We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Ocean Reef Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Suites
Ranked #122 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Great Location if you spend only 3 days in south beach. The service is great. But this is a small Hotel and dont expect the room looking like the website. I was a bit suprise. We had a great time, The front desk staff are very customer services oriented.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaetanV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Hi! We are soon updating the photos on our website because, during January, we have changed the carpets in most of our rooms, along with other smaller improvements. Thanks for writing a review. Please, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed over the new year period for 5 nights starting from 29th December. The room was very big and spacious. It was more like an apartment than a hotel. It had a gas cooker, microwave, fridge, dining table as well as 2 closets. The room was clean and the service from the staff was excellent (Tamara in particular). Location was also good - only a 1 minute walk to the beach. It was also convenient for 3 people staying as it had a double bed and a large sofa bed. The area is really bad for parking and most places had it priced at $20 a day and $40 for overnight parking, or $20 each time you go in/out. The hotel offered a valet parking service for $20 a day and we could park and take the car as many times as we wanted, although the person taking the car took 10-20mins to arrive so we had to phone in advance.

Now onto the negatives... Firstly the price was very high but maybe that was expected over new years (over £200 per night) and it was similar or more everywhere else. The parking was very good and convenient but on one of the nights it took over an hour for us to get the car (maybe not the hotels fault as it looked like an independent company that was responsible).
The windows of the rooms were slightly old and could do with replacing and one of the handles fell off so we couldn't close the window. The cover of the AC machine fell off to reveal a large amount of dust which wasn't very pleasant. The closets only had 2 hangers between them, which defeated the object of having hanging rails. The bed was comfortable but as it was wooden and quite large - we knocked our knees and shins on the frame a few times which was quite painful! Finally, there was no elevator so we had to carry our suitcases up a small number of stairs which may have been problematic for older guests. We didn't have any problems with the reported noise - maybe because we were fast asleep on most mornings. The shower and toilet was clean but a bit outdated and small.

The cafe adjoining the hotel had a very nice breakfast and the staff were very polite. Overall, I would probably stay again as the location, room size and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ismail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you for writting and honest, detailed review. New Year's eve is one of our most demanded nights, thus the high price. However, most other times we are pretty affordable. Plus, when you come back to visit, you will enjoy a special discount for having stayed here previously. Please keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Good room, no elevator (only stairs). Very good location, but didn't like the valet parking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafetin_BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank you for writing a review. We understand having a car in Miami Beach can be a little stressing when it comes to parking. The valet company is just one of the 4 alternatives for parking we have in South Beach (others being, street parking, public garage, and private parking) Unfortunately, we can only be the mediators between the different parking services and our guests, but we surely try to inform them about the options available, so they can chose the one that better fits their needs. Warmest regards and thanks again for commenting on your experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my family in the period from 26 / 12 / 2011 to 30/12/2011 and it was all really good!
The receptionist Jenny and Vadira assistance was excellent!
The room is spacious with good kitchen structure. The location is perfect! It has a parking lot right around the corner and we could enter and exit the car during the day without paying extra. Although the room was facing the Collins Ave, the noise did not bothered me. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Thank you! We hope to see you again sometime this year. Happy 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I sincerely hate to give the following review because some members of the staff here were incredibly kind and accommodating (Tamara especially). I also know they really wanted us to be happy. Unfortunately, such kindness wasn't consistent throughout the staff, and one front desk staff member especially couldn't even be bothered to look up to respond to our greetings as we passed the front desk over Christmas weekend (we checked in on Christmas Eve). Not a big deal, if not for their reputation for friendly service. In addition, we had read the reviews about the infamous garbage truck, and per Ocean Reef's suggestions in their TripAdvisor responses, we specifically requested a quiet room to mitigate this problem. In response, we were given room 221. This room, it turned out, sits directly above the alley with the dumpsters that the garbage truck empties every morning. The alley behind our room also had multiple trucks making early morning deliveries, plus the occasional loud drunks shouting at each other or going through the dumpsters to collect cans. In short, despite our request, the gentleman appears to have provided us with the room with the best access to the noise that many have complained about. Unfortunately, the activity in the alley is the tip of the iceberg. Both air conditioner units in the room were so loud that they woke us up repeatedly throughout the night. Save a couple of sock drawers, the room and closets had no drawers or shelves for taking clothes out of suit cases (It did have two closets, only one of which had a hanging rod). The safe didn't work. The toilet flushed water onto the floor (and my shorts). The shower head was clogged, dysfunctional, and couldn't be adjusted. While taking a shower, the the water consistently fluctuated between extremely hot to extremely cold. The shower curtain rod and the shower curtain rings were old and rusty and the curtain itself was old, ugly, and dirty. The thin, single pain windows appear not to have been replaced for decades (hence no noise protection and the constant running of the dysfunctional air conditioning units). The overhead bedroom light and ceiling fan would not come on for us. Adding injury to insult, I knocked my head on the poorly placed shelf located inches above the sink when shaving. This room was billed as a suite, but despite the additional square footage, the only additional amenity was a couch (which we had to use as a shelf for our clothes). No side table, no coffee table, no additional chair, no additional television, and the only separation between the couch and the bed was a floor-to-ceiling panel about four feet wide...no wall. Again, depending on the staff member, the friendliness of the staff fluctuated greatly. (Yes, we could have requested a different room, but we already requested a quiet room, and this is what they gave us. In addition, it's inconvenient to repack and haul 100+ pounds of luggage from one room to another.) Sorry Ocean Reef. For some reason, we appear to be the exception, and I'm sure you'll continue to do fine, despite our bad experience.

Room Tip: I don't know what to say here. We took Ocean Reef's suggestion to ask for a quiet room, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjo30080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest. I don’t know how to begin to tell you how sorry we feel about your experience at our hotel. We assume the responsibility, because we knew that you had requested a quiet room and failed to deliver it. We are aware that some of our rooms receive more noise due to them being closer to the back alley, and we do our best not to assign such rooms to guests who specifically request for quiet rooms. We made a mistake with you and we apologize. We also know that you stayed with us earlier in December (you had a quiet room then) and chose us for your second visit, which shows a great deal of trust on your part towards our hotel. We certainly wish you had, in the name of that trust, approached us with your concerns while staying here the second time. We would have addressed them right away! In times when we are used to receiving many positive comments from our guests, feedback like yours reminds us that efficiency and success are not sustained only with good intentions. To be able to keep our good and hard earned reputation, constant revisions and self-evaluation must be done. Please, know that the management of the hotel is not taking this situation lightly. If there’s anything we can do to restore your faith in us, beyond addressing the issues you mentioned, we are open to talk about it. We hope you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Walked in here after a stressful drive in the rain from the west coast - Ocean Boulevard was closed due to a marathon & traffic was chaotic. We had a shortlist of hotels to try but this was the only one we could park anywhere near. Delightful receptionist showed us a huge room with large lounge & dining area. It was available immediately so we took it. The stained carpet was off-putting but everything else turned out great. Room was quiet & we both slept like logs. Bathroom was pretty dated but was ok for one night. We proabably would stay here again as the comfort factor, location & price were good. Just a shame about the carpet!

We used the parking lot across the road - what a load of con artists! We left the car but then noticed it was gone a couple of hours later. They said they had moved it to another secure area but at no point had this been explained when we left the car. We wanted to know where it was but they were evasive. Eventually, they said they'd return it to the lot & they did. We asked about liability & they said they were insured to drive it (it was a rental car) but when we looked carefully at the small print on the ticket it stated that they accepted no liability for damage! When we picked it up the next day, it was obvious from the position of the seats that someone had been sleeping in it! Not a great car parking experience but then there is little other option.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room to avoid being disturbed by early morning garbage collection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We listen to every single comment, and try our best to improve. I am happy to tell you that we have performed a deep cleaning on the carpets that had some mild stains (which now look brand new) and, after the holidays, we are replacing the rest of the carpets with new ones. We invite you to visit us again and see it for yourself. Once again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and want to wish you a wonderful 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Room was big as it was for 4 people,confortable,with a kitchen!table and 2 closets.the bathroom wasn`t as big. It`s next to ocean drive and near the main road in order to get buses everywhere. The price`s convenient if you really are 4 people. Didn`t use the spa because it wasn`t included.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for your review! We wish you a wonderful 2012 and hope you stop by again to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#95 of 212 in Miami Beach
814 reviews
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#139 of 212 in Miami Beach
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Collins Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
985 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
163 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#113 of 212 in Miami Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Suites

Address: 1130 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $176 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Reef Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Suites Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing