posting.
We truly appreciate the praise.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,644 - 2,650 of 3,529 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is very well located. Right on the beach and just a couple of blocks from "the action". The staff is very friendly and informative. Food? Very good. They have complimentary wine hour every day (extremeley appreciated). BUT, rooms are tiny! Ridiculously tiny. And they have an extremeley expensive fee for parking lot. So beware if you have a car. Overall 9. If rooms were a bit bigger, this place would be amazing.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Luisitorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Luisitorey
Thank you for the great posting.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Right from the beginning everything about the surfcomber was awesome. Frontdesk was awesome. They recognized that we were celebrating our anniversary and sent us a bottle of champagne. The breakfast crew at LANTAO was also very nice. Breakfast was just perfect. The pool servers were soooo helpful and took care of us all day long (Lea, Ryan,Jonathan, bryan) thank you for making our vacation amazing :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geniefogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

geniefogg
Your welcome & happy belated anniversary wishes.
Come back next year, let’s do it again.
thx
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel, rooms with spectacular view and good pool as well.

Tons of things to do right in the heart of SOBE !

that is a perfect choice

Room Tip: rooms with a view for the pool especially if you re there for WMC also condos are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielarouskova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

danielarouskova
Thank you for the great posting.
We look forward to your return next WMC.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a review from a Travel professional and an avid traveler.....

I carefully selected this hotel to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and it exceeded my expectations.

Pre- arrival: I contacted the hotel about recommendations for a photographer and florist. Tiffany Morris was excellent is recommending two great professionals to me especially Leo the photographer!

Location: The hotel is on the beautiful Collins Avenue, the commercial high street of Miami. Loads of shops, restaurants, hotels, tattoo parlous etc are located here. Perfect locations for tourists

Our Stay: Right from the minute we stepping into the hotel, we were met and served by a group of excellent professionals. We arrived on Easter Sunday , the hotel was fully booked and we had to wait for some time to get our room but we were not in any way dissapointed.We were upgraded to an ocean view room with a veranda. Clean, tastefully furnished with all the required amenities at our disposal including an iron and ironing board (my most important requirement for an hotel room).
We were served with a plate of strawberries dipped in chocolate and champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you for that Araldo. S

Great Food: I strongly recommend the hotel food. The first day we arrived we went across the street to have brunch and we didn't really enjoy it. from the moment we tasted the hotel food we were stuck. Breakfast was simple but delicious. The fresh orange juice and pastries is not to be missed. You might also like to try the beer battered fish, spicy prawns with crispy kale for lunch or dinner. Yummy!

Great beach: The hotel has a direct access to the beach . very clean. We only used the beach for part of our anniversary photographic session. The hotel also has a beautiful swimming pool

Warm and Friendly Staff: The staff here have a heart of Gold and do genuinely love to serve their guests. Karen,Winnie and the rest of the guys were great

Shopping: If you wish to go to the mall, i'll strongly recommend Aventura Mall. It is newer, easier and cheaper to access than Dolphin mall. We took a taxi for $110 (round trip) to Dolphin mall. Aventura mall cost us a bus fare of $8. The bus stop is right next to the hotel (the concierge will be happy to give you further directions)

Overall , we were very happy with our stay at the Surf Comber and strongly recommend it to other discerning travelers

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Omoti
Thank you for the great posting.
We truly appreciate the recommendation & we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

From the time you walk in to the time you leave it's an amazing place and the staff is one of the best and friendliest people , prompt service,excellent location, Hotel very clean.I would stay here every time I'm in Miami and always refer friends and family to The Surfcomber. Great Job Staff

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edonhoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Edonhoti -
Wow, awesome posting thank you.
Thank you for the recommendation and the nice comments regarding the employees.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Recently stayed for 1 night while at a convention in SoBe. The hotel was conveniently located near the convention center and on the beach.

The hotel itself is a renovated art deco place in Sobe. The renovation by kimptom is quite modern. The rooms themselves were quite small with tiny bathrooms and the vast majority dont face the ocean (this the fault of the original build obviously and not the renovation).

The pool and courtyard were very green and relaxing and the location was superb. The reason for 4 stars is that the service, while good, was not quite at the par of a higher level place (not so helpful with dinner reservations, didnt help everyone with bags, etc). Overall, this is a solid, clean, modern choice with a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

JAG458
Thank you for the posting.
We are making a big push over the new few weeks to develop our service standards to the 5 star level consistently.
Thx again for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,696 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,564 reviews
SLS South Beach
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,683 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,017 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $343 - $922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing