We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service, just terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #50 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Staff did not know what they were doing, and the pool was under construction. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
There are newer reviews for Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Jan 2012. Great location on Collins Ave between 9 and 10.

The hotel is in the process of being refurbished floor by floor. The hotel's own website refers to "mild restoration work", however, from what we saw of the work currently ongoing on the 2nd floor it involved taking up the floor, refitting the bathrooms, replacing furniture (inc. beds), rehanging doors, painting walls. Short of structural work (i.e. removing or building walls) I'm not sure how much more major the work could be. I had enquired in advance as to the working hours of the restoration team. I was advised by email that the team worked 9am-5pm Mon-Fri (and therefore would not particularly impact a Fri/Sat night stay). However, in reality it transpired that the team worked until about 6.30pm and through the weekend. In fairness, the work did not really affect us as we were out and about during the day. It was unfortunate and disappointing that the pool area (one of the reasons for choosing this hotel) was closed. Reception told us that the work was scheduled to finish at the end of Feb. We were showed a completed room (the one we stayed in was not fully finished) and I must say that it looked very smart.

The hotel levies a mandatory 'resort fee' of USD 10 per room per night. Whilst one doesn't get a choice, it is worth paying as it includes continental breakfast, 15% off at Grillfish (fantastic fish and seafood!), pool towels, beach access and USD 5 towards a tab in the on-site bar (i.e. it's pretty straightforward to effectively get your money back). The hotel provides free wifi throughout. Reception offered a number of tours (Miami City Tour, Everglades, Seaquarium etc). The tours represent value (as you'd spend a fair chunk more on taxis and admission than the cost of the tour ticket). However, be sure to shop around as there are a number of tour companies and different agents/hotels sell the exact same tours at different prices). Some of the hotels/agents can also source tickets to basketball and other sports matches.

Aside from the ongoing work and lack of pool access, the main negative point was the level of noise. Not at all surprising, but South Beach is a busy and noisy place on Fri and Sat nights well into the small hours. The sound dampening afforded by the walls/windows was too iimited to allow for a restful night (despite being on the third floor).

If you're looking for a well located Art Deco hotel with contemporary rooms and you're a very heavy sleeper/not concerned by broken sleep then this is probably the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bearded_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The location of the hotel is very convenient, close to everywhere. The rooms are clean and the service is good. The pool is small but you do not prefer pools to sea in Miami.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I enjoy staying at the quaint art deco hotels in Miami....and I UNDERSTAND that most are not fully renovated so the windows will leak air and NOISE. If you cannot tolerate this type of "roughing it," book the $400 places or Eden Roc!

BUT, that said, some hotels are better than others here. I have stayed at the Blue twice. Once, I had a majoy road side, second floor...it was awful. Boom boom book ALL NIGHT LONG. (I think bars close at like 430 am...so MIND THAT in booking). Breakfast was ok.

Second time, room was quieter...off a side. It was clean, but not luxurious. Beds were comfortable. No bugs. Bar - good.

Location is great...with a parking deck not too far away. I would consider the Blue again...but I am still shopping for that hidden Sobe gem. Or, winning the lottery! Relax.....your in South Beach, Mon!

Room Tip: OFF of the main road....you may be in a smaller building along a courtyard.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellaMiyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Maybe we got unlucky. It was a decent hotel until the weather got cold and we noticed that the heating didn't work in the room. They sent a technician who supposedly fixed it and said that it works now we just have to wait for the room to get warm. But it never did. Same thing happened with the second and the third technicians. The offered another room to us but when we checked we saw that the heating wasn't working in that room either. The temperature was 66 in both rooms. Not unbearably cold, just uncomfortable. Heat was working in the lobby and bar area though.
Then we didn't have water. They fixed it in a few hours.
We left a day early since we didn't want to be uncomfortable in a cold room. We were not able to get a refund but they waived the parking fee.
They were doing construction work on the floor, so stairs were closed. We took the elevator but the elevator is very slow and difficult to operate, with double doors.
We were given coupons for the bar, but the bar didn't have what we wanted (espresso or bottled water), so we didn't use the coupons.
Breakfast was okay, though coffee was really bad.
Maybe we got unlucky but this was our experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDRaigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The rooms are small and spartan. Absolutely no counter space in the bathroom, our window was broken so the room was covered with gnats. Doing construction on this property, which they do not inform you about-we were awoken at 6:00 am during our vacation. Since it was their property, they should have coordinated noisy work to be done at more reasonable hours. There was a line to complain at the front desk, so by our turn, there were no more rooms to switch to. Overpriced-would get more ammenities at a Motel 6. At least the internet worked well.

Room Tip: Request a room in the remodeled portion.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for 5 nights during Art Basel. We had requested a "quiet room". The first night was hell - they were doing renovation directly overhead. We complained the next day to management - our room was changed to a quiet location and we received a complete refund for the night plus were not charged the daily $10 fee for our entire stay. The carpet in both rooms was somewhat threadbare and needs replacing , however I must stress that the rooms were immaculately clean. This is not a "hip" hotel, but it is well located and the staff could not have been nicer. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Dream South Beach
#48 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,308 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#26 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,761 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#93 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 944 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $181 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection is ideally located on Collins Avenue, combining two historic Miami Beach hotels via an arched breezeway. Unwind in the relaxation pool at this Florida beauty or on the sky-lit patio with breathtaking views of South Beach. Enjoy our fresh take on modern American fare and crafted cocktails at FIX restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Miami Beach
Hotel Blue Moon
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing