We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to usual Kimpton standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Ranked #44 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Surfcomber last week (April 2012). There is no shortage of hotels along South Miami Beach, but we booked at the Surfcomber because we are loyal Kimpton customers. We knew going in that Kimpton only recently acquired this hotel, and it was obvious during our stay that the facility isn't up to the standards a Kimpton customer might expect. The room we stayed in was clean but very small. The hallway off the room was so dark that we had trouble figuring out which way our key card was positioned while trying to open our door. The music playing in the lobby was so irritating that we could barely stand to stay down there to drink our (weak) coffee in the morning. On the other hand, the staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful; we had fun swimming in the ocean. The pool is big enough to swim laps. I think Kimpton could improve the hotel in a flash by installing more lighting in the hallways, serving higher quality coffee and wine, and changing the tunes in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

susanm3320 -
Thank you so much for your posting.
We apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your visit with us.
We have a commitment to excellence and will take a whole hearted effort to develop our product to exceed Kimpton standards.
Thx for mentioning the friendly employees.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,605 - 2,611 of 3,487 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

So stayed a couple of days here for a Girls' Weekend. As ususal will give the information that will be helpful in your decision to book.
Check -In - It was a easy process; however early check in will more than likely not be available. We checked in at 11am and the room was not ready until 3pm. This was not a problem as we took time to explore the hotel and beach.
Hotel Itself - it is beautiful and has a Art Deco vibe. The pool is clean, plenty of towels and beach is within a few steps of the hotel. It is more than likely standard that on the beach the umbrellas and chairs are expensive to rent. Although if you are a Kimpton member (free) you do get a discount. The drink are more expensive you purchase from the outdoor bar. Purchase from the poolside waitress.
Rooms - Nice rooms very spacious which is a surprise for Miami. However, the bathrooms are very small and the tubs does have rust stains, but it was clean.
It rained while we were and the hotel was great they offered complimentary umbrellas. Also, the hotel staff was great. They went above and beyond to make sure all of our needs were met. Brent was great with suggestions as were the other bell hops and staff. I would suggest the hotel and would stay again. Great location. The construction was not loud. The only way we knew they were building is we saw it.

Room Tip: Hotel is 3 floors and I would suggest the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravlingTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

TravlingTS -
Thank you for posting your experience with us.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The staff is very helpful and serviceminded. Although the weather is bad (raining and stormy), the staff keep up a good mood. We are staying here, at the moment, and we are shure this will be a very nice stay!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank NicOnsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

NicOnsala-
Thank you for the comments and the great posting.
If there is anything we are able to do to make your stay more comfortable; please do not hesitate to ask.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

this is a great hotel for couples,families or groups! staff are very friendly and helpful without being over the top. the pool area is great with lots of towels,loungers,umbrellas,food and drink service and complimentery sunscreen and ice water,the pool staff go above and beyond to make you comfortable! the hotel is very accessible to the beach,shops on lincoln rd and restaurants on ocean drive
the hotel offers complimentery tea/coffee in the lobby every morning and a complimentery wine hour by the pool at 5pm every day!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

slmc1 -
Wow, thank you for the excellent posting.
Thank you for mentioning your great experience, we look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I brought my work team to South Beach and we stayed at the Surfcomber. The rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. The staff was well trained and very accomodating. The location was perfect; on the beach, away from the crowds, but convenient to almost everything. We had a great experience and recommend this to others!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Scott M-
Thank you for the great posting.
Thank you also for the recommendation.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband and I just returned after spending 5 days at the Surfcomber. We got a great deal on Jetsetter so we thought we'd give it a try.
When we arrived, Winnie and Michie were super helpful in checking us in. There was a slight issue with our reservation (this was Jetsetter's fault, not the hotel's), but they took care of it right away. We went up to our room and came right back down for the complimentary happy hour and some great live music. It was nice to chat with other guests, because I feel like at most hotels you don't ever interact with anyone.
As for our room (343) it was the perfect size for us and facing the pool/beach. There was some noise from the construction next door but it did not disturb our sleep one bit. My only suggestion would be to change the bathroom door to a folding or accordion type door because the full-size door made it hard to maneuver to close it while in the bathroom.
The location is amazing; both for going out and for the beach. Just steps from Lincoln Rd, Ocean Drive and all the shopping and restaurants that go along with that.
The pool in our opinion was incredible (and SUPER clean) and we were blown away by the service. Our first night there we decided to take a midnight dip (the pool is kept blissfully warm) and when we got out we saw that the staff had laid out towels and bathrobes for us. How nice! During the day the pool service was friendly and incredibly efficient. The extras like ice water with sliced fresh fruit and bottles of sunscreen was really appreciated.
We never ate at the restaurant so I can't speak to that, but the coffee and tea every morning were great quality, as were the sustainable wine choices for happy hour, so I assume that extends to the food as well.
Overall it was a great experience and we will most certainly be going back. We're already considering changing a hotel reservation we already have to a Kimpton hotel for our next trip to DC.
PS- Make sure you sign up for the Kimpton guest program. WiFi is free if you do and it works great--we even got service at the beach!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

erin k-
Wow, thank you for the great posting.
We are so happy you enjoyed the property amenities and the guest interaction.
We believe in creating fun experiences for our guests.
See you again soon.
sm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Room: comfortable and new. Staff: very friendly. Location: Excelent (near Lincoln Road and most of the best restaurants of the region). One of the best options in SoBe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smckeen, General Manager at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

priellen
Wow, thank you for the amazing posting.
We truly appreciate the praise.
We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards,
Sean McKeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,193 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,946 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel

Address: 1717 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006 (Formerly Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $289 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no need to daydream. Your stay at the beachfront Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel in Miami Beach places you in the core of South Beach life. Ocean views, sparkling pool, and swaying palm trees. Direct beach access and easy, warm hospitality. Kimpton Surfcomber Miami, South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel puts the best of Miami at your doorstep while taking you a world away from all your worries. Play hard, sleep well and indulge in luxury services and amenities at our boutique South Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Beach Doubletree
Doubletree Surfcomber
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing